Merchants & Marauders

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (61 Total)

0
19
32
9
1

2-4 Players

4/1/2020

Excellent blend of theme and mechanics. Yes, there is some luck, but good players (those familiar with the rules, cards, etc.) will know how to minimize this. The production quality is stellar, and it's great to be able to choose your play style (merchant or pirate), even with the possibility to switch during the game. Numerous captains, ships, missions, rumors, and events add variability so that each game is unique. Seems very well balanced, especially with the ability to attack player captains.

4/1/2020

I thought that the production quality of this one was great, but in the end, the game was rather Meh. It did have the Sid Meier's pirates thing going for it, which I love, but it was much better when the computer was doing all of the stuff for you. I don't like the 'Merchants' part of it, and the fact that 'Merchants' was such a big part of the game and so powerful. It's more fun to be a pirate, but you're at a disadvantage.I think Sea Rovers did what I wanted to much more, but that game is generally unavailable.

4/1/2020

A few fiddly rules to remember.. But that's to be expected with a game like this. Otherwise this is a pretty cool game.

3/4/2020

SOLD, July 2017

2/28/2020

by paka

While it felt like the Pirates! game of old on PC, something didn't quite click with me. Too much emphasis on trading and pickup-delivery I think. Liked Blackbeard much more than this as it felt more piratey with lot more random and fighting and interaction. (For most people its vice-versa and Blackbeard is the one getin the bashing).

2/25/2020

After a detailed review of the rules, this seems a LOT like Blackbeard to me. I'm drawn to Blackbeard by the solitaire rules (the kids are intimidated by rules more than eight pages long).

1/10/2020

Basically a dice fest that could a lot funnier if it didn't take so long

1/4/2020

A fun pirate simulation. However, the rules seem to make execution of the game procedures clunky.

11/3/2019

Pirates are right at the top of my preferred themes list. This game does not disappoint. With the various navies represented, and open choices to make it was a lit of fun.

6/26/2019

13/06/2013 - Changed rating from 6.9 to 7.5. For some reason can't stop thinking about this game. Would really like to play it again. After 1 play : really like the trading in the game, although we went through the cargo deck rather quickly and repeatedly in our 4 player game. Perhaps there should be more? There are some very nice mechanics which add to the theme, but felt the combat wasn't one of them. Personally, think there may be some house rules out there which would mitigate some aspects of the combat which felt clunky.

4/12/2019

http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/merchants-and-marauders-2010/ http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/merchants-and-marauders-2010-accessibility-teardown/

3/28/2019

I'm not the type of a person to forgive poor gameplay if it has a strong theme. M&M has a lot of both.

2/16/2019

+ Fun, sandbox-y game. o First plays can be a bit tricky and require looking up the finer rules, but the game plays quite fast when 'grokked'. I wasn't planning on getting this, but I played it at a friend's place and had a lot of fun. Decided to purchase it when there was a good 2nd hand offer.

1/21/2019

Like Sid Meier's Pirates! but a board game.

1/16/2019