Suburbia

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (142 Total)

5
52
76
8
0

Awfully pleasant and quick. Manages to hide its fundamental nature as multiplayer solitaire rather well. Rather easy to miss (potentially crucial) adjustments, though, so can get fiddlier than it has any right to be.

1/26/2020

A relatively fun game, until you get to the point you realized you may have missed something in your scoring. Which can be near impossible to recalculate. If that could somehow be fixed it would probably rate a 9. Until then, I don't have much desire to play again.

1/25/2020

http://www.coolstuffinc.com/main_printOrder.php?orderID=864122

1/20/2020

Fun city building game. Can be hard to alter strategy as you attempt to build an infastructure but are reliant on "luck of the draw" as to what buildings you can place in your city.

1/7/2020

I played a couple of games, with a couple of guys that had played earlier. I didn't really know what I was doing or what should be prioritised. Knowing there are tiles that prevent loss of population/reputation might have impacted some decisions, but the bigger thing is knowing how each tile is going to interact.

1/3/2020

I like it more after every play. I can't always play Through the Ages, so this is a nice, shorter, lighter fallback.

12/20/2019

Interesting game. I like the way things slowly get cheaper, but maybe someone overpays to make sure they get it August 2019 $29.99

12/14/2019

Really wanted to like this game. It just didn't click or do anything different than other games.

12/12/2019

So far I have only played this solo. I have enjoyed it, but there are a lot of things to calculate when you are putting your hex's out... _____ 5/1/15 - Finally played it with a second player, LOST, but great game. Lots to think about really really like it. Adding a point to the rating. _____ 15/3/16 - Last game day played a 3 player game and won. I have discovered I was playing one slight rule wrong, not enough to destroy the game but enough to make it more interesting next time. ---- Played it 5 times in about 4 years. 3 of those plays were solo...if I really liked it as much as I said I did, I would have played it more often. Traded it in the end.

11/14/2019

Enjoy the app

11/3/2019

[IOS]

10/25/2019

Itch: Sim City

9/19/2019

Okay Euro-style game with tile placement. It's not very deep, and it has a TON of fiddly bookkeeping. The bookkeeping is bad enough at 2 players, but gets exponentially worse for every player beyond that.

6/15/2019

7.7 / 2-4p Best 3 / 90m / Overall 72 / Strategy 54 / 2.78 (Engine Building)

6/15/2019

N/A

5/15/2019

(App) Interesting decisions, but not super "fun."

5/14/2019

Slick design, interesting decisions. Dice tower con promo card received 1/7/2015

4/12/2019

https://meeplelikeus.co.uk/suburbia/ http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/suburbia-accessibility-teardown/

3/28/2019

VENDU $45

3/19/2019

Has the Broken Token insert and all expansions!

3/11/2019

Fun tactical engine builder/tile laying game. A bit hard to keep track of triggers at times and painfully luck dependent about the tiles that will be available.

3/5/2019

No need to sleeve

3/1/2019

I find this game so relaxing. Just hanging out, building my little town, watching it grow. Only think I don't like is how fiddly the cross-player income can be, wish it was all relegated to your board. Never played it with 4, seems like 3 is the sweet spot though with downtime.

2/22/2019

Medium weight tile placement game. When I read the rules I thought this would be very mediocre. I was extremely surprised as we were playing it. The tiles are immensely thematic and all of them work both mechanically and thematically (except maybe the lakes, but they need to be there for gameplay purposes). There is a good chunk of indirect player interaction as well, both for competing for the public goals and for the city-wide tiles. e: After too many plays way too fast, traded this. Got way too repetitive and didn't feel like I was making interesting decisions. e2: Trying to trade for this again now that the amazing looking expansion is out.

2/16/2019

MPS engine builder. Bonus point for the sly sense of humor, otherwise it's nothing special.

1/25/2019

1-4, 90m

1/25/2019

W/ Exp: Suburbia Inc., 5-Star Promo: Con Tiles This was on the shelf for a long time before we actually managed to play it. It might actually be on the way out. We really liked the game and trying to build the best engine in our cities.

1/23/2019

Build a city, keeping costs low and influx of residents high, and managing the spatial relationships between different kinds of buildings. Suburbia simplifies city management and development down to a few easy to manage resources (money, income, population, and immigration) and has a ton of variability. It can be a little to easy to forget what you and your opponents have built in the first few plays, but after a while it becomes second nature. Brilliant iOS implementation.

1/22/2019

Whoops! Misunderstood the rules and that caused a different turn of events. Looks like I need to play this again.

1/21/2019

Delightful strategic quasi-economic fun. Fantastic, and the accounting of it all actually works thematically.

1/15/2019

The mechanical unification of income, prestige, and population creates a strong foundation on which Suburbia stands, and represents the forces players must balance for their budding city to prosper. This sense of balance extends to the various building categories, and 'interative' icons. Unfortunately, the combinations and interplay of the various tiles place a strong bookkeeping burden on the players. Too often players must count up interactive icons to calculate a specific bonus, or toggle prestige and income after a population boom. This repetitive cube pushing diverts attention from the game's strong combo-building toward mundane accounting.

1/11/2019

Looking for a good 2 player set collection game for my SO and me. I think the theme is perfect for the gameplay and I can see it getting a ton of play between us without being as fiddly as Castles.

1/10/2019

A fun city building game, it's biggest pitfall being the amount of information you have to keep track of within your city as it grows.

12/24/2018

(8/16) 8. (10/17) Drop to 6. I really do think this has probably been replaced by Castles of Mad King Ludwig.

12/22/2018