Ghost Stories

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (101 Total)

2
32
58
5
2

As of right now, I'm very much enjoying this game and how badly it is beating the crap out of Me and my group. I think over time, this could suffer as we get better and consistently can beat it. Luckily it has many difficulty levels.It can suffer from one person leading the group. However, it still remains fun, and I enforce the fact that it is each individual players decision when it is there turn what happens, same as Pandemic. That way we don't have the problem as much as we could, but it also might be why we keep losing.

4/1/2020

Given to Kurt & Meg, March 2014.

2/28/2020

by paka

Beautiful game. Good theme. Tough play. Best pure co-op for me. I should probably get the White Moon expansionUPDATE. While I still remember the game fondly, I can't really pick it over newer and more engaging co-ops like Gears of War or Robinson. Its still a good game, but not the best in the co-op bunch anymore. UPDATE2. Another very-very good contender to this is Sentinels of the Multiverse.

2/25/2020

You know what's fun about cooperative games? Working together to solve a puzzle while feeling a little pressure. You know what's not fun? Losing every time while wading through busy art and "thematic" jargon.

2/15/2020

2-player rules are too fiddly. It is much better to control all 4 monks. I am lukewarm on it while my wife hated it because of the game constantly beating down on you.

2/14/2020

amazing co-op game! SUPER hard. Instantly from the beginning you are thrown into the mess of the game and the tension starts early, and it is definitely a game that I don't win often, but it doesn't keep me from playing the game. I enjoy working through the problems and instantly want to run it back as soon as its over. Need to paint these minis

1/31/2020

It might be best solo. This is probably the best solo game I've ever played, though; the difficulty is harsh at first, but soon enough you relish the (awesome) fact that the designers gave you multiple difficulties. The learning curve shows you there's a cool game under the hood. I'd still like to try it more with others, though. [EDIT] Solo games have come a long way in recent years, and Ghost Stories is juuuust too complex for its own good.

1/26/2020

Powerful, difficult cooperative gaming experience. We lose about half the time - still! But every game feels winnable, and the strategic challenge of getting the table to work together to overcome the odds keeps us coming back time after time. I love the art of this game and the simplicity of the play, yet I've never considered turning down a game of it. No matter how often I lose to this game, I want to come back for more!

1/24/2020

People's Choice Top 100 2012 #55 Tom Vasel's Top 100 2012 #22

1/20/2020

My favorite Co-op. The challenge of this game keeps me coming back.

1/11/2020

If I want to play Arkham Horror, I'll just play Arkham Horror. I feel that Ghost Stories is simply a miserable copycat of Arkham Horror. UPDATE: I'm going to give this another shot. Perhaps I have been too closed minded about it. Thanks to Stephen Conway for encouraging me to giving this another chance (or another several chances). :)

1/10/2020

Nice and easy to explain cooperative game. It's quite fast also!

1/4/2020

Played a few times but wife does not enjoy co-op games

1/4/2020

Crazy hard to win, but love it. It makes me angry when I lose, but in a way that makes me want to play it again.

1/1/2020

With [thing=47616][/thing] and engraved dice with dice bag.

10/20/2019

Phenomenal, punishing co-op. Brutally difficult but intensely rewarding. I think this is Antoine Bauza's best design, and that's a really impressive thing.

5/13/2019

Secret Santa gift from LBGG from too many years ago. Finally sat down and went through the rules - Wow !

4/12/2019

Great co-op game. I actually like this significantly more than Pandemic. The variant for 2/3 players feels ham-fisted. I prefer to just play 2 ninjas each, or cooperatively play a 4th.

2/16/2019

Great co-op game. Very difficult and unforgiving. Will play again. Love me some Antoine Bauza.

2/14/2019

Extremely difficult game of fighting off and invasion of ghosts in a mystical Chinese village. Fun, but the difficulty and fiddly, easy to forget rules are a little overwhelming.

1/22/2019

very hard game but cool coop, almost won!

1/22/2019

Ok game. I am not much for co-op play. It kinda feels like Arkham Horror lite. That's not a bad thing but it loses out the immersive flavour that is AH! Not much of a narrative and the theme sort of falls flat.

1/21/2019

Maybe I need to play again, but I didn't feel like my decisions had that much influence over whether we won or lost. If you play poorly you'll almost certainly lose, but I'm not sure playing well will be rewarded more often than not. But again, I probably need to play again to make sure that's true.

1/11/2019

A puzzly co-op game that just did not catch my interest. The rulebook isn't great and the game just seems way too difficult. I struggled to find a reason to want to play this again.

12/24/2018

Overpowered monks beat the crap out of ghosts to get their behinds handed to them in the end. I really like these hard games.

12/22/2018

Drawn out and somewhat repetitive.

12/19/2018