Secret Hitler

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (121 Total)

12
48
46
10
5

Print and Play version

1/28/2020

When I learned of its very close similarity to The Resistance, I was skeptical--how could it improve on a masterwork? Well, maybe you can--it's at least interestingly different. The small amount of randomness leads to interesting dynamics, and the tempo introduced by the Fascism track is very cool. Definitely worthy, and given what I paid for it (no moneys) I am extremely glad I gave it a try. [EDIT] The Hitler player has no incentive to do anything other than play as a liberal, which turns the game into even more of a crap shoot. Too random, especially when compared to the genius that is The Resistance.

1/26/2020

I come from a poker background so I'm naturally a social deduction gamer. Mafia/Werewolf was my favorite game to play before I came into the hobby. I discovered The Resistance early on and I felt it was what you would play when you didn't have enough people to play Mafia/Werewolf. I didn't like how fast the game moved where you were left guessing too much at the end. With Secret Hitler there's much more building into the climax and I would argue a greater climax than The Resistance ever gives. The tension is much tighter in Secret Hitler and the end explosion so much more satisfying than The Resistance. I think this game gives players way more interaction and opportunities to figure out or deceive. The Resistance deals with facts and logical deduction whereas Secret Hitler deals with probabilities and MUCH MORE actual "reading" of people in my opinion. Like a lot of games in this genre I find that people that don't like it simply aren't very good at it. If the idea of having a spotlight on you makes you feel heavy anxiety then, yeah, you probably won't like this game. Also, the theme could be anything and I'd argue that it probably should've been something different simply because there seem to be a good amount of people that think this game is only popular because it's trying to be "edgy" or something. I disagree with that sentiment completely because after well over 50 plays now it is still BY FAR me and my wife's favorite social deduction game of all time! The theme has no effect on why we love this game so much. If it bothers you I'd recommend printing out the Star Wars or Harry Potter versions people have made in the community. *Important to note, however, we play with secret voting which to me is an absolute MUST.

1/25/2020

Fun game. Albeit it can go on a bit long, and be overwhelmed by the boisterous members of your group. But sometimes that also brings the intrigue... "Why are they so quiet/pushy"? I am not a fan of the Hitler theme. It just seems to be a tasteless choice to even give that historical figure even the slightest recognition in a positive light. ie people "wanting" to be the secret Hitler etc. idk, it just seems weird. The art is blah. Maybe they were going for something to represent the era. I don't know. It just didn't do anything for me. So for those that hate the Werewolf games. This might be the one for you. I have no burning desire to own it. I'll play it anytime. It is definitely fun enough if you have a big enough crowd.

1/25/2020

Played it once at a game store. Would like to get this to replace a few of our party games that have gotten tired.

1/24/2020

9 is the perfect number of players, as there are 4 fascists and 5 liberals, so the fascist have a solid chance to pull off there evil agenda. Great party game. Love playing the roles and seeing how my friends rise to the challenge June 2017 $35

12/14/2019

This is probably my current favorite hidden role game. the game play is simple and it doesn't have a heavy or repeating night phase. The theme of stopping the rise of Fascist Germany is fun and I really enjoy the lettering and board designs.

12/3/2019

Played this a bunch on TTS. Not quite the same because there's only voice chat, so it's tough to read facial expressions and body language, but it's still good and tense.

11/13/2019

by 3MBG

Fine filler game. Best with a good size group. Have no idea why this is so popular on Tabletop simulator as it's all about reading people.

10/29/2019

I'd rather play any of the Resistance games instead.

10/18/2019

Pretty good deduction game, I still would probably play The Resistance over this. I'm not a huge fan of how sometimes you are forced to play a tile that you don't want to. It pulls away from the deduction part of the game. There is always a chance that they might be doing bad things but are the good guy. It was entertaining though, no other game allows you to repeatedly accuse your friends of being a fascist.

8/14/2019

Tweaked "The Resistance". Love it.

8/5/2019

I like the shifting dynamics, but dislike the theme. Could be an 8 with a different theme. I may do a print and play of Secret Voldemort at some point.

6/26/2019

The best social deduction game I've played. I think there's a tiny bit of room to perfect the genre still

5/15/2019

A okay attempt at Resistence 2.0. Brilliant production. Bit too random.

5/13/2019

One of the best social deduction games I've played. More fun than The Resistance.

4/29/2019

This game is the perfect party game in my opinion. I could write a short essay on this game so I'll leave it at that

3/8/2019

Not as good as Avalon. I don't feel like I get enough info about other players. It makes the game easier for Nazis. Sure, a better player can probably deal with it, but I am not that player and social deduction games are dependent on having a large group, so adding more barriers to entry for players (get gud or gtfo) does not seem like a good idea. Also, the random policies don't work for me. Sure they create chaos for the betrayers to hide in, but I like my social deduction deterministic.

3/5/2019

W/ Promo: The Trump Pack We haven't played this in a while and personally, I think I'm over Secret Hitler but it's amazing how much we played this early on. I think the salty-ness of some of the tabletalk is what has turned me off of playing SH over other hidden role games.

1/25/2019

Print and Play Version - Better than resistance/avalon in my opinion

1/22/2019

My favorite deduction game. Although the theme can be offensive for some people, if you get past that, it is a fun and intense game from beginning to the end.

1/21/2019

This game addresses several issues that plague the social deduction genre. There is no player elimination (for the most part), there is no need for a facilitator, and there are no special role powers to worry about. Instead, Secret Hitler utilizes a policy deck to muddy the waters. These semi-secret policies enable fascists to paint themselves liberal, while a bad draw can make even a staunch liberal appear like a fascist sympathizer. Also, passing fascist policies can actually aid the liberals, so long as the President is liberal. This helps balance the importance of the Chancellor and President in the later game, and just makes the game that much harder to untangle. I'm not a huge fan of hidden roles, but I will always suggest this over any of the other social deduction games.

1/11/2019

This looks amazing! It looks like a great blend of The Resistance and Two Rooms and a Boom and I see this potentially replacing The Resistance in my collection. April can't come fast enough! We have the P&P and believe that we will play this until the 'official' copy arrives!

1/10/2019

Great social deduction game. We play it a lot with the print and play version.

1/10/2019

PnP

1/10/2019

Fantasy Flight Sleeved.

1/9/2019

A decent hidden role game, but it just falls short for me. I'd rather play Burke's Gambit or the Resistance over this any day.

12/24/2018

(10/17) 8. Didn't think there'd be another team based social deduction game that would come out that I'd love, but this one works really well. Very simple to understand but with lots of bluffing and deduction. In a way, similar to a cross between Resistance and Dark Moon.

12/22/2018