Azul

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (421 Total)

21
172
101
6
0

Good for gamers and non gamers alike

6/19/2020

A good easy tile layer that I never win

6/17/2020

We show how to play here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A1RbSPDeWC4

6/14/2020

Absolutely stunning. High quality components, quick games, and fantastic scoring guidelines. Love this game.

4/14/2020

Great game. Just right for my wife and I. One of the first games we played almost every night for the first few weeks after we got it.The boys like it too. I expect this will remain a favourite for a long time.

4/12/2020

I'm very impressed by this game. It is one of the few times a new game has come out for me and lived up to the hype. Very easy to teach, very easy and quick to play, and very fast. It's also quite good with all player counts. However, two player is exceptional. Four player is the worst I think, but it's still very good. Haven't tried three yet, but I think that would be quite a good compromise between two and four. Same as reef encounter in that regard I think!

4/1/2020

Fun game, not sure how many plays it will be before getting stale.

4/1/2020

What a wonderful execution of an abstract game with such elegant artwork. I love playing in 2-player mode so that the discarded tiles won't be reshuffled.

3/24/2020

This gotta be one the most enjoyable and beautiful abstract puzzle game game out there. The components are amazing and game play is so simple and elegant. It is a joy to play everytime.

3/24/2020

Weight: 1.81 / 5Includes second custom bag for tiles - to be used in place of discard trayIncludes first player tileIncludes Joker TilesIncludes blue and red promo tiles

3/18/2020

Designer: Michael KieslingPublisher: Plan B gamesPlayer count: 2-4Weight: Light Medium Mechanics: Tile layingSetting/theme: Abstract strategy / PortugalPlay time: 30-45 minutesFor my review (Dutch) please refer to:https://boardgamegeek.com/article/28292597

3/18/2020

Great beginner's game. possibly the easiest game we own and yet still fun for experienced gamers. Satisfying tableau builder with exponential points. Very pretty

3/9/2020

2-4

3/7/2020

I was all like, "hype hype hype" about Azul and totally wrote it off. It's not just hype though - when I finally gave in the game clicked immediately, figuratively as well as literally. The sound and feel of those tiles! The game has been a universal hit for us and quickly became a standard other games are measured by. The puzzle is easy to learn but fun and difficult to solve and the interactions are entertaining.

2/15/2020

Very fast-paced abstract game with drafting. Simple rules, beautiful production. Not quite as amazing as it's made out to be but a very solid filler. I slightly prefer the puzzle in Sanssouci from the same designer.

2/14/2020

MAN, what a great game. There's something lovely about the tactility of the tiles, hearing them clack together in your hands, and then putting them together in beautiful patterns on your player board. Mechanically, it's not the smoothest game (the sequel, Stained Glass of Sintra flows a bit better), but the strategy of which tiles to choose both for right now, and for what you'll need in the future, is fun to work through. Plus, it's just so pretty. Glad it's in my collection.

2/5/2020

No Review Description

2/3/2020

Gifted by BGG Secret Santa - Steve the Elf! (2018)

1/30/2020

Highly recommend this. Good for any type of player and also very good gateway game.

1/28/2020

Fun and pretty, would definitely need to play again.

1/26/2020

I fail to see how this is anything more than pretty and inoffensive.

1/26/2020

[COLOR=#FFFFFF][b][size=12][BGCOLOR=#FF0000]Have Game Want Accessories[/BGCOLOR][/size][/b][/color] [COLOR=#ffffff][b][size=12][BGCOLOR=#000000]Want 3D Score Track[/BGCOLOR][/size][/b][/color] [COLOR=#ffffff][b][size=12][BGCOLOR=#835C3B]Want Discard Bag[/BGCOLOR][/size][/b][/color]

1/25/2020

Decent abstract with more depth than expected.

1/25/2020

12/11/17:This game will be in the rotation with Splendor and CSR when we have family game nights

1/15/2020

I'm amazed how easy it was to tell the tiles apart. While not color-blind, I often have problems seeing differences between cards and tokens in games. This is very well done!

1/9/2020

Victoria

1/4/2020

I love this games because it has a pretty simple rule set, is easy to teach, and has a good mix of luck of the draw and decision making. Player interaction is minimum in the sense that the only way you mess up other players is by taking the tiles they were planning on taking, however, this happens more often than you would think!

1/3/2020

JV

1/2/2020

Nice enough, but not compelling.

12/24/2019

EUR 26,84 from AMAZON

12/21/2019

The more I play this game, the more I like it.

12/20/2019

This one is great. It isn’t too tough to teach but it starts to get pretty difficult by the end of the game. If you like puzzles you’ll like this one. May 2019 $18.99

12/14/2019

We enjoyed this more than we thought we would. Typically abstracts are not our first choice of games but Azul was engaging and interactive enough for keep us interested. It can be an extremely mean game though, especially with just 2 players. Would play again, but probably only with 3 or 4 since the negative points can be spread around a bit more.

12/12/2019

This is a medium length abstract game about laying fancy tile patterns somewhere in Portugal. I have only played once, but first impressions are very good. Apparently this was game of the Year last year.

12/3/2019

Simple. Colourful. Quick to play.

10/25/2019

Very fun and relatively quick abstract game. Easy to teach and simple to grasp. There’s just something magical about the feel and sound of handling those Starburst tiles!

10/22/2019

We are really enjoying this abstract game.

10/18/2019

1.6.17 I thought Azul was going to be Sagrada times 11 but it turns out it was just... fine. In Azul's defense, it does make for more player interaction than Sagrada, especially at higher player counts. But sometimes, there is very little to do and you can just get hosed because people chose one group of tiles and you got caught in the wrong seat.

10/18/2019

Best: 2-3 Time: 30-45 Min Weight: 1.80

10/17/2019

No Review Description

10/17/2019

No Review Description

10/17/2019

Highly recommended game, seems like it could be interesting

8/6/2019

So elegant and beautiful. My only criticism is that the boards look like they will warp pretty easy.

6/26/2019

Excellent abstract which balances multiplayer solitaire with watching your opponents' boards like a hawk.

6/20/2019

A good looking, easy to teach strategy game. This is a game you can enjoy with gamers of all levels. The set up time is really short and the explanation won't take long. This game is a winner all around.

6/19/2019