Battlestar Galactica

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (34 Total)

2
16
13
2
0

Hilarious ...

by elltrain

Hilarious table-talk in this game. I don't think 5 minutes went by without someone calling someone else a cylon.

2/16/2019

Replaced b...

by Zeugmatic Player

Replaced by The Resistance. The concept of a survival co-op game with secret traitors (some of whom are turned half-way through) is a perfect match for the show, but the game is overwhelmingly long and difficult, and most people I know have no interest in a game based on tv show they never watched that was a reboot of another tv show they never watched.

1/22/2019

First play...

by Chitownsox

First play didnt go so well, the mechanics and choices to be made are not that interesting. I think it may have been because it was our first time and no one knew how to play, so ill have to give it one more chance before selling/trading it away.

1/22/2019

Maybe it t...

by Tevildo

Maybe it takes too long time between turns, and maybe throwing cards is not all that fun in the long run. For the time being, however, this will see regular play. Paranoia is present. Sometimes it feels like playing a coöperation game with neither co nor operation. Edit: With a full game under the belt, this game is a winner. It does take a long time to play, so I am pretty sure that four players is the prefered amount. Edit: When everyone knows the rules and the down time is kept to a minimum, this shines.

1/22/2019

When I saw...

by andrewishi

When I saw this in stores, I always ignored it, assuming that a game based on a TV show was designed primarily to be fun for fans of the show (which I am not), at the expense of being fun for anyone else (which I am). I have been pleasantly surprised. I've only played a few games, but this game's loyalty system blows those in Shadows Over Camelot or Bang! out of the water. Additionally, there is an interesting mix of character abilities, and the core skill check mechanic is fairly solid. My complaints are simple and few: there is a disappointing lack of different strategy cards, and there is a significant range of power in the Crisis deck, making the luck-to-strategy ratio a bit high for my taste. (Update) Unfortunately, going to downgrade this one from an 8 to a 7, as either we're hopelessly terrible at this game (but only some of us, sometimes) or this game is hopelessly imbalanced. The part of me that likes to win is starting to get excited every time I see a "You are a Cylon" card, since I've basically been assured an easy victory. However, the part of me that actually likes competitive games is starting to get a bit tired of this game. (Update Update) We've been playing this with the recommended variant of "Start the humans with 2 more of everything", and it seems to do the trick (Maybe a little too much; we should try "Start the humans with 1 more of everything"). If your group finds that the Cylons win too often for your collective taste, try this.

1/21/2019

You know, ...

by usagi-san

You know, I really enjoyed my first play of this game. I thought it was well done as a co-op game with a great twist. It was fun and it helped that I won. If I were to get a co-op game in my collection, this would be it.

1/21/2019

A ton of f...

by frankqb

A ton of fun despite the relatively simple mechanics. The real fun is in the paranoia and accusations. Always a nail-biting finish. Fracking toasters.

1/15/2019

Back in th...

by zxcvbn

Back in the day, I played this game quite a bit and it may have even been my favorite. There was nothing like it that blended a thematic strategy game with traitor mechanics (at least that I'd played). Nowadays, this has gotten shelved for Dead of Winter since it's not as finicky about player counts and nobody cares about the show/theme anymore. Personally, I preferred the fact that we *knew* there were traitors somewhere once we passed the halfway point, which pushed us to point fingers at each other over every action, every twitch, every smile. In Dead of Winter, we look around the table anxiously, but it feels like a coop game first with a phenomenal traitor element smuggled in. Battlestar Galactica puts the traitor element in the front of everyone's mind, with some co-op mechanics involving blowing up frakkin' cylons and firing up the FTL to back it up. Anyway yes this game is exceptional... with exactly 5 players. The expansions do improve upon the awful, non-thematic cylon sympathizer role, but it's meant to be played with 5 players.

1/11/2019

Not a game...

by Hawke

Not a game I'd like to own, but holy shit is this a great coop+betrayal game. Tension builds really well throughout, too.

1/11/2019

Possibly the best hidden traitor game, but a bit long

by adomescik

No Review Description

1/10/2019

A great hi...

by Psylocke

A great hidden traitor game that plays out very well. It's just very long for a traitor game and it can be hard to teach compared to others making it hard to get to the table when people don't want to invest that much time into it. I've never watched the show, but I still enjoyed this, so don't worry if you haven't seen the show, that won't negatively impact the experience.

12/24/2018

In Germany...

by magicjavelin

In Germany

12/22/2018