Fresco

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (70 Total)

0
26
38
5
0

Nice game with adjustable complexity. I think the base game works well as a gateway game, but can add in additional game elements with the included 3 expansion modules.

5/10/2020

Nice medium-weight Euro with a pleasing theme for families. Has additional rules and components to add for more gaming goodness. Involves acquiring materials (paint, in this case) and converting that material into VPs. There is a big advantage to going earlier in turn order, but a drawback in that it may cause you to lose painters (your workers) and will also cost you more to buy paint at the market.Although the box is much larger than it should be, the game board is pleasing to look at, and players expose the cathedral fresco as the game progresses, which is a nice feature.

4/1/2020

Weight: 2.63 / 5

3/18/2020

Rating bases on first play, which was a lot of fun with 3 players. We played the base game, next time we'll include some of the expansions.

3/18/2020

Sometimes a clean and rather uninspired Euro just bores me, and sometimes it is a pleasant surprise like Fresco. Don't ask me to explain or predict. By all means, jump into the full game with all expansions right away. The base game I likely wouldn't waste my time with. All in, it's nice and it moves at a good clip. As a note, I am sick and tired of rulebooks that refuse to consolidate themselves. In one day I played Through the Ages (with its stupid programmed instruction) and Fresco, the latter of which buries the 2-player rules in the expansion rules... and the expansion rules modify setup considerably... it was Dumb.

1/26/2020

Play with all of the expansion modules. Don't waste time with the "basic" game. Not a bad play... seems very balanced with a theme that is interesting. Underlying it all is a math puzzle whereby one must estimate the expected returns for a number of interesting options. All in all, an enjoyable experience.

1/10/2020

Blind selection worker placement is enjoyable and produces conflicts. I like how the person who is currently in last place chooses "wake up time" first which can cause a waterfall affect on other players and helps prevent a runaway leader problem.

1/7/2020

Painting a ceiling by acquiring paint from a market, mixing it and then going painting. When you choose to "get up" dictates what you pay for paint, but also what paint might be available as the opponents up earlier get to take paint first. It also dictates who paints a section first and you may find that what you were going to paint is already claimed. Has an interesting turn order mechanism, where when you would score points to tie with an opponent you actually place on the space ahead or behind. Whoever is behind on points gets to choose when they get up the next round.

1/3/2020

One of our favourite family games. Simple, but has plenty of decisions. Add the expansions for a meatier game. INCLUDED: Fresco: Expansion Modules 4, 5, 6, 7

10/25/2019

Gameplay was meh and the wife did not like it. Sold after two plays.

8/31/2019

First game tonight. Quietly surprised by the mechanics as the theme didn't have much appeal to me. However, with what appears to be simple rules (or very well explained rules by Gary)and tough decisions, I could easily see this becoming one of my favourite games to play.

4/12/2019

http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/fresco-2010/ https://meeplelikeus.co.uk/fresco-2010-accessibility-teardown/

3/28/2019

Great game, the theme is awesome and fits the game very well. The expansion is pretty hit-or-miss. The glaziers is great and makes the game much more challenging and heavy. I will definitely include it when playing with other gamers. The gold expansion is okay. Varying the market is nice but I don't feel like they change your decisions much. You are already going to move the bishop towards your painting, and just use the gold tile if you can. The wishing well is awful and I don't see myself playing with it again.

2/16/2019

An enjoyable game with a fun theme. The idea of choosing when to get up in the morning & it affecting your mood is really poignant. Overall it’s a little too easy for our tastes but is good for nights when we’re tired. We aren’t a big fan of the dummy player—though this one isn’t too bad.

2/16/2019

A bunch of master painters compete to impress the bishop by repainting the ceiling of a cathedral. I've only played the basic game with 2 players. I expect adding the expansions and more players would improve the game's rating.

1/22/2019

(8/16) 7. (10/17) Drop to 6. Really like the theme and the color blend mechanic. Also the "early to rise" turn order. Haven't played it in a while, but did get myself the Big Box version so eager to break that out.

12/22/2018