Lords of Waterdeep

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (272 Total)

8
127
121
12
2

One of the best worker placement games!Looking forward to play it again!

4/2/2020

Tries to retheme the worker placement mechanic, but fails to deliver anything significantly interesting in the process. I think I would have enjoyed the theme much more during my teen years, although admittedly, any theme could have been tacked onto this one. Had I played this before I played Caylus, then perhaps I would rate it higher. But, it is very difficult to follow in Caylus' footsteps.On the bright side, at least they didn't make it with plastic miniatures. I'll stick with Caylus, thanks.

4/1/2020

Typical worker placement with a gimmick in that it's Dungeons and Dragons and you can get people to play it that otherwise might not be interested.Not sure about the balance of all the spots and all, but so far it has been fun to play.Over time, it really gets more meh. I mean, everyone knows all the spots, and all the games feel pretty much the same. It gets very repetitive very fast. I think I'm done with it.

4/1/2020

by dcoe

Not bad for a completely themeless worker-placement game.To the guy on r/boardgames: "Yes, they are 'oranges.'"

4/1/2020

A great study example about worker-placement!!APP ONLY

3/24/2020

Really like this game. The intrigue cards are awesome in the way they balance "take that" with solo and group benefits, as well as "take this shiny thing if you give up x number of less shiny things". The point system is incredibly balanced - and the quests give you a nice sense of accomplishment after hard work.

3/24/2020

First game I played with my whole family that everyone enjoyed. My sisters and I ignored the turn limit and ended up playing a 32 turn game - the time it took for every quest to be finished.

3/24/2020

Weight: 2.50 / 5Includes custom bag for buildingsIncludes Folded Space Insert

3/18/2020

2-5 players, best with 3-4, 90-120 minutes, worker placement, dungeons & dragons universe.Rating based on 1st couple of plays with 2 and 3 players as well as a solo variant. Really enjoy the game, which is very suited as a gateway worker placement, but also contains enough depth and variety for gamers.

3/18/2020

2-5

3/7/2020

One of the first worker placement games I remember playing. I wanted to LOVE this game because I love the D&D RPG, but to me the theme is weak. I never felt like a Lord of Waterdeep. I'd be interested to try it again after playing Champions of Midgard, but I think I'm going to like Champions better, so why play Lords?

3/5/2020

Raised rating from a 6 as of November, 2013. The game is a great introduction to worker placement for new and casual gamers. I find that it builds very well off of Ticket to Ride: the concept of the route tickets in TTR translates quite easily to the quests in LoW.This is a good game to have in my collection in that it fills that casual couples gaming niche. I won't be pulling it out with veteran gamer groups, but it's a good one to have in reserve for a more casual night of gaming because it allows conversation and socializing while providing a fun, light game experience.

2/28/2020

One of the most talked about entry level worker placement games for a reason! Its great

2/28/2020

Easy to teach, quick to learn. The box insert should be the gold standard for ALL board games.

2/26/2020

by paka

Strange thing with this one is, that while the score is 'just' 7 I'm probably more willing to play it than other 7's just because this one is really easy flowing and quite fast game. (No expansion plays)

2/25/2020

This can be good for introducing worker placement to new players but ultimately felt boring to be. In addition, can be somewhat nasty with the mandatory quest cards (take that).

2/14/2020

A great mix of fantasy plus the innovated way of running the guilds over being the low player character doing all the work. Sit back in the guild with a few quality drinks & out manage the other leaders of Waterdeep in this high strategy game.

2/4/2020

Really love this game. Easy setup, looks good, solid and simple rules, and really fun game-play. Family loves it and it's a solid game for gamers. I only play with the expansions (which I permanently mixed in).

2/3/2020

fantastic worker placement game. I love the theme of going on adventures and building your own buildings. I also like that there is a spot for the first player token for you to take and change player order, overall fantastic game, and with the expansion it just ramps it up and makes the game even better.

1/31/2020

The game is decent, I've had my fill of it though and wont go out of my way to recommend playing it. A lighter game that is good for a newer group to enjoy.

1/26/2020

Very good worker placement game. Fun to play with the family, everyone seems to enjoy it. The games are usually very close. Much better with the expansion. Expansions Owned: Scoundrels of Skullport

1/26/2020

I have vague concerns about the quests' balance, and how a player can get slightly rewarded or hosed based on whether or not their Lord overlaps with others' Lords. That said, this is quick, clean, and very enjoyable. It is to Caylus what the D&D adventure co-ops are to Descent. That may not sound like much of a compliment to many, but I really like worker-placement, and I think that the D&D co-ops are a wonderful distillation of what is best in the genre. This isn't as good as the top-tier worker-placement games (for me, Age of Empires and Tribune), though.

1/26/2020

Players 2-5 Time 60 min.

1/25/2020

Picked this up at PAX East 2012, and it immediately became everyone's favorite game. It's a good light weight euro with just enough depth to prevent AP.

1/25/2020

1.5

1/25/2020

A good entry level worker placement game.

1/24/2020

My favorite worker placement game! Everyone scrambles for the Owlbears thanks to Tabletop.

1/9/2020

Digital version

1/7/2020

Surprisingly simple worker placement game. Plays fast.

1/7/2020

Worker placement, specific game length, pasted on theme. Worth playing, but I (so far at least) prefer other WP games. 2015: The expansion improves gameplay for those wanting more involved decisions. Without it, there's not a lot of tough choices.

1/3/2020

A simple yet deceptively fun cube pusher.

12/20/2019

Fantastic game. Has the perfect mix of attacking interaction vs blocking interaction. I have a feeling this will stay near the top of our favorite games list. 12/15/14-The more I play this game the more I like it. It's a great balance between relaxing and challenging/strategy after a long day at work. ALWAYS played with both modules of the expansion.

12/12/2019

Probably only suffers from me finding it too late in my board gaming life. Simple, enjoyable, but less crunchy than its trappings portray.

12/11/2019

Tablet app, not physical boardgame

11/14/2019

Barely got around to play this with my wife and we really enjoyed it.

11/6/2019

Excellent game. This is my favourite kind of game - worker placement with user controlled buildings and gradual buildup of power. With secret goals, as an added bonus. And random components to add variability to game play. Awesome, awesome. Even better with the Skullport expansion. INCLUDED: Lords of Waterdeep: Scoundrels of Skullport

10/25/2019

I'd play it again, if there wasn't another slightly heavier worker placement game also on offer. The theme doesn't appeal to me and I find the base game's decision space to be sparse.

10/23/2019

I'd play it again, if there wasn't another slightly heavier worker placement game also on offer. The theme doesn't appeal to me and I find the base game's decision space to be sparse.

10/23/2019

by hana

Borrowed from Blizzard library. Fun but too light. Not much strategy. Things I like: going on quests. Runebound 3E scratches the itch more for an adventure game.

10/17/2019

2-5 Players 60-120 Minutes

9/30/2019

se sacan objetivos y con recogen cubos para lograrlos

7/19/2019

One of my favorite light worker placement game.

6/26/2019

7.8 / 2-5p Best 3-4 / 60-120m / 2.51

6/15/2019

Fun, but I enjoy a bit more weight in a worker placement that takes as long as this one does. I probably wouldn't turn down a game if that's what everyone wants, but I'll always try to talk people into something with a more meat on the bones.

6/14/2019

Meh. Unremarkable worker placement. The Lords are homogenous and boring. The quest system is overly random and uninteresting. The buildings you can purchase to add more placement slots are the most interesting part of the game. Otherwise it's just bland and dull.

6/14/2019

A simple game to explain and very nice to play. The interaction is present in a well-balanced, is good for both beginners and for gamers. It works very well in two rare home for this kind of games.

5/15/2019

FULLY SLEEVED 121 x KMC Perfect Size (100/pack) - (64 x 89mm)

5/15/2019

Addendum: It's just. Too. Long. I don't mind the simplicity of the worker placement. I don't mind that the expansions essentially put half the game in your cards. I mind that it takes 2 - 2.5 hours to play a card-centric worker placement game.

5/13/2019

7.5 rating after initial play. Really enjoyed the theme to this. One factor against it was the factions didn't really make much sense as they seemed to have little impact on player options.

4/12/2019

http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/lords-of-waterdeep/ http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/lords-waterdeep-accessibility-teardown/

3/28/2019

A truly wonderful game. The game plays very smoothly and everything seems to get used and work well together. Clearly the product of a lot of care and attention. The rules are simple, and the game is very easy to jump in to with only a quick read of the rules. The components are excellent, too, and I think of no game with better storage. The D&D setting really does add to it, as it gives everything an immersive (and, to many, familiar) flavour.

3/16/2019

2-5 player* (best 3-4) 2-6 with expansion 60-120 minutes

2/17/2019

We really enjoy the game—the theme is fun, it’s engaging and not too complicated. The production quality and graphic design is great—it gives me a little feeling of dungeon questing without having to play a dungeon crawler.

2/14/2019

We really enjoy the game—the theme is fun, it’s engaging and not too complicated. The production quality and graphic design is great—it gives me a little feeling of dungeon questing without having to play a dungeon crawler.

2/14/2019

2-5, 60m

1/25/2019

Nice game, full of mechanics from games I love (like Caylus, Peurto Rico, Lancaster), but I felt that the intrigue cards are not that well balanced.

1/23/2019

Good light intro worker placement game.

1/22/2019

A fun, if simple, worker placement game, with a pasted-on theme of intrigue in D&D's most famous city. Easy to teach, and I've never played with anyone who dislikes it. You compete to place your Agents around the city, constructing buildings (and the buildings create a rather interesting subsystem of the game), playing cards, gathering adventurers and gold, and completing quests. The action cards are the only part of this game I especially dislike, but I can't rate it higher because while I enjoy it, I'd always choose Agricola or Stone Age if I was to play a worker placement game, and LoW doesn't really do anything new. Comes with dozens of uniquely illustrated cards, wooden agent meeples for each player, and a big pile of wooden cube and cardboard chip resources. The general aesthetic is consistent, but for a reason I can't quite put my finger on I don't much care for it, though I was never a Forgotten Realms player so maybe there's something I'm missing. Special note must be made here of the box, for several reasons. The box insert is fantastic, with room for each type of piece, rather than the sort I've started to see with other publishers which consists of a single large cardboard compartment. As usual for these types of inserts, (and perhaps one of the reasons for the single-compartment inserts) no consideration is made for card sleevers, so a portion of the insert goes unused while the cards slide around under the insert. Such is the life of the obsessive sleever. The box lid, unlike most other box lids in games today, doesn't extend the whole height of the box. I'm sure there must be some reason for this beyond just a unique look, but I can't think of what, and it means it tears more easily along the corners and will never stay on if the game is stored sideways.

1/21/2019

Really?! Not even remotely like RPG... ! Which is why I kind of like it. Dry.

1/21/2019

A great simple worker placement game. Easy to teach others and really fun to play.

1/15/2019

Waterdeep has just about everything a gamer should expect, without anything additional to set it apart. Erecting new buildings, and subsequently owning them, is the most interesting aspect of the game, but the game still boils down to collecting cubes and completing quests, which makes the narrative incredibly linear. Had I played it earlier in my gaming career maybe my opinions would differ, but it terms of modern board games it is decidedly average.

1/11/2019

y

1/9/2019

A good worker placement game with a D&D theme, but nothing special to really set it apart from other games like it.

12/24/2018

Reddit Secret Santa gift! (10/16) 7. (10/17) Drop to 5. With so many worker placements this has dropped off a bit, but I need to play it again with the Skullport expansion which I haven't tried yet.

12/22/2018

In Germany

12/22/2018