Cyclades

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (36 Total)

0
12
21
3
0

7.5 / 2-5p Best 4-5 / 60-90m / 2009 Overall 120 / Strategy 93 / 2.83 (MUST GET TITANS, will play 2v2 / 3v3 but may be long, bidding miniatures game)

6/15/2019

Very solid euro/wargame hybrid. Great theme Homer's Iliad and Odyssey.

3/6/2019

A good enough area control game, with some light engine building. There may be a bit too much to keep track of and the ability to update islands felt a bit tacked on (beyond 2 of each upgrade being a win condition). The auction is interesting, though.

3/5/2019

Really cool low-luck game with a great theme and very high quality components. The creature cards are a little powerful.

2/16/2019

Wonderfully frustrating. I love seeing the board state change over the course of the round and watching my best-laid plans squandered by an overzealous Poseidon. My copy came with some broken pieces and Matagot was fantastic in replacing them quickly.

1/16/2019

Received in trade 5/17.

1/11/2019

Theme/Art: You can't go wrong with ancient Greece, the game looks amazing and the mechanics fit the theme (gaining the favour of gods and summoning mythical creatures). Production quality: Amazing monster miniatures and I love that every colour has different armies and ships. The quality of the armies and ships is not the best though, but it is good enough. Replayability: There are many ways to victory and the board changes with the number of players. Depth/Difficulty: It's not very hard to learn, it takes about 20 minutes to teach. However, there's a lot to consider each turn. I weight it 3/5. Strategy: Since you only get the favour of one god per turn you have to plan ahead. You can't build ships and attack at the same time. Luck: Although you have to plan ahead a lot of things, the right creature can pop up at random anytime and change the game completely. Cyclades takes 60-150 minutes to play, depending on the number of players and their familiarity with the game. All in all a great game and I'm looking forward to buy and play it with expansions.

1/10/2019

The secret to succeeding: don't play it was a wargame. It's not. It's a Euro. It's subject to Euro maneuvers.

1/10/2019

(10/17) 8. This game feels so strange to me. First of all, I'm always a sucker for a good auction mechanic and Cyclades is famous for its. The game play itself feels so sparse that I initially thought there wasn't much game there, but then I realized it's just extremely lean so a game that feels and looks so grandiose really just moves along at a tight clip. Plus, I love the theme.

12/22/2018