Russian Railroads

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (40 Total)

2
16
19
2
1

One of the best worker placement games at the moment.

11/11/2019

[GAUDET]

10/25/2019

This game seems to have some promise, however my one play of this was in a loud bar. Other customers were literally yelling at each other. One of the other players in this game insisted on trying to be louder while speaking with a Russian accent and attempting to be funny (it wasn't working). The rules were fairly loosely explained (by the half-drunk loud "funny" guy, so I was lost for at least the first half of the game. I suppose I would give this game another chance.

10/18/2019

2-4 Players 90-120 Minutes

9/30/2019

If I could get this to the table all the time I would. Probably my favorite game that I own.

6/26/2019

Amazing euro worker placement engine building game, with enough player interaction to keep me interested. Many viable strategies.

3/6/2019

[b] :STAR: COMPLETE RATING: [/b] [c] [b]SCORE CRITERIA WEIGHTING ------- STAR RATING SCALE -------[/b] (8.0) FUN (x15): BORING :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar: REALLY FUN (7.0) GAMEPLAY (x5): NO DEPTH :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar::nostar: LOT OF DEPTH (FOR THE WEIGHT) (7.0) GAME FLOW (x5): FIDDLY :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar::nostar: SILKY SMOOTH (7.0) DOWNTIMES (x2): LOT OF :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar::nostar: ZERO (10.0) RANDOMNESS (x2): PURE LUCK :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star: PURE SKILLS (7.0) MECHANICS (x2): BORING :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar::nostar: INTERESTING / INNOVATIVE (8.0) REPLAYABILITY (x5): ZERO :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar: INFINITE (10.0) SCALABILITY (x3): POOR :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star: GREAT AT ALL PLAYER COUNTS (7.0) PORTABILITY (x1): BULKY :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar::nostar: SUPER EASY TO PLAY ANYWHERE (10.0) THEME (x1): UNATTRACTIVE :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star: ATTRACTIVE (8.0) AESTHETICS (x1): UGLY :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar: GORGEOUS (8.0) COMPONENTS (x1): LOW QUALITY :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar: HIGH QUALITY (8.0) VALUE (x2): TOO EXPENSIVE :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar: REALLY CHEAP(LOW COST FOR WHAT WE GET) (8.0) SETUP TIME (x2): LONG :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar: ZERO (8.0) GAME LENGTH (x2): TOO SHORT/LONG :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar: JUST PERFECT (9.0) RULES COMPLEXITY (x1): COMPLEX :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar: SIMPLE [/c] [b]TOTAL =398/50 =7.96[/b] :thumbsup: [b]POSITIVE POINTS:[/b] ++ Train theme ++ Scales well, plays good at all player counts. ++ Lots of different strategies to explore, especially with expansions. :thumbsdown: [b]NEGATIVE POINTS:[/b] -- Nothing new about the worker placement mechanic. --

3/2/2019

Super thinking and really fun game with lots of variable options for scoring victory points. The production quality and illustrations were top-notch.

2/14/2019

Super thinking and really fun game with lots of variable options for scoring victory points. The production quality and illustrations were top-notch.

2/14/2019

Somewhat fiddly for my tastes, but a good game.

1/29/2019

A standard worker placement point-accumulation machine. Nothing special or groundbreaking here, but it is satisfying to see your points crescendo into 100-150 points in the last round or two. Does get a bit samey after a few plays. The expansions add variability to an extent, but I have philosophical problems with expansions that make the game. The only reason I have them is because I received them as a bundle in a trade. Not remotely a train game, which is odd considering the designers' 18xx pedigree. So, if you like train games and are expecting a train game, you will be sorely disappointed. Trade Condition Notes: Some minor shelf wear on the box, otherwise excellent

1/23/2019

I liked the couple of plays well enough. A build-your-engine game that takes about 2 hrs to play.

1/21/2019

This is one giant bottleneck puzzle. Identifying these bottlenecks in advance and capitalizing on those of your opponents is crucial. There is a constant struggle to keep the low scoring tracks pushing forward, to accommodate the higher scoring tracks, but without pushing your other tracks forward to capitalize on points you'll get left in the dust. The round end scoring is tedious, but it forces players to develop both long and short term strategies, so the game is less about high return on investment as it is about making several micro improvements every turn. The base game seems to be solvable, at least to a certain extent, but the German Railroads expansion blows that concern to smithereens. Also the length is perfectly calibrated for this game, and magnifies everything this game has going for it.

1/11/2019

Been looking at this one for a while and actually just bought in a whim at a board game shop in Austin, TX called Wonko's Toys and Games. I think I'm the "euro" guy in my group (which is fine by me!) and it's up to me to get these good games to the table.

1/10/2019

(4/17) 7. A game I just instantly and totally GOT my first time playing. I don't rate it more highly because I'm really, really curious about how it'd hold up to repeated plays. (10/17) 7. A game that I just understood so completely the first time I played, need to play it again!

12/22/2018

Nice worker placement that need the german exp to really shine!

12/22/2018