Dominant Species

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (45 Total)

2
30
11
2
0

It is a long game, but one I would always pick to play given the opportunity.

9/10/2019

a great brain burner. multiple paths to victory and a flow that matches the theme well (lose parts of the world as the tundra spreads, but the hardy species that can survive on the tundra can gain a lot of vp). having to figure out how the turn will unfold when placing the action tokens can send ap prone players into paralysis.

8/31/2019

For some reason the delayed cause-effect relationship the game possesses wreaks havoc on my brain. It's a relatively straightforward action-programming area control game, but the systems are so interlinked, and the whole game feels like it takes an extra half a round or something for the cascading effects of your actions to reveal themselves. I find myself struggling to strategize efficiently. The game also scores way too much at the end of the game compared to during the game. It's a brilliant, fascinating design. I just need to get my brain around it better

6/14/2019

FULLY SLEEVED 27 x KMC Perfect Size (100/pack) - (64 x 89mm)

5/15/2019

This is a war game in all but theme. Why is this in my collection it's not a war game, right? Not that i have anything against them, but my wife doesn't like direct conflict games. Evolution isn't war...(cough)

4/12/2019

Sleeved

3/1/2019

Fantastic game. Even though it can be long, it doesn't feel like it, the whole game moved at a quick pace. Very excited to play it more and explore strategies.

2/27/2019

This is probably the most hardcore Euro I have played to date. My brain physically hurts by the end of this monster 4+ hour game. Viciously confrontational, to boot. Exhausting to play, but in a good way.

2/16/2019

0

1/22/2019

Highly confrontational direct competition with a variety of actions for creating and maintaining numerical superiority on the board. Multiple ways to score points mean there are important decisions to make every time you take a turn. The iOS app is a great, portable way to play the game. It keeps track of dominance and other background numbers easily, so you can focus on tactical and strategic considerations. The AI is pretty bad as of July 2015.

1/22/2019

Loved it, but kinda long for the first play.

1/22/2019

2010-10-17 - Bought/Won Fallcon 23 2010-11-11 - Rating from 8.5 -> 9; A beautiful game! 2011-01-11 - Hot diggity! 4p -> great game

1/21/2019

I just wish it played quicker.

1/16/2019

i want to play this once a month... a club needs to be formed

1/11/2019

Very long with no engaging or exciting decisions. Too much going on for my taste.

1/11/2019

(10/17) 9. Heavy, meaty. I really enjoyed playing this game. I might love it even more once I get a chance to play it again. Tremendously tactical but that big final scoring also allows for some strategic play. Wonderful

12/22/2018

1 play and I love this game. The dominance mechanics make sense thematically while still providing challenges in gameplay, the rotating placement of actions and action resolution guarantees minimal downtime per player, and allows you to plan ahead to minimize AP. All species have interesting special abilities which can be used advantageously. There are enough different actions available to make it challenging, different, and allow different strategies to win. Overall a great game I can't wait to play again.

12/22/2018