Munchkin

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (225 Total)

3
15
91
79
31

The game is very easy to teach and pretty fun to play, but it often turns into a slow slugfest for whoever reaches the door of the 10th dungeon first, leaving the second person to stroll on in and take the win.

4/29/2020

Again depends on group, sometimes seen as a gateway game but I think the theme makes it a little bit harder for people to grasp. Can be fun but we normally go for something else

4/11/2020

It would really have to be a special circumstance to get me to play Munchkin. Or maybe a special deck or something with some new jokes, but the game wears out its welcome and isn't all that fun to begin with. Open the box, read the funny cards, and put the game away. It works just fine like that. I don't know, playing it once is okay too I guess.

4/1/2020

This game is fun but the rules are a mess. They should've fixed this by now...

3/24/2020

pretty good game.... great laugh.. bugger all in the box for the price though.

3/4/2020

Easy to teach and fun for to play as a family.

2/26/2020

by paka

Oh well. At least its crossed off. With bunch of people with D&D background its quite funny, at least few times I think.

2/25/2020

For a while this was easily a top 10 game for me. I enjoyed busting down the door fighting the monster, and grabbing the loot. This game was interesting to me and I love how simple it is to play. I mean we got to the point we would play this game EVERY chance we got. It got to the point that I would try to save all of my good cards for level 10. Why do you ask? Because That's the level everyone pulls out all of their baddies on. Then after countless times of play I realized... THERE IS ONLY ONE STRATEGY!! EVERYONE saves ALL their good cards till that last level and then its an aftermath into which usually the next person to reach level 10 ends up winning. Now, I'm not saying this is a bad game, I'm just saying for the amount of times we played it we eventually broke the game. Which is why I bought an expansion to this game to see if it changes this game up someway.

1/31/2020

3-6 1-2 Hours

1/25/2020

My gateway into modern board gaming. I still think it gets a bad rap because people don't understand proper endgame strategy.

12/20/2019

funny card game for RPG'rs, but seems overly long to finish.

12/20/2019

12/20/2019

Location: Closet

12/3/2019

by 3MBG

Too long for what it is, tired humour, bad game play. It's popular continues to surprise me as it's barely a game

10/29/2019

Obtained in a Math Trade. It's as bad as I remember.

10/25/2019

by 3z

Dreadful game. This beeing one of the first "non-monopoly"-games we tried is one of the main reasons why it took so many years for me to discover that board games can be awesome.

10/4/2019

Really fun if you have any familiarity with RPGs, especially D&D. Plays quickly, and is quite fun. May not have a much replay value as monsters and items become repetitive after a while.

8/31/2019

Game started rocky, played okay for a couple of rounds and then overstayed its welcome by about an hour and half. Nothing really happens in the first 1-2 rounds, then a couple of people seem to be able to get lucky and advance. Then it just devolves into making sure they do not win. Eventually we just stopped trying to slow down the leaders to end the game.

6/26/2019

@RR

6/16/2019

w/ minis, board, various promos

6/15/2019

is good for a group of four people who know how to play it. I felt like every time I played it, i had to teach it to at least one person, so it took forever. But this was a gateway game for me into the hobby.

5/28/2019

FULLY SLEEVED 168 x Mayday sleeve size: Standard USA Card - Purple: Standard (MDG-7040, 100/pack) - (56 x 87mm)

5/15/2019

My rating makes this sound meaner than I intend it to be. I'd be fine with never playing it again, but I owe it for getting me into the hobby side of board games. Played a ton of it in college, had fun, and would never judge anyone else for doing the same.

5/13/2019

I own the base Munchkin plus some expansions, as well as The Good, The Bad, and The Munchkin with an expansion. I'm not keeping track of each set independently since it all gets mixed together during play.

4/29/2019

Played it once with my friends and it was soo boooring. At first everyone had a blast because we laughed a lot about the cards (names, descriptions, pictures). But thats where it ended. After nearly one hour of play and everyone but one player (who was level 2) still (or again) being level 1 we decided to stop and play something else. This will probably never hit the table again. Can't recommend this one for the game. If you just want to read the cards this is a great one, but if you want to play look somewhere else.

4/23/2019

Played it once with my friends and it was soo boooring. At first everyone had a blast because we laughed a lot about the cards (names, descriptions, pictures). But thats where it ended. After nearly one hour of play and everyone but one player (who was level 2) still (or again) being level 1 we decided to stop and play something else. This will probably never hit the table again. Can't recommend this one for the game. If you just want to read the cards this is a great one, but if you want to play look somewhere else.

4/23/2019

Fine game, actually kinda enjoy the gotcha moments, though it feels like a slog at the end with everyone against the one at level 9

3/6/2019

Too much take that for nearly anyone I play with.

3/6/2019

Unlike most board game fans, I am fine with Munchkin. It is a good game, but only if the players are in the right mood or mind set. The game only really breaks down when players are trying to win. If a group is going into the game with a goal of hurting each other as much as possible instead of trying to be the winner, the game can be funny. Having said that, the humor on the cards is light-hearted, it is not side splittingly funny.

3/5/2019

Jimmy owns

3/1/2019

I guess with the right group it is supposed to be fun? It always seems to cascade into long, tedious, and boring games despite the amount of backstabbing and teaming up on other players that goes on.

2/27/2019

Played someone else's copy years ago. Sold mine at SaltCon 2018 new in shrink since it sat on my shelf for years.

1/29/2019

3-6, 90m

1/25/2019

Very cool game. Almost everyone that plays it with us enjoys it.

1/24/2019

Got old quick, while I liked the potential I could never get a core group of people to play.

1/23/2019

Fun and funny at the start then the games start feeling long and drawn out, especially with more players

1/22/2019

by klz

I'd like it much more if it could be played in an hour, but teaching excited people makes it tolerable. True across the entire line.

1/22/2019

Munchkin can be enjoyable for a bit, especially when combined with the various games of different themes, but ultimately, once you've seen all the jokes, the game is just a pile of bland and kingmaking.

1/21/2019

Meh. Funny to play once, if you are familiar with D&D or similar RPGs.

1/21/2019

Always enjoy, better with more players :)

1/18/2019

The long end-game breaks this game, turning it from "not my thing" to "oh god are we really still doing this" Plus it doesn't help that none of the jokes are remotely funny.

1/11/2019

Well-meaning Christmas Gift. I adore the person who gave it to me. Not so much the game.

1/10/2019

n

1/9/2019

Must be played with 3 players.

12/29/2018

If Munchkin could just make the game end instead of it dragging on forever once someone hits level 9 I would like it so much more because I like most of the mechanics and the art. But when a game that should be 30 minutes starts to break an hour, it wears on me fast.

12/24/2018

Thought it was bad, was way worse...

12/22/2018

Plus a bunch of expansions not shown here

12/17/2018