Keyflower

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (79 Total)

6
47
19
4
2

Keyflower is a tile laying, logistics, resource conversion, partial information, bidding game. Although each of those features is very simplified, the combination makes for a fairly complex game that favors long-term planning. The game has a few too many mechanics for my taste and your whole plan can go to waste if you build your strategy around scoring tiles that do not show up or don't manage to win during the bidding phase. Sure that may be considered as poor play, but sometimes it just looks like a player got lucky and managed to grab a tile that gave them a bunch of very cheap points. As happens with many multiplayer games, not all players are willing to sacrifice their position in order to prevent somebody else from getting something very cheap. I really want to like the game. But I rather play many other games.

10/25/2019

One of the best multiplayer game which everyone engage, very pleasant first play

10/18/2019

by hana

Not good for two players. Rather play with other games.

10/17/2019

One of my favorite games to get to the table. Works well at three or at six and in-between. Two was still good, but not as much tension.

6/26/2019

Really interesting Euro that suffers a bit from an early snowball effect. Your strategy has to constantly adapt based on what tiles get pulled out. Unfortunately, this also causes some luck to be a factor in the game. Unsure how I feel about this staying in my collection.

6/15/2019

Wow. What a blend of great game mechanics! Art is a little bland. Rating might change with more plays.

5/14/2019

Watched a review on this and it has sparked my interest in the game. 3.3.2014 Have played the base game a few times now and really enjoy this game. If interactive euro games are your thing, I would highly recommend that you try this out. Bought the expansion. After playing double digit games of this, this remains a top tier game for me. Absolutely fantastic game, still you need to pick and choose your expansions.

4/12/2019

VENDU $45

3/19/2019

Have both expansions, along with a few promo tiles.

3/11/2019

I think that it is just too heavy for me. When I tried it, there were too many possible places to set my meaples and all too often I was missing a great move just because it was on the board of a person on the other side of the table. Since I was so overwhelmed by the breadth of the decision tree, I was not even close to coming up with a good, viable strategy.

3/5/2019

[b] :STAR: COMPLETE RATING: [/b] [c] [b]SCORE CRITERIA WEIGHTING ------- STAR RATING SCALE -------[/b] (9.0) FUN (x15): BORING :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar: REALLY FUN (8.0) GAMEPLAY (x5): NO DEPTH :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar: LOT OF DEPTH (FOR THE WEIGHT) (8.0) GAME FLOW (x5): FIDDLY :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar: SILKY SMOOTH (9.0) DOWNTIMES (x2): LOT OF :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar: ZERO (7.0) RANDOMNESS (x2): PURE LUCK :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar::nostar: PURE SKILLS (8.0) MECHANICS (x2): BORING :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar: INTERESTING / INNOVATIVE (9.0) REPLAYABILITY (x5): ZERO :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar: INFINITE (8.0) SCALABILITY (x3): POOR :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar: GREAT AT ALL PLAYER COUNTS (7.0) PORTABILITY (x1): BULKY :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar::nostar: SUPER EASY TO PLAY ANYWHERE (6.0) THEME (x1): UNATTRACTIVE :star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar::nostar::nostar: ATTRACTIVE (6.0) AESTHETICS (x1): UGLY :star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar::nostar::nostar: GORGEOUS (7.0) COMPONENTS (x1): LOW QUALITY :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar::nostar: HIGH QUALITY (8.0) VALUE (x2): TOO EXPENSIVE :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar: REALLY CHEAP(LOW COST FOR WHAT WE GET) (8.0) SETUP TIME (x2): LONG :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar: ZERO (8.0) GAME LENGTH (x2): TOO SHORT/LONG :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar: JUST PERFECT (7.0) RULES COMPLEXITY (x1): COMPLEX :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar::nostar: SIMPLE [/c] [b]TOTAL = 413/50 =8.26[/b] :thumbsup: [b]POSITIVE POINTS:[/b] ++ Fantastic take on auctions. The "color locking" of locations is an amazing mechanic. ++ Scales surprisingly well for an auction game. :thumbsdown: [b]NEGATIVE POINTS:[/b] -- Lots of small rules, it can be hard to teach/understand how they all interact. Takes a full game to see how everything comes together. -- Can be a little fiddly setting up between seasons.

3/1/2019

This is a tense and stressful game. Reminds me a lot of the feeling I get while playing Power Grid. My only real complaint is that the random meeple draws can be a little too critical in winter to rely on luck. Fantastic game, all around.

2/16/2019

Great game, looking forward to playing it more in the future. Had a terrible score because I was out bid on 3 different occasions. Would bid differently know that i know how the flow of the game works.

2/14/2019

No Review Description

2/1/2019

Very dry mechanical buffet (auctions, tile laying worker placement, route building) that forms together into a run-of-the-mill resource conversion game. The auction is kind of neat, but not interesting enough to make it stand out from the crowd of other games of its type.

1/25/2019

2-6, 90m

1/25/2019

How do you even describe this game? Auctions, worker placement, route building, resource conversion, point salad scoring, hidden victory conditions, special player powers, and something about settlers?

1/22/2019

Keyflower seamlessly incorporates so many mechanics and makes them seem like second nature. Great game that I want to play more often.

1/22/2019

It took me forever to get this game because the graphic design is just horrendous (the art, though, is wonderful). It's like someone popped it into Microsoft Word and started making boxes on these beautiful tiles. The game is superb. One of my very favourites.

1/16/2019

Keyflower is certainly a multifaceted game; both in decisions and rules. Players are given several options each turn, each of which can have several downstream effects. Being able to see the big picture of Keystone, and understanding the strategic ramifications of an action, is not an easy task. This barrier to entry is Keystone's downfall. Their is an interesting meta-game wrapped within Keystone's anfractuous, but the task of unearthing is not for everyone.

1/11/2019

maybe the best game ever

1/11/2019

One of the first games to hit my wishlist as a two player game, so when I saw it being Kickstarted to include the now out-of-print expansions, I had to jump on it. I can't wait to get this to the table to play with my SO and get her into WP! Kickstarter

1/10/2019