Istanbul

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (166 Total)

6
92
60
6
0

We started playing this on the iPad on a recent holiday and liked it so much we went and got the physical version.Great game, we’re still playing with the recommended setup. We haven’t seen dominant paths/players as other reviews have called out. I think if everyone has similar experience with the game, no single player is allowed to get to far ahead.Looking for forward to getting more plays of this one and at least the mocha expansion, maybe the dice version as well..... Great iPad game as well.

4/12/2020

I predict this will become a classic Euro. Has all the parts--dull theme, wooden pieces, fast gameplay, no elimination, balanced. Unique movement mechanic.

4/1/2020

Typical Euro these days. It's okay, but it's not something I'm seeking out or playing by my own suggestion, but if it's in front of me I'll play I guess.

4/1/2020

Fun game - plays quick. After 6 games I do wonder how long it will last without an expansion though.

4/1/2020

Weight: 2.59 / 5Includes wooden insert with plastic overlays

3/18/2020

The game plays pretty easy and fast, there's little down time. It takes a few turns before you know all the tiles, but then it's fairly straightforward. You gather goods, sell these for money and buy rubies or instead deliver them to the sultan for rubies.The Sultan's route is a bit more complex, as you'll need blue goods (jewelry) as well, which cannot be gathered at the warehouses, but need to be won by throwing dice (7 or up gets you one or more Jewels). People who usually are unlucky with dice can avoid this by acquiring a card that lets you buy jewely at the warehouses or a different card that allows you to change one die of throw again.As you need to leave your assistants behind (to take care of the paper work or something), you need to plan your route carefully. Luckily, you can always return to the fountain and recall your assistants there.The fun part is that you encounter people on your way, other Merchants, the governour, the smuggler or one of the "nephews", either your own or someone elses. The other Merchants have to be paid off before they allow you to perform the action, the governour and the smuggler allow you to buy cards or goods and the nephews can be sent to jail for a reward. You can even turn in your own kin. All in all, Rudiger Dorn has put together another nice game. I see some resemblance to one of his earlier games Waka Waka, where the same goods (fruits, spices and silk) can be gathered and delivered for more status. We like that game as well, but this one is certainly more developed. As this is a modular board (all the 16 tiles of the market can be set up randomly), the most efficient way of moving around varies per game, so replayability is high. There's a nice alternative play as well, where one of your assistants has a neutral colour and can therefore be taken by one of your opponents.

3/18/2020

Upgraded to the Big Box.

2/14/2020

Best game for couples that want a bit more depth. Its still easy to play, but feels different enough every time

1/28/2020

A decent Euro, with the ability to change the board between games. Unfortunate end-game though - as it's often clear that a player has won a couple of turns before it happens.

1/28/2020

****Coffe expansion

1/28/2020

I found this to be a fun game, combining unique worker placement mechanics, with resource collection and a fun family relative mechanic that was also different. I would like to try this one again, particularly with the two expansions and see what layers they add to the game.

1/6/2020

An okay pickup and deliver game. It can be punishing though; I feel like if you make one suboptimal move you're going to lose.

12/20/2019

The wife was a huge fan of this. It's a great quick and light game that is great for weeknights or rough days with the toddler. I am really quite bad at this game though.

12/12/2019

It's easy to see that Istanbul is a very well designed game, but it is a game style I am not interested in. It feels much more like a puzzle than like a game.

10/25/2019

What a great family game. Very fast game play and multiple paths to victory. Every decision counts while the choices each turn are not overwhelming. Short turns and short playing time. INCLUDED: Istanbul: Mocha & Baksheesh Istanbul: Letters & Seals Istanbul: Kebab Shop Mini Expansion

10/25/2019

RECEIVED: 2016 (Bought 2nd-Hand) GAMEPLAY Players are opportunistic merchants, plying their goods from their cart and trying to make a quick ruby in the streets of Istanbul. This is a race game with the objective to be the first to collect five to six rubies (depending on player count). On a turn, a player moves their stack of assistants one or two tiles and takes the arrival tile’s action. An action can be taken either by leaving an assistant or by picking one up, making for a slight network building/destruction mechanic. THOUGHTS Istanbul is a great step-above-gateway game, in my opinion, in that it introduces players to action selection, network building, and different paths to victory. YYou can’t out and out ruin an opponent’s plans, but you can get to something sooner or make it more costly for an opponent to take an action. The artwork and components are lovely, and the game play is fast and fun once everyone knows what they’re doing. On the negative side, tile placement is variable and can make for a less interesting game if two powerful tiles are placed close together and one player takes advantage of this. Even more problematic is that the art does not have a single depiction of a female. Despite these problems, I will likely have Istanbul in my collection for some time to come. PROS -Restriction of the placement/pick-up of the assistants is puzzley and fun. -Components are high quality and art is evocative. -Player interaction is baked in to the way you can make tiles more expensive and through the use of the relative pawn. -Variable set-up helps keep the game fresh. Doesn’t hurt that there are two expansions as well. -Multiple paths to victory via the gem seller, the sultan, extensions, and mosque tiles, but a combination of some or all will be necessary to win. NEUTRAL -Need to really think about how the tiles are placed as this could sink the game before you even get started. CONS -No female representation in the artwork.

10/18/2019

A modular pick up and deliver race game. Plays 5 well, has little down time between turns, and is different every time I play it. The Mocha and Baksheesh expansion really helps the game to shine.

10/18/2019

This game is extremely intuitive to learn & though easy, I sensed it had a fair amount of depth for being so light. We played with no expansions.

4/21/2019

So much fun.

4/16/2019

VENDU $40

3/19/2019

One of the best euros I've ever played. So many options and all of them good. Lots of interesting reasons and incentives to make a given move, and all of it affected by the player driven economy.

3/6/2019

Fun game. The fact that you need to put down and pick up helpers as you make your way around the board may be a bit too much forethought for my taste. I feel that it really messed me up when I played (I, and ever other non-winning player, were at 4 rubies when the game ended).

3/5/2019

2-5 player (best 4 - but scales well) 45-75 minutes

2/18/2019

I love Istanbul, will play it anytime I can. It's a nice medium weight game that is really easy to teach. Looking forward to playing it more.

2/14/2019

+ Fun game, finding the optimal route to trade your goods for rubies. o Not incredibly deep, but fun and thinky enough considering a relatively short duration. - Does not feel related to the city of Istanbul in any sense, but the trading part itself is pretty thematic.

1/21/2019

I adore this game. Can't wait to try the Mocha expansion.

1/15/2019

(1/17) 8. (10/17) 8. A terrific take on worker placement that I find myself wanting to play again.

12/22/2018

In Germany

12/22/2018