A Feast For Odin

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (129 Total)

12
71
38
5
0

Extremely fiddly and lots of and then this kind of rules about the different things you can do. I'm told it scales very well though and I'd be in to playing this more in the future. But it really didn't grab me as something I need to play very much going forward if the opportunity doesn't present itself.

4/1/2020

After 11 plays I really love this game but I have started to see the limit of it. Looking forward to the first big expansion.

4/1/2020

Love the game. So many actions to do, and love the brain teasing puzzle aspect of it on how to minimize your negative score while at the same time ensuring the maximization of your production!

3/24/2020

Weight: 3.83 / 5Includes Folded Space insert

3/18/2020

Rosenberg, so worth checking out. Takes rather long though. Rating based on first solo game which was a lot of fun. Do hope to get this one to the table sometime.

3/18/2020

the best Uwe has ever created. So deep, with so many ways to play and win.

2/3/2020

So it's the latest Uwe Rosenberg medium-heavy worker-placement game. The spatial stuff, which I thought would irk me, is just fine. Getting additional boards, and managing them, is what I find really cool.

1/26/2020

Very open-ended Euro. I am starting to see how different strategies work, but I'm still not good at it. I also still need to try the expansion. On paper, I this game is just as interesting as all the great Euros I like. But emotionally, for whatever reason, I can't get excited about this game. It just feels... fine.

1/25/2020

1-4p

1/24/2020

I played a AFfO with an expansion that added islands. It is a well thought through design, no complaints with the artwork, but for me there was simply too much going on. I'm sure with repeat plays I would get more out of it, but the mechanisms just did not speak to me. My subjective rating is 3 stars - I would play it again, but only in select circumstances. Also - I love teaching games, but I would never want to attempt to teach this one.

1/2/2020

Good game. However, learning it, teaching it is a pretty big investment. I'd play again. But overall my impression was this was a bit more game than I wanted.

12/24/2019

Wife LOVED this. I struggled a lot with the spacial aspect to this game (not uncommon for me). I do love all the things you can do in this game but it is definitely not my favorite Uwe game.

12/12/2019

very big game

12/11/2019

Depth of experience that makes all other Uwe games seem shallow. Just my (hyperbolic) opinion.

12/11/2019

[GAUDET]

10/25/2019

+A Feast for Odin: The Norwegians (2018)

10/18/2019

Truly an awesome game. So many options. When playing that game one has the need to excel and that is a real challenge.

7/21/2019

A much more forgiving faming sim than Agricola. Also just more fun to me.

6/26/2019

8.3 / 2-4p / 30-120m / Overall 50 / Strategy 25 / 3.81 (Review - Best game of 2016 / 61 choices to make on the board, looks good maybe pick this up when back in print, Rahdo's #14 of 2016, MHGG 2/3 Liked it)

6/15/2019

Lots of ways to score points, in the one game played so far, i focused on sheep. May not have been the best strategy but it was still fun. Felt a bit like a field game, in that there was just so many ways to score points and therefore i would imagine people who are familiar with the game may have an advantage. I like games that make you ponder different stratgies, hours, days, after you play them and this is one such game.

4/12/2019

All cards sleeved. Have the small expansion boards.

3/11/2019

We absolutely love the game—it’s everything we were expecting. Lots and lots of decisions in a wide open environment. We definitely don’t yet understand what strategy is useful but are eager to figure it out. Amazing artwork and production quality, as to be expected from an Uwe Rosenberg game.

2/14/2019

2-4, 30-120m

1/25/2019

A Feast for Odin fuses the large action board and sandbox nature of Fields of Arle, with the spacial puzzle of Patchwork. The result is an incredibly fun game, with enormous breadth and several paths to journey. The action board is packed with options, making the game accessible though unusually open for a Rosenberg game. The resulting decision space is so wide it becomes impractical to assess each space, which facilitates a more casual atmosphere than expected. As in most Uwe games, players are gifted with a beautiful narrative arc, and can look down at their boards, islands, and buildings with a grand sense of accomplishment. A Feast for Odin is astonishingly fun, and despite being yet another Rosenberg evolution, delivers on multiple levels.

1/11/2019

Germany

12/22/2018