Munchkin

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (96 Total)

1
3
34
37
20

@RR

6/16/2019

w/ minis, board, various promos

6/15/2019

is good for a group of four people who know how to play it. I felt like every time I played it, i had to teach it to at least one person, so it took forever. But this was a gateway game for me into the hobby.

5/28/2019

FULLY SLEEVED 168 x Mayday sleeve size: Standard USA Card - Purple: Standard (MDG-7040, 100/pack) - (56 x 87mm)

5/15/2019

My rating makes this sound meaner than I intend it to be. I'd be fine with never playing it again, but I owe it for getting me into the hobby side of board games. Played a ton of it in college, had fun, and would never judge anyone else for doing the same.

5/13/2019

I own the base Munchkin plus some expansions, as well as The Good, The Bad, and The Munchkin with an expansion. I'm not keeping track of each set independently since it all gets mixed together during play.

4/29/2019

Played it once with my friends and it was soo boooring. At first everyone had a blast because we laughed a lot about the cards (names, descriptions, pictures). But thats where it ended. After nearly one hour of play and everyone but one player (who was level 2) still (or again) being level 1 we decided to stop and play something else. This will probably never hit the table again. Can't recommend this one for the game. If you just want to read the cards this is a great one, but if you want to play look somewhere else.

4/23/2019

Played it once with my friends and it was soo boooring. At first everyone had a blast because we laughed a lot about the cards (names, descriptions, pictures). But thats where it ended. After nearly one hour of play and everyone but one player (who was level 2) still (or again) being level 1 we decided to stop and play something else. This will probably never hit the table again. Can't recommend this one for the game. If you just want to read the cards this is a great one, but if you want to play look somewhere else.

4/23/2019

Fine game, actually kinda enjoy the gotcha moments, though it feels like a slog at the end with everyone against the one at level 9

3/6/2019

Too much take that for nearly anyone I play with.

3/6/2019

Unlike most board game fans, I am fine with Munchkin. It is a good game, but only if the players are in the right mood or mind set. The game only really breaks down when players are trying to win. If a group is going into the game with a goal of hurting each other as much as possible instead of trying to be the winner, the game can be funny. Having said that, the humor on the cards is light-hearted, it is not side splittingly funny.

3/5/2019

Jimmy owns

3/1/2019

I guess with the right group it is supposed to be fun? It always seems to cascade into long, tedious, and boring games despite the amount of backstabbing and teaming up on other players that goes on.

2/27/2019

Played someone else's copy years ago. Sold mine at SaltCon 2018 new in shrink since it sat on my shelf for years.

1/29/2019

3-6, 90m

1/25/2019

Very cool game. Almost everyone that plays it with us enjoys it.

1/24/2019

Got old quick, while I liked the potential I could never get a core group of people to play.

1/23/2019

Fun and funny at the start then the games start feeling long and drawn out, especially with more players

1/22/2019

by klz

I'd like it much more if it could be played in an hour, but teaching excited people makes it tolerable. True across the entire line.

1/22/2019

Munchkin can be enjoyable for a bit, especially when combined with the various games of different themes, but ultimately, once you've seen all the jokes, the game is just a pile of bland and kingmaking.

1/21/2019

Meh. Funny to play once, if you are familiar with D&D or similar RPGs.

1/21/2019

Always enjoy, better with more players :)

1/18/2019

The long end-game breaks this game, turning it from "not my thing" to "oh god are we really still doing this" Plus it doesn't help that none of the jokes are remotely funny.

1/11/2019

Well-meaning Christmas Gift. I adore the person who gave it to me. Not so much the game.

1/10/2019

n

1/9/2019

Must be played with 3 players.

12/29/2018

If Munchkin could just make the game end instead of it dragging on forever once someone hits level 9 I would like it so much more because I like most of the mechanics and the art. But when a game that should be 30 minutes starts to break an hour, it wears on me fast.

12/24/2018

Thought it was bad, was way worse...

12/22/2018

Plus a bunch of expansions not shown here

12/17/2018