Star Wars Imperial Assault

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (102 Total)

8
48
39
6
1

Campaign mode is good but may be too much for just 2 people. Will need to try skirmish instead

2/2/2020

fantastic game!! first dungeon crawl system I played and I I love it. definitely feel that the minis need to be painted in order to be immersed in the theme. but I love the system. I think the battle system is balanced and is great for dice mitigation. I love that the rebels have these crazy abilities, but still have a tough time with the empire. I LOVE DMing for the game, playing as the empire and deciding the course of the game and when to do what is an awesome roll. Fantastic game I don't see my love for this game stopping, and duh it's Star Wars!

1/31/2020

This is a LOT of game. It's good, but only invest if you have a lot of time. Not one to just pull out and play.

1/30/2020

Only have used the app to play it. Have The Broken Token organizer for it and sleeved cards. https://www.thebrokentoken.com/imperial-organizer Keep all base game tiles in this box, most of the tokens, the guides, the hero Rebel figures, the hero Imperial figures, and cards needed for the app.

1/27/2020

Fun game! For the campaign mode, it would be a toss-up for me whether I would pick this or Descent. The skirmish mode however is excellent! Games are quick and exciting. Playing with iconic Star Wars characters is icing on the cake. Expansions Owned: Everything through Bespin and I'm out! Edit: there's an app? I'm back in! Edit: wait, no app? In a holding pattern for now.

1/26/2020

I still haven't tried the campaign, because honestly playing the Empire does not look terribly fun. I'm open to being proven wrong, though. The skirmish was unexpectedly fun. As of a billion expansions in, there's a decent amount of variety--and though the activation system is the same old nonsense, there's still some room for cleverness.

1/26/2020

I didn't hate this game. I was just expecting too much out of it. I probably would have loved it if I didn't already play tabletop RPG's. Not the game for me.

1/25/2020

If you want a fun romp through a dungeon, filled with dice and story, this is a game for you. This isn't even a genre I typically like and I can still get behind this game. Plus it's Star Wars.

1/25/2020

So much better than Descent. Better theme, improved rules, better balance, and better paced with Imperial and Rebel players going on alternate turns. Update: This is just not a game I really ever want to play. While I definitely see the appeal of the game, I am finding that I am not a fan of these random and combative games.

12/12/2019

Takes the gameplay from another title, improves on it, and adds a far better theme.

12/3/2019

8 on initial impressions. Played a few skirmishes. Beginning campaign with friends in next couple of weeks.

11/2/2019

by 3MBG

Easily the smoothest playing and most intense version of Descent. Star Wars theme actually adds to the experience over the generic FFG fantasy world that just feels kinda bland.

10/29/2019

A dungeon crawl in the Star Wars universe with an unfolding campaign. Win! INCLUDED: Star Wars: Imperial Assault – Chewbacca Ally Pack Star Wars: Imperial Assault – Han Solo Ally Pack

10/25/2019

Dripping with delicious Star Wars theme this game is absolutely amazing especially when played co-op with the app.

9/23/2019

Fun dungeon crawler, assuming the person running the Empire is not out for blood.

6/26/2019

Convoluted to learn, needlessly complex, unintuitive. Incredibly long setup. Fun when I got to the meat of it, and better than most "Ameritrash" titles. The genre just isn't my cup of tea. I could see this game rising though as efficiency in setup and understanding go up.

5/15/2019

Most figures painted. Includes the base box organizer/insert. All cards sleeved.

3/11/2019

Brilliant dungeon crawl with the world's best theme. The tactical game is fun too, however, I don't like the booster situation as I don't want to invest hundreds in keeping up, so I'll stick to the 4v1 player campaign which is quite enjoyable. Some missions are very very hard, but the balance between the Rebels and Empire player seems decent (GM doesn't have to play with kid gloves).

3/6/2019

I feel the same way as i did about Descent 2.0, it's not very balanced, could be fun with a GM that isn't trying to completely destroy you but not fun at all with one who is playing cutthroat. Just a frustrating experience and not much fun overall.

2/17/2019

Was iffy on it my first play, but the ending was pretty exciting my last play, came down to the last move. Very fun

1/23/2019

Nothing brings more joy than spawning hordes of storm troopers.

1/22/2019

Only played the tutorial scenario, but had a great time with two friends. I do wonder how this will compare to Gloomhaven once my player group gets through our campaign.

1/11/2019