Suburbia

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (42 Total)

1
19
18
4
0

Medium wei...

by elltrain

Medium weight tile placement game. When I read the rules I thought this would be very mediocre. I was extremely surprised as we were playing it. The tiles are immensely thematic and all of them work both mechanically and thematically (except maybe the lakes, but they need to be there for gameplay purposes). There is a good chunk of indirect player interaction as well, both for competing for the public goals and for the city-wide tiles. e: After too many plays way too fast, traded this. Got way too repetitive and didn't feel like I was making interesting decisions. e2: Trying to trade for this again now that the amazing looking expansion is out.

2/16/2019

MPS engine...

by Brent

MPS engine builder. Bonus point for the sly sense of humor, otherwise it's nothing special.

1/25/2019

1-4, 90m

by snurp

1-4, 90m

1/25/2019

W/ Exp: Su...

by Ethereal87

W/ Exp: Suburbia Inc., 5-Star Promo: Con Tiles This was on the shelf for a long time before we actually managed to play it. It might actually be on the way out. We really liked the game and trying to build the best engine in our cities.

1/23/2019

Build a ci...

by Zeugmatic Player

Build a city, keeping costs low and influx of residents high, and managing the spatial relationships between different kinds of buildings. Suburbia simplifies city management and development down to a few easy to manage resources (money, income, population, and immigration) and has a ton of variability. It can be a little to easy to forget what you and your opponents have built in the first few plays, but after a while it becomes second nature. Brilliant iOS implementation.

1/22/2019

Whoops! Mi...

by usagi-san

Whoops! Misunderstood the rules and that caused a different turn of events. Looks like I need to play this again.

1/21/2019

Delightful...

by frankqb

Delightful strategic quasi-economic fun. Fantastic, and the accounting of it all actually works thematically.

1/15/2019

The mechan...

by ekloff

The mechanical unification of income, prestige, and population creates a strong foundation on which Suburbia stands, and represents the forces players must balance for their budding city to prosper. This sense of balance extends to the various building categories, and 'interative' icons. Unfortunately, the combinations and interplay of the various tiles place a strong bookkeeping burden on the players. Too often players must count up interactive icons to calculate a specific bonus, or toggle prestige and income after a population boom. This repetitive cube pushing diverts attention from the game's strong combo-building toward mundane accounting.

1/11/2019

Looking fo...

by KimchiTurtle

Looking for a good 2 player set collection game for my SO and me. I think the theme is perfect for the gameplay and I can see it getting a ton of play between us without being as fiddly as Castles.

1/10/2019

A fun city...

by Psylocke

A fun city building game, it's biggest pitfall being the amount of information you have to keep track of within your city as it grows.

12/24/2018

(8/16) 8. ...

by markbesada

(8/16) 8. (10/17) Drop to 6. I really do think this has probably been replaced by Castles of Mad King Ludwig.

12/22/2018