Colossal Arena

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (34 Total)

0
2
29
1
2

Another Knizia game where the theme is loosely applied to the game. That being said, it is also typical Knizia in that it is a good game. You're placing bets and then trying to secure those cards that you bet on so they stay until the end of the game. Earlier bets provide more VPs than bets placed later in the game (risk vs reward). Each creature has a special "power" associated with it, in the form of card playing. Very simple turns (play a card, draw up to a hand of seven), but enough decision-making to make it interesting.

4/1/2020

I will get the new updated silver line of this one after it comes out.

4/1/2020

i like the play of this. not too long, some hard calls and a pretty cool theme.

3/4/2020

Good game. A Reinier Knizia 8 of 10 game... from a fan.

1/28/2020

Surprised by how simple and fun this game is. It has the classic Knizia angst of "do I have to play a card?" As a plus, your hand of cards can (almost) never be universally useless.

1/26/2020

This game has a lot of tension. Keeping your bets alive is tricky, and requires correctly anticipating the actions of the other players. The monster special abilities add complexity without improving the game any, but are easily left out, as they feel very tacked on anyway.

1/25/2020

A winner with the kids is a winner with me.

1/10/2020

Nice game, but some of the creatures powers are unbalanced.

1/4/2020

JV

1/2/2020

I play 'Loco' quite a bit. I like the added fun of Colossal Arena. Very nice filler and even better now that it comes in an appropriately sized box.

10/25/2019

Given to Robert

6/19/2019

...

5/15/2019

Own as Collossal Arena, would like the other version, I think.

3/8/2019

I think it's an ok game (hence the rating). I liked the way the cards were played but the theme was not to my liking at all.

1/21/2019

Fun quick game, more light and some luck involved!

1/9/2019

(2/16) 8. (10/17) Drop to 6. Haven't played this in so long, but I have a feeling that I'd love it if I did again. Very interesting betting mechanic and I LOVE a solid Knizia.

12/22/2018