Hanabi

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (160 Total)

3
30
101
20
4

Played with two players but think it would excel at 4 players. Even with two we were cheering and feeling relieved when we didn't make bonehead moves. I really like that it's a small, compact game that I can easily take to work or out and about with me. Update: Hanabi has gotten tons of play time over the holiday with friends and such. It's a really accessible game to casual gamers but has some strategy and depth to it. One of the better pure co-op games we've played. Stored in Quiver case for portability.

12/12/2019

Play this game for fun, or play this game with a scientific rigor that might ruin the game for everyone else. My rating is for my first tens of experiences of this game, before I looked into possible strategies to get better.

12/11/2019

Fairly fun and in a nice small package. I can't imagine I'll reach for this too often, though, with Saboteur existing.

12/5/2019

This is an interesting little game. The positives are the cooperative aspect, and the mechanics are unique. The cons would be the lacklustre ending to the game. The theme says that fireworks are going off but there is not really a great cathartic moment at the end to feel like anything was accomplished. As a puzzle that is worked on collectively, it is 10/10 but it is not quite a game. ____ 11-8-15 Added an extra .5 due to the lots of laughs scenario ____ 16-3-16 Really good game, I like it but it has not been played for a while. Up for trade.

11/14/2019

Interesting cooperative game. Because no player has complete knowledge of the situation, it reduces the chances of a single player commanding the whole team. We liked it but felt that the tokens were not the best solution to avoid players relying to much on giving information. A possible weakness of the game is that although it is very simple and light, it demands that players are focused all the game and memorize as many clues as possible, not only those received, but also those given to other players to avoid repeating information. This makes it a very hard game to play to non-gamers or with players that lack the discipline to stay focused for 30 minutes straight.

10/25/2019

TRADED AWAY. Nice cooperative game. Deduction.

10/25/2019

Fun cooperative game for 2-5P with a unique hand management mechanic.

10/22/2019

Best: 4 Time: 25 Min Weight: 1.70

10/17/2019

7.2 / 2-5p Best 4 / 25m / Family 30 / 1.70

6/15/2019

I was not blown away by this game, I don't know why. Lots of people like it but just hasn't peaked my interest.

5/28/2019

It's hard to get used to NOT looking at cards you draw. But, otherwise, it's a very fun cooperative game with hidden information and memory. *Will not be fun for people who don't enjoy memorizing hidden information.

5/14/2019

Feels like a classic card game in its simplicity. Standup and cheer moments. I've found it difficult to introduce to non-hobby gamers, but that appears to be the opposite of everyone else's experience.

5/13/2019

I totally recommend this one. Surprisingly it was a hit with nearly everyone I played it with. While it does need a fair amount of concentration its a cooperative card game variant of Solitaire. The great twist of not seeing your own cards is always a hit. It's also very portable so you can take it everwhere and play a quick round.

4/23/2019

I totally recommend this one. Surprisingly it was a hit with nearly everyone I played it with. While it does need a fair amount of concentration its a cooperative card game variant of Solitaire. The great twist of not seeing your own cards is always a hit. It's also very portable so you can take it everwhere and play a quick round.

4/23/2019

It's a drinking game you can take down the pub.

4/12/2019

http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/hanabi-2010/ http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/hanabi-2010-accessibility-teardown/

3/28/2019

It seems like the only way to do well in the game is to conspire against the game using nonverbal hints.

3/5/2019

2-5 players (best 4) 30 minutes

2/17/2019

much better with 3+

2/13/2019

I played Hanabi a long time ago so when I received Deluxe, I was definitely interested. My girlfriend loved the game as soon as we played it. The biggest thing it has over regular Hanabi is the tiles can stand up vs. holding cards out. It's far easier to sort, organize, and not-accidentally-look at your tiles as opposed to juggling a hand of cards. Came as a "best man" gift and it's great!

1/23/2019

Great game, great design. A co-op game even for people that don't usually like co-ops

1/23/2019

Cooperative deductive game with simple rules but fantastic replayability. Playing is great, but post-game discussion about what happened and what to do the next time is a uniquely fun experience.

1/22/2019

It's fine. The rules can be bent too much and its hard to prevent. Multiple plays with the same group would become too easy.

1/22/2019

Too stressful for some.

1/22/2019

[Pending to sleeve]

1/18/2019

Takes the right crowd, but it can be a fun brain-burner. Silent.

1/15/2019

Easy to learn, but hard to win, Hanabi is one of the best collaborative games out there. To win, players should collect cards of the same color in order. The trick is that they can see other players cards, but not their own. To solve the puzzle, players have to share clues, but communication is extremely limited, so only teams in perfect harmony will succeed.

1/12/2019

Easy to learn, but hard to win, Hanabi is one of the best collaborative games out there. To win, players should collect cards of the same color in order. The trick is that they can see other players cards, but not their own. To solve the puzzle, players have to share clues, but communication is extremely limited, so only teams in perfect harmony will succeed.

1/12/2019

A fun experience, but once you figure out the 'language' it loses its appeal. I would recommend it to others, as its a fun puzzle to solve, but now that I've solved the puzzle, I will likely never play again. Granted, it's low price point is worth the short shelf life.

1/11/2019

Such an elegant game design. The perfect solution to the alpha gamer problem, and as someone who plays with mathematicians and programmers, I still think it's quite difficult! Theme is tacked on but doesn't bother me.

1/11/2019

$10.25 07-Jan-15

1/10/2019

Intense, but simple game that scales wonderfully from 2-6. Our our favorite card games we can easily get out week after week.

1/10/2019

(10/16) 6. (9/17) Drop to 5. Just doesn't make it out very much whatsoever. Still very solid and pure, just other games I (and most) people would prefer to play generally.

12/22/2018