Alien Frontiers

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (80 Total)

2
41
32
2
2

My first worker placement game that became instant favorite. Sci-fi theme, fantastic art, and dice. It is on the longer side. Unfortunately, not everybody will be a fan of the area control element and it doesn't work great with 2.

2/14/2020

great worker placement game. I love the aspect of having dice and picking them up to roll them each turn to affect your allocation. I didn't really use the alien tech cards my first play, but I see their value in the game. I like that this is a pretty simple game that I feel confident enough to teach to non-gamers, and it won't just blow over their head. has some great strategy, and I like the randomness of the dice.

1/31/2020

This game is an excellent balance between the luck of the dice and the strategery of placing plastic on spaces. Recommend. NOTE: Do not play at 5+ players - it can take a long time. ESPECIALLY do not play with AP-prone players.

1/28/2020

It's nice and pleasant--essentially a tweaking of Kingsburg. It feels like it is better balanced than the latter game, but has less nuance and less to do. I am also not such a huge fan of the lack of granularity in the scoring, which can compound the (admittedly rather minor) kingmaker possibilities. I would recommend Kingsburg with expansion over this, but only just.

1/26/2020

Dice rolling so some people are going to hate it. More than enough thought required each turn for it to be more than a luckfest though. There does seem to be an obvious need to get more ships early and if you never roll doubles that's going to hold you back a lot. Apart from that most of the game is deciding what to do now, and what to do later, from the things that will help you colonise the planet.

1/3/2020

Great game that mixes strategy with luck. Down side is that towards the end turns can take forever as people try and figure out the most optimum placement of their dice, but as a two player game this isn't a problem.

12/31/2019

I like the worker placement/area control mechanic. I don't like the dice.

12/20/2019

Very good dice placement game. Unfortunately prone to analysis paralysis. Very clever mechanics. INCLUDED: Alien Frontiers: Factions Alien Frontiers: Faction Pack #1 Alien Frontiers: Faction Pack #2 Alien Frontiers: Faction Pack #3 Alien Frontiers: Faction Pack #4 Alien Frontiers: Expansion Pack #1 Alien Frontiers: Expansion Pack #2 Alien Frontiers: Expansion Pack #3 Alien Frontiers: Expansion Pack #4 Alien Frontiers: Expansion Pack #5 Alien Frontiers: Expansion Pack #6

10/25/2019

I enjoy this every time I play, and the factions expansion adds quite a bit

10/18/2019

Best: 3-4 Time: 90 Min Weight: 2.57

10/17/2019

Fun dice chucking and management.

6/26/2019

7. After first play. Quick and simple 2 player game using just the base game. Will try the expansions next.

4/12/2019

Played this once at BGG Con 2012 and knew I wanted to buy it after only 5 minutes. Sent straight to the vendor booth and bought it.

4/12/2019

Home made

3/19/2019

Near perfect game. My only complaint is that downtime can be long since you are waiting for everyone else to go. It is much like Kingsburg in space with a lot more options. You aren't really penalized by low rolls since each area of the board can use something different. I love that the scoring is so small. It makes it really easy to keep track of. I can see putting a lot of plays on this!

3/8/2019

Very fun dice placement game. I love how the dice stay on the board as the turns go around -- very clever. It seems like whoever can place their last colony first almost always wins, though.

2/16/2019

Roll your dice, assigning various numeric combinations to different action locations on the board to collect and utilize resources, all in an effort to colonize the planet better than the other players. Special cards (alien tech) and colonial abilities provide variety and player differentiation, while the dice rolls require adaptability.

1/22/2019

Yeah, rolling to randomize your options on any given turn is something I'm super into and I like it in this game.

1/11/2019

King of the dice placement games for sure.

1/10/2019

Very fun dice worker placement game. The theme is interesting, the components are nice and the game play is fantastic.

12/24/2018