Descent: Journeys in the Dark 2nd Edition

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (62 Total)

6
15
33
6
2

Dungeon delving at its very best. Excellent implementation of some awesome mechanics. Each 'game' plays in a reasonable amount of time while the campaign mode allows for characters to grow.

10/25/2019

Chad has a copy

10/18/2019

Montreal

10/17/2019

Descent is a dungeon crawling classic. It has lots of dynamic play and makes it reasonably fun to play the bad guy! My only gripes come from the random treasures which can leave a party of players at a balance with the overlord player. This can lead to missions that take much longer than desired as the party cannot dispatch the monsters quick enough to progress. For this game to really shine the overlord player should be prepared to take on a more GM like role to ensure the majority of players still have a good experience.

6/19/2019

Good game for fans of dungeon...

5/15/2019

I liked the combat and thought that was really nicely implemented, which to me, makes it better than Drizit.

4/12/2019

Really the best dungeon crawl ever. The hours just slip away while playing. It is so interactive at every step, it keeps you intrigued and active. I would like to play as a player more often, alas, I am doomed to slaughter them instead! I would rate this higher if it didn't take so long to play. It just isn't something I could say "I will play right now!" at any time due to the length. signed

3/8/2019

My favorite dungeon crawler RPG, favorite solo game (with Road to Legend app). Brilliantly distils a videogame experience onto cardboard and lots of plastic.

3/6/2019

This game is just way too much fun. I have tried a few other dungeon games and avoided Descent for awhile because of the complexity. What a mistake. I wish I had just started here.

2/16/2019

I have fond memories playing through a number of scenarios in this. I don't own, so I don't see it on the table very often.

2/12/2019

2-5, 120m+

1/25/2019

Ugh. I don't like dungeon crawls and it was because of this that this game did not settle well with me. Only 1 play and it took 3 hours for the 1st scenario. It is a good game in that it seems that the overlord is playing a different game from the one that you are playing. If you are playing with others who are into the theme then it would be a fun game but if you don't like fancy name such as "Theodrun the Battlescarred" or somesuch, I suggest you stay away. As for the dolls, there are plenty of them in the box.

1/21/2019

A good 1 vs many game, but it just takes too long to setup and explain. I only got it to the table a few times before selling it.

12/24/2018