Barenpark

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (111 Total)

1
43
64
1
0

Spouse: Love

5/1/2020

For my (Dutch) review, please refer to:https://boardgamegeek.com/article/28292528

3/18/2020

This is a nice game. What it needed was a functional plastic insert. As it is, not something I will bring out often because of how long it takes to set up and take down.

2/14/2020

Pretty delightful! Vastly better than other light tile-laying games (stuff like Quadropolis or even the venerable Carcassonne)--approachable and yet with some emphasis on forethought and player competition.

1/26/2020

Expansions: - The Bad News Bears Satisfying tile placement game. Very simple rules, but there's room for strategy (person I was playing with stole all the bathroom tiles which prevented my plans of placing my last polar bear house). I recommend that you play with the "expert achievements" right off the bat as they're actually quite simple, but add some extra strategy in.

1/25/2020

Best: 4 Time: 30-45 Min Weight: 1.69

12/20/2019

The mostly static setup makes this game fun for a couple plays, but the lack of variance keeps this from longerterm enjoyment for me.

12/11/2019

Scales really well 2-4 players. One of my favorite games to bring out for newer gamers.

11/3/2019

Multi-race to get all the good stuff. Fairly repetitive but it's short. A nice family puzzle.

10/25/2019

1.29.18 Quick tile laying family game where there is very little player interaction or need to look up from your player board. Cover over an area with a symbol and take a tile matching that symbol from the pool. Keep doing this until a player has covered four boards completely. Bonuses for completing a board and for fulfilling certain public goals. I don't need to play it again but it'd make a great one to pull out with non-gamers.

10/18/2019

Not a bad game, but it wouldn't make it onto my favorites list.

10/18/2019

Set up is a bit of a bear (zing), but gameplay is fun and simple. An intriguing tetris-like puzzle! Tough choices to be made between obtaining big-point exhibits and/or filling in obscure corners.

5/14/2019

http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/barenpark-2017/ http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/barenpark-2017-accessibility-teardown/

3/28/2019

A fun, light, puzzly game. It’s fast and enjoyable with just enough decisions to keep us attentive. The production quality & illustrations are great.

2/14/2019

Barenpark, despite being yet another poly-omino game in the wake of Patchwork, manages to set itself apart by introducing new pieces to the mold. Most importantly the addition of objectives and statues establish the game as a series of races. Properly prioritizing these races along with the smooth building of your park is key. Since the objectives, statues, and tiles themselves each offer points, players must assess which to prioritize each turn. Additionally, the boards themselves grant players access to new tiles, which injects planning into this racing element. Choosing to place a tile inefficiently, to secure a key tile or objective, must be weighed against the risk on not completing the tile as quickly. This give and take is the heart of Barenpark. The various objectives provide a decent deal of replayability. I wish there were ways to lay multiple tiles on a turn to create the possibility of swingy combos, but as it stands it is still quite fun, lightning quick, and highly recommended lighter-fare.

1/11/2019

In Germany

12/22/2018