Biblios

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (160 Total)

4
43
105
6
0

nice (:

5/14/2020

One of the best auction games I have played at 2 player

4/1/2020

cool little filler in a great box..

3/4/2020

I like this better than For Sale, I think the strategy of ok do I keep this card now? do I give it away? Do I put it in the pile for later? Its just such a good game and really makes you think.

1/31/2020

A great game mixing drafting and auction. Leads to some interesting strategic decisions and tense gameplay.

1/28/2020

An excellent filler game that plays great at any player count. Very simple to teach and plays in about 20-30 minutes. Everyone that I have introduced this to has really liked it. Good for both gamers and non-gamers. For a fun variant, try only doing a single bid for each card rather than continuing until everyone passes.

1/26/2020

It's really a cool use of giving players limited information.

1/26/2020

It's awfully quick, which is a virtue, especially since it's rather random. It's a game about risk-management, really, which is kind of nifty--I like Ra, and it has a kind of a Ra vibe in terms of what to keep vs. what to pass on. But then why not play Ra, especially since the latter is much less random?

1/26/2020

Such a simple card game and yet it gives you some grueling choices/decisions. It always takes a playthrough for new players to try and get a grasp on the game but every time as soon as the game ends you can see the light bulbs go off and they always want to immediately play again.

1/25/2020

[b][size=12][BGCOLOR=#C0C0C0]Sleeved[/BGCOLOR][/size][/b] Have a custom Justice League version good filler game

1/25/2020

[color=#CC0000] A tight little game with really good action. This is how euros should work. Pretty, simple rules that interact with each other well, right-sized game length. Just a great package for the price. Not to be missed. [/color]

1/25/2020

One of my group's go-to filler games.

1/24/2020

Had fun on the first couple of plays. I enjoyed the bluffing part. Overall it has a nice amount of player interaction. Extremely easy to teach. A little lighter than I had hoped but some fun tactical decisions.

1/13/2020

Interesting mechanic of drawing three cards, one at a time, and making a decision where to put the cards as drawn. A smidge of "press your luck" mixed with some strategic options for planning the endgame. All in all, a nice filler, but the cards are stiff, hard to shuffle, and smell horrid. Card sleeves are mandatory for this title. With more plays, I expect to revise my rating -- most likely HIGHER, if I had to guess.

1/10/2020

Short enough that I won't care how well I do, but not really a lot of interaction if you can't remember what your opponents are taking from the middle. Not knowing which cards have been removed means you can't really be sure you've majority or not unless you go way over.

1/3/2020

Merely ok. I'd rather play For Sale.

12/20/2019

Sleeved.

12/20/2019

Biblios is the quintessential filler game. It's a great game to pull out when you want to get some 1v1 action in to pass the time, but also works perfectly to throw in between meatier titles. Especially for those who have played before, Biblios plays quick and offers a fun challenge where players have to try and plan ahead while remaining dynamic.

12/15/2019

August 2019 $11.99

12/14/2019

Received in Maths Trade - Still not sold on it. ---------- Traded away - would rather play something else.

11/14/2019

TRADED AWAY Nice filler. Plays quickly and everyone is always involved. Requires some tough decisions.

10/25/2019

GAMEPLAY Players run a medieval monastery trying to be the most masterly monk of the whole monk mundus. The game is played over two phases: the Gift Phase and Auction Phase. In the Gift Phase, a player draws cards equal to the number of players plus one. But, cards are drawn one at a time, and a player must decide if they keep that card, put that card in the auction pile, or put the card in the pool for their opponents to take. Opponents take cards in turn order from the pool, and then play continues to the next player. Once all the cards have been drawn, the game enters the Auction Phase where players flip over cards one by one and auction them. Item cards related to pigments, monks, forbidden tomes, holy books, and manuscripts are won by bidding the most gold cards as church cards. Gold cards are won by bidding the most cards. Church cards, whether in the Gift Phase or Aucton Phase, allow players to change the die value for how much pigments, monks, forbidden tomes, holy books, and manuscripts are worth. At the end of the game, the player with the highest amount in each of these categories gets the die value in VP of that category. THOUGHTS Biblios is a testament to the kind of lovely game that can be made with just a few cards and some dice. This is not a game that will blow you away, but it is a perfect fit for an enjoyable filler game or lunch-break game. It’s also great to see a small-box card game that doesn’t have a massive table footprint like so many other card games these days. Each phase has its own sort of enjoyably challenging tension: the Gift Phase is all about pushing your luck to find the perfect card, while the fate of the game come down to one dizzyingly priced card in the Auction Phase. The player count works at all numbers but, if I had to choose, three is probably my favorite. *As an aside, I can’t say anything about the components or art as I made a PnP version that’s themed around stamp collecting. PROS -Thinky filler game that works at all player counts. -Both phases offer a different but equally enjoyable tension. -Church card manipulation system is both smooth and allows players who are behind in cash to still make a difference in the scores. NEUTRALS -Biblios does not need a theme and it certainly doesn’t matter that it’s about a medieval monastery.

10/18/2019

Best: 3 Time: 30 Min Weight: 1.68

10/17/2019

Love the theme, even if it only gets a couple of plays it will have been worth the price I paid for my copy.

6/26/2019

FULLY SLEEVED 89 x KMC Perfect Size (100/pack) - (64 x 89mm)

5/15/2019

Strong small group filler. The card allocation is tense and the auction works at all player counts. Requires one playthrough for new players to grok, but it's short so that's fine. Edit: I found the rough first game with this made me just want to play High Society or No Thanks (and its offshoots) depending on the group. Plus I get more out of replaying the other games.

5/13/2019

Glad i've had the opportunity to play it.

4/12/2019

http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/biblios-2007/ http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/biblios-2007-accessibility-teardown/

3/28/2019

This is a great little fast game. It changes greatly from 2-4 players. I prefer 3-4 but 2 is very interesting as well. The theme does not shine through, but the art is beautiful and it helps make the game enjoyable. Game play is based around set collecting, but it is the placement and auction portions that really make the game shine. Choices are important, and determining what the really important cards to your hand to attain victory is a very sublime aspect. Lots of game for little money. Love it.

3/8/2019

3-4 player game (best 3) 30-50 minutes

2/18/2019

Cool idea, pretty quick and fun to play.

2/16/2019

Decent Game, Played it twice with the wife (2 player). Nice dice. Cards are a bit thin. Have better drafting games that I enjoy more. Traded it away in a trade for Space Alert + Expansion.

2/14/2019

This one has been steadily rising for me, in terms of being a great, light, filler. It is certainly best with 4 players.

2/12/2019

Quick and fun, but not as delightful as others have lead me to believe. Plays well at all player counts, which is a surprise for an auction game. Trade Condition Notes: Excellent condition

1/23/2019

Yeah, it's all right. It's a card game. Looks like I like card games but there are better and more strategic card games around.

1/21/2019

[Pending to sleeve]

1/18/2019

Great filler. The Gift phase is a bit slow, and lacks social interaction, but the hints of push your luck and card drafting keep it interesting and engaging, even for the inactive players. The Auction phase is utterly brilliant and provides most of the game's intrigue. The game plays very quietly though, and I wish it was a bit more engaging, but the simple rules make it very accessible. I have yet to introduce the game, without players wanting a second try, and given its short playtime, its easy to oblige.

1/11/2019

(2/16) 10. Love this game. Super tight and the meta game that grows with friends over repeated plays is half the fun. One of my favorites. (9/17) 10. Yup, my favorite. My #1 game of all time.

12/22/2018

7 after first play of a 2-player game.

12/19/2018