Vast: The Crystal Caverns

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (78 Total)

1
29
40
6
1

i find the learning curve a little high on this game . weve only played it a handfull of times and its very fun but i think that once my entire group has a better grasp of how all the different charactes play the game will play smoother and have more strategy.

4/4/2020

This is my favorite game in my collection and I never get to play it. This game requires a dedicated game group to fully enjoy, and I have yet to find one. Which is a real shame because if a group took the time to master each of the rolls, the experiences would be epic. I have played it a few times solo to learn the various roles and rule etc. But I have not really touched it in years. Despite that, this is a game that will never leave my collection, and I will always hope I one day find the group that will play this wonderful game with me. I truly think its a work of genius.

3/12/2020

2/3/2020

When you take a series of relatively simple one-way interactions (A fights B, B fights C, etc.) and shackle them all to a multiplayer euro, you end up with this--an overlong, unengaging, limited player-interaction, arbitrary-feeling Kill Doctor Lucky problem. You either internalize everyone's minigame, in which case the game devolves into unfun politics (i.e., whining) that is vastly more complicated than it's worth; or you don't, and everything seems totally random and pointless.

1/26/2020

1-5p Sleeves

1/24/2020

Fiddly rules, cumbersome responsibilities on each player, and I really wish I had a chance to get this played so much more.

12/11/2019

#3

10/17/2019

This is a game I want to love more than I do. Due to the true asymmetric nature of the design it has a lot of rules overhead and challenging time being introduced to new players. The game is just to hard to get out and play regularly, but the art and components are stellar!

6/19/2019

w/ bonus cards

6/15/2019

I’ve been playing a lot of Root which is a fantastic game, and this game suffers by comparison. My group all expressed that they were just waiting around for their turn; very little interaction until the very end.

4/21/2019

Very fun game. I only managed to play once as the Dragon (and escaped) but it was a great experience. The asymmetric nature is awesome, and shows that every game will be different depending on who is playing who and what people do, the momentary alliances & arguments are great. The art-style was cool and the meeples were a nice touch with the 2nd edition. Looking forward to playing with the miniatures & possibly trying out the extra roles...heck there is a unicorn coming to replace the dragon, and everyone knows the unicorn is the goodest creature ever...looking forward to playing again or buying in the near future.

3/27/2019

Really cool design, though some concern with the disparity between player turn length (could be the players) and some confusion on the rules

3/6/2019

1-5 players (best 4) 75 minutes

2/17/2019

Humongous replay value! I love to play it with people that already know the characters, otherwise explaining the game (and each character) can take up a loooot of time. My first asymmetric game and although I didn't fall in love with the "genre", I value the designers creativity. Every game feels totally new!

1/21/2019