Tikal

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (72 Total)

0
30
34
5
3

I've played it on SBW, I'd like to play the tile auction rules as well sometime. I like this game, it feels like I'm actually controlling an expedition into the rain forest looking for artifacts and dig sites.There is a downtime issue in the RL game. This disappears on the SBW.The auction variant has been played by me now IRL Downtime in the game is still an issue, but the auction variant does make the game quite fun still. I really like this game, just wish it didn't take so long to play.

4/1/2020

2-4 players, 90 minutes, light medium, action pointsPlayable both with 2, 3 or 4 players. Have played three 2-players games, which were fun and two out of three were anyone's game right to the end, which I like best. Also played two 3-player gamea, which also was a lot of fun as there is more interaction. The game also has advanced rules for more experienced players, which I consider a bonus. One of our favorites, Will play again for sure.

3/18/2020

by paka

After reading the rules I just needed to have it. Using set amount of points for diffrent actions, which cost diffrent amount of points. Ohyes. Played one game, which started friendly to learn it, but quickly started to go the screw other one style. Good stuff...

2/25/2020

It looks so neat on the table but...I always end games bored and tired.

2/15/2020

Some fun--well designed, but I found the movement a bit tedious and dry. It's also too long for what it is.

1/26/2020

MM Ding and Dent No Damage - $25.00

1/12/2020

Simple and enjoyable with moments of excruciatingly-difficult decision making. The action-point mechanic is a brilliant one.

1/10/2020

I like that the board is expanded on every action and precise knowledge of when scoring rounds will take place is unknown. This makes decisions on when and where to put people more challenging.

1/7/2020

it can be a torture, with players prone to AP

1/4/2020

Haven't played for a while but enjoy it when I do play. Knowing when to fight over towers seems to be the biggest issue I'll have in this game, I don't yet know when it's worth spending my points there and when it's best to just let the other person have the tower. 2008-08-13 Control of the towers is important as is when to cap them. I may have figured it out if my game tonight was any indication. The treasure pieces can be quite important as well.

1/3/2020

I wanted to like this, but it's really convoluted and just...not very Kramery. I'll stick to Torres or even Tikal II.

12/20/2019

Fantastic as a 2-player game. Prone to analysis-paralysis with too many players. Beautiful components.

10/25/2019

TRADED: 2018 (Math Trade for Peak Oil) RECEIVED: 2015

10/18/2019

Have only played a "learning" game so far with 3 players total. This game went by MUCH faster than I thought it would (maybe an hour?), especially for a learning game. I made some tactical errors (thanks for letting me build up a temple to 10 for you to steal from me, Scott!) and never really had a legitimate chance at any of the treasures. Will play again and expect my rating to go up.

10/18/2019

Clever action point game that suffers a bit from over-length and downtime issues.  Also, the min maxing of points for the end game can be a beast for people with AP issues.

6/26/2019

2-4 players (best 4) 90 minutes

2/18/2019

A really enjoyable, straight-forward game, with good decisions. We didn’t find it to be nearly as AP-prone as people suggest. We got the Super Meeple (French) edition with the resin temples: it’s absolutely beautiful.

2/14/2019

A really enjoyable, straight-forward game, with good decisions. We didn’t find it to be nearly as AP-prone as people suggest. We got the Super Meeple (French) edition with the resin temples: it’s absolutely beautiful.

2/14/2019

An absolute classic. One that I will never get rid of.

2/11/2019

A very beautiful game and well worth owning. Fun to play with 3-4. I tried with 2 but it is a bit dull for all those tiles. Read somewhere that one should play with 24 tiles if playing with two but didn't know which tiles and how to do so. Very accessible and easy to teach and more "fun" than Java. 2006-10-01 - Received 2008-06-16 - PBEM 2008-07-06 - PBEM Auction variant 2018-07-02 - Sold CG

1/21/2019

Takes way too long for what's there. If it took a quarter of the time it would be a very fun game.

12/24/2018