Azul

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (168 Total)

7
104
49
5
0

We are really enjoying this abstract game.

10/18/2019

1.6.17 I thought Azul was going to be Sagrada times 11 but it turns out it was just... fine. In Azul's defense, it does make for more player interaction than Sagrada, especially at higher player counts. But sometimes, there is very little to do and you can just get hosed because people chose one group of tiles and you got caught in the wrong seat.

10/18/2019

Best: 2-3 Time: 30-45 Min Weight: 1.80

10/17/2019

Highly recommended game, seems like it could be interesting

8/6/2019

So elegant and beautiful. My only criticism is that the boards look like they will warp pretty easy.

6/26/2019

Excellent abstract which balances multiplayer solitaire with watching your opponents' boards like a hawk.

6/20/2019

A good looking, easy to teach strategy game. This is a game you can enjoy with gamers of all levels. The set up time is really short and the explanation won't take long. This game is a winner all around.

6/19/2019

Abstract strategy

5/21/2019

A good (and very pretty) little spatial/math abstract puzzle. The pool drafting provides some interesting indirect player interaction.

5/14/2019

Cindy broke and bought this before I did. I started lukewarm on it and have enjoyed it more after each play. The sweet spot is, weirdly, right around 3 players. You have enough control to hate draft (unlike 4p) without it being entirely hate drafting (2p). I'll still play it at whatever count though.

5/13/2019

Really enjoyable abstract game.

4/12/2019

http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/azul-2017/ http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/azul-2017-accessibility-teardown/

3/28/2019

No need to sleeve

3/1/2019

Quick to learn and play. I really like the design of the tiles too. Wife and I recently had our first baby also so simple and short games like this are always a great find

2/22/2019

An interesting, puzzle-y abstract game with some good decisions. At two players it often leaves you with many more negative tiles than higher players but is still an engaging puzzle to solve. The production quality—especially the plastic tiles—is stellar.

2/14/2019

This game is best as a zero-sum 2p cage fight. The triangulation of the extra players blunts what makes this game so interesting. I stop short of saying I refuse to play it at 3-4p, but there are countless fillers I would rather play with more than two.

1/23/2019

This game is a great abstract game to get into. The components are beautiful with each of the tiles, and somehow leveraging the same exact tiles each game yields interesting strategies depending on how they come out of the bag. It requires a lot of hate-drafting to stick your opponents with the worst possible tiles to take.

1/23/2019

Mostly have played with 2. Its a fun game. Easy enough to play with park&rec or the office on in the background.

1/22/2019

Azul sky rocketed into my top 10 in a heartbeat thanks to its smooth game-play, qualitative and aesthetic components and the short playtime. A great family-weight game for those in love with Qwirkle type of games.

1/21/2019

2018-07-29 - Initial rating 7.5

1/21/2019

You can really get screwed in this game, but it's a really good filler for my group. Really gets you thinking and has some fun 'take that' moments.

1/19/2019

Beautiful components, smooth gameplay, a little take-that, a deserved Spiel-des Jahres. I would play two or three times in a row!

1/18/2019

Good game. Family like this.

1/17/2019

It's colourful, it's extremely satisfying from a tactile point of view, it's also a great puzzle! Plus it's Canadian!

1/15/2019

Fun, fast, accessible, pretty.

1/11/2019

I enjoy pool drafting games, and Azul is no exception. Chasing adjacent tile placements is the main consideration, but the end game scoring opportunities can be highly lucrative as well. Like most drafting games, evaluating the needs of your opponents is critical to success and adds a second layer of critical thinking. The tile penalty for over-drafting is too punishing as the affected player often has little control over such a circumstance. Being as streamlined as it is, I have doubts regarding my long term interest, but game has great tactility and remains accessible to just about anyone.

1/11/2019

Birthday 2018 from Ruth et al.

1/10/2019

DIY

1/10/2019

Solid game with great components. Flows nicely. I'm not exactly sure what all the fuzz is about but great game nonetheless. Seems to be lacking a bit of depth for my taste.

1/9/2019

In Germany

12/22/2018

I played this 13 times in the first two days. It's my new go to for players who are new gamers!

10/8/2018