7 Wonders Duel

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (137 Total)

8
76
43
7
0

Includes Pantheon expansion

6/14/2019

Turns 7 Wonders into a cutthroat 1v1 puzzle. Fun, but feels like it's missing some "oomph". Need more plays to better judge

6/14/2019

The best card drafting game I own.

5/15/2019

Hate Drafting: The Game. Not revolutionary and there are other 2 player games with drafting elements that I prefer, but good.

5/13/2019

LBGG 2015 secret santa present. A little bit meaner than lauraine would like but still quite a light enjoyable game. Perhaps getting the winner to do the washing up might change her mind? Have the metal promo combat token.

4/12/2019

http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/7-wonders-duel-2015/ http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/7-wonders-duel-2015-accessibility-teardown/

3/28/2019

Includes Broken Token organizer.

3/27/2019

All cards sleeved.

3/11/2019

Amazing. A near perfect package of strategy, theme, progression, rising tension and important decision making without AP. Very very highly recommend. The hype is justified, and this from someone who gives 7 Wonders a 7 rating.

3/6/2019

Bought because it was highly rated, loved it almost immediately

3/6/2019

Different enough from 7 Wonders that it works.

3/6/2019

I liked it, but it's a little bit meaner than I would like from a two player game to play regularly.

2/26/2019

Like this a lot. Sometimes decisions make themselves, but overall its a fun game.

2/21/2019

2 players 30 minutes

2/17/2019

This is so much more enjoyable than playing with a dummy player in the normal 7 Wonders game. This is the rare example of a successful game that has an enjoyable spinoff game. This is not a 10 because there is supposed to be a victory condition for science or warfare, but those victory conditions are almost impossible to achieve. I wish they were slightly easier which would make the game even more balanced.

2/11/2019

This? This is one of the 10 greatest games ever made? Have these people only played 10 different games in their entire lives? It's an okay 2p game, I guess. I don't hate it, but seriously? The list of games that play well at 2p in under an hour that I'd rather play before I ever got to this one is bordering on inexhaustible.

1/23/2019

W/ Exp: Pantheon Promo: Statue of Liberty, and The Messe Essen This is one of the few two player games I have, but it goes over very well when we want to play a heavier game. It can be a pain to setup and get started. The depth of the game though is a real draw, even if we're not a fan of the Science victory. Worth it!

1/23/2019

Decent game but not as good as the hype made it out to be. I think it's a little too dependent on turn order/luck.

1/19/2019

I've definitely forgotten to input a bunch of plays for this. I actually prefer this to something like Through the Ages, which gives me similar feelings but takes an order of magnitude longer. Borrowed by Cam.

1/16/2019

A great 2p version of 7W.

1/15/2019

Love it, but it could use a good expansion to add variety/shake it up.

1/15/2019

A very solid 2p game, with a minimal time investment and shallow learning curve. Multiple paths to victory add tension and strategic flexibility to the experience as well. Not only can you pursue military and science as a means of victory, but you can also leverage them to maneuver your opponent into weakened positions, forcing them to take sub-optimal moves, thereby acquiring and maintaining control of the game for yourself. The military track is a bit boring as it is just a push-of-war, but the technology cards are interesting. 7 different technology symbols win the game, but for each pair you manage to acquire you gain a very powerful progress token. Managing and choosing between these to science paths is very interesting. The game feels a bit over balanced, but it has been boiled down well for two players, and offers a bit of a deeper feel than most other 2p-exclusive titles.

1/11/2019

My SO loves base 7 Wonders, but we don't have a group to play with yet, so this seems like the perfect fit for us. I would give this a higher rating, but the seeming random ability to secure a science win keeps it from being up there.

1/10/2019

anna äger

1/10/2019

I do not understand why people love this game. If anyone asks me to play, I will challenge them to a duel.

1/10/2019

Juegazo. En poco tiempo transmite la sensación de estar tomando muchas decisiones, de crecimiento y a la vez se necesita estar pendiente de lo que hace tu vecino... 10 sobre 10.

1/9/2019

Infinitely better than it's predecessor 7 Wonders. Duel takes a boring drafting game and introduces mechanics that make it something interesting and more strategic. Having the most points is still how you win, but you also have to pay attention to other aspects of the game so you don't instantly lose, because then it doesn't matter how many points you have.

12/24/2018

In Germany

12/22/2018

(12/16) 8. (10/17) Drop to 7. Ugh. This one breaks my heart...I just don't get to play too many 2 player games, but I've gotta make an exception for this one asap.

12/22/2018

Really enjoy this game! very few flaws imo

12/22/2018