Antiquity

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (27 Total)

5
13
7
2
0

by paka

Rating pending as my citizen decided to die prematurely. (Mis-calculated fast growing famine). Not really keen about trying it again.

2/25/2020

It's good--really, really good--but not always good enough to justify the time or fiddliness involved. It's got some stiff competition from tighter, leaner games, and given that it requires the right mindset. Of the death-spiral euros, though, it's clearly one of the best. [EDIT] Having replaced the pollution counters with discs and the inns with wooden houses, the ease of use of this game really improves. I've come to really appreciate how beautiful the game is, as well. If brisk play can reliably clock in at 2 hours or less, I think I may have to up my rating.

1/26/2020

It's fiddlier, more frustrating, and less interactive than their other games. It's a great game, but I just don't feel like you get enough reward for the chore of playing it.

12/20/2019

In close race with Agricola for favorite game. This one seems more complex, but is just as intuitive and easy. Lots of bits, which I like - too bad they aren't wooden.

12/20/2019

I would totally play this again. It could be rated higher, but the fiddlyness actually gets to me a bit.

12/11/2019

I am not very good at Antiquity. I have horribly lost every game I have played, often getting buried in both graves and pollution. I enjoy coming to this game to explore the choices I have in building order and map exploration. Like the rest of Splotter's major releases this game offers a ton of player agency and, if you can look ahead far enough, a way to see how your actions will ripple outwards. The gimmick here is figuring out how to survive while making life hard for your opponents. It's a really clever system that feels a bit less elegant than some of Splotter's other releases, but is a wonderful puzzle to delve into all the same.

3/1/2019

2-4, 120-180m

1/25/2019

There is a lot good , but even more bad about Antiquity. It's easy to appreciate some of the groundbreaking ideas here around worker placement/hidden simultaneous action selection The jigsaw puzzle aspect of city building is ingenious, and the game system is sheer brutality. Makes Agricola look like it was designed by Walt Disney. The gameplay is intriguing, but starts to lose its shine very quickly. First, the multiple win conditions are a wonderful idea in concept, but it's pretty clear that some of the conditions are just better than others. Some of the buildings just never get built... which is a shame. But the real detrimental aspect of this game is the UX which is among the worst of any game I've ever played, ever, ever, ever. It is, by a wide margin, the most physically fiddly game I've ever played. There are so many teeny-tiny chits, it's impossible to maneuver anything without the board without tweezers, something I usually associate with grizzled grognards huddled over their copies of ASL or PoG. Nothing has screamed "this really should be a computer game, not a board game" more than this. Finally, Antiquity is a nightmare of graphic design. Just terrible, The ink and fish resources are impossible to distinguish at a glance, pearls look like olives, olives look like... what the hell do they look like? The wine barrel look neither like wine nor a barrel, and on and on. Maybe this looked fine in the graphic design program used to lay it out, but given the chits are about the size of a pinky fingernail, it's an unforgivable graphic design sin to have it this unmanageable. The colors are muted and ugly, and sure I guess it's a thematic palette for the gloom and doom that the game offers, but the game needs to be played to be played, you dig? It's puzzling that this is considered one of Splotter's better games considering how much of a physical and visual chore it is to play this game.

1/23/2019

A definite competitor in the Civilization category, with punishing mechanics, complex paths, and a variety of victory conditions: population, territorial, technological, and economic. Will it become a favorite?

1/22/2019