Lisboa

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (46 Total)

5
31
9
1
0

SOLD, February 2020. Listed on ConnCon auction, but pulled down and shipped to a fella in Maryland.

2/28/2020

It's fine. Lots of stuff going on, and you run a strategy through it all. It's FINE. Not that exciting - just fine.

1/28/2020

A lot of all over the place medium-heavy euro management, which frankly doesn't do much for me any more. The iconography is a mess, there are a bunch of things to do that amount to very little, and the decision:wrestling ratio is far too low.

1/26/2020

This game provides a very fascinating history lesson on Lisbon in the mid 1700s and all of the mechanics are tied to it's theme. There's a reason for each of the tiny details in this game from a thematic perspective. Also, the game provides so much depth, complexity, and freedom all from a very seemingly simple idea; play a card, draw a card. Definitely my favorite from Vital Lacerda! Update: Currently my favorite game of all-time! I'll have to eventually put all my thoughts on why here soon but in a nutshell there really is absolutely NOTHING I would change about this game!

1/25/2020

This game is fantastic. It's the most tightly-wound euro I've ever played. If you like puzzles and are willing to work hard, you need to play this. It's like you have a few levers you can pull, but you don't have any idea what they do. So you pick something (because why not) and then watch a complex chain reaction of things and try to figure out what you just did. You have some tiny inkling of what's going on, but you're not really sure. So you try another lever, and again some stuff you don't really understand happens. And somehow after you've pulled levers for a few hours, you see that you have a bunch of points. And then you develop a borderline-psychotic need to figure out how those points got there, and you play it again. And then the beauty of the game starts to unfold before your eyes as you start to see how these levers relate to each other. This game is a lot of work, but absolutely worth trying.

1/25/2020

The game is huge. The mechanic and flow are very straight and easy to understand, but the choices are overwhelming. Still confusing cracking though the surface of the game

10/18/2019

We very much enjoyed the game but it was a lot to digest. We had to play a half game to learn, then played another full game the next night. It’s pretty straight forward when you’ve got it figured out and has lots of wonderfully difficult decisions. The production quality and illustration is absolutely amazing as expected with the combination of people involved.

2/14/2019

We very much enjoyed the game but it was a lot to digest. We had to play a half game to learn, then played another full game the next night. It’s pretty straight forward when you’ve got it figured out and has lots of wonderfully difficult decisions. The production quality and illustration is absolutely amazing as expected with the combination of people involved.

2/14/2019

A lot of ideas lifted out of The Gallerist and reimagined in more sensical, structured ways. Following with favors is a marked improvement on kicked-out actions. Following requires deliberate planning, whereas kicked-out actions in The Gallerist often happen out of circumstance; benefitting your opponents through actions is now required rather than optional, even at 2p. This game is a sophisticated Swiss watch of mechanics working together seamlessly. Nothing in this game is extraneous. But it's the thematic integration that elevates this game above your run-of-the-mill Euro. The game tells its story so well, it slaughters any other resource-conversion game. If I'm going to spend 30-45 minutes teaching (or learning) a heavy Euro game, I'd really rather just break this out. It's so much better than almost every other game of its kind. Lacerda's best game.

1/23/2019

2017-09-09 - Enjoyed 1st play. Tentative 7.5 rating.

1/21/2019

I've only ever played it with two. The mechanism of 'following' is probably much more utilized in a higher player count so I'm looking forward to seeing how that changes the game. However, this one is so satisfying once you wrap your head around it. I almost wanted to give it extra points because it was so fun to learn. I've ordered the upgrade pack with my Escape Plan pledge to get some variability in the store positions. Multi-use cards are my jam.

1/16/2019

My rating will probably go up with more plays.

1/11/2019

mind-melting pleasure toucher

1/11/2019

In Germany

12/22/2018