Princes of Florence

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (34 Total)

0
10
23
1
0

Great game! Great bits, great look, great feel. Always willing to play this one. Everything about this game works and works well. There is only 7 turns in this game and although that is a good amount you always want more. Overall Score 9, Appearence 8, Components 10, The Box (storage) 9, Rulebook 8, Ease of Play 7, Mechanics 9, Involvment 8, Replayability 9, Uniqueness 10, Luck 2 v Strategy 8 (The higher the number the more it leans that way.)

11/3/2019

TRADED AWAY A good mix of mechanics - bidding, action points, tile laying. Fun game, but it needs some ramp-up time. Players need to be of same experience level, or the game can fall apart. One of the great "so many things that I want to do, but so few actions" games. It might be a little TOO limiting.

10/25/2019

Enjoyable gameplay with a despisable font (text and numbers are difficult to read thanks to the horrible typeface which is universally used on all components). Aesthetics aside, this classic Eurogame is certainly worth playing. The many possible strategies/valid paths to victory, as well as the unique combination of mechanisms, makes for an experience I would recommend—to anyone who will enjoy a multiplayer solitaire Euro draped in the standard fare of bland tan-on-tan overtones.

10/22/2019

TRADED: 3/2019 (Math Trade for Bali) GAMEPLAY Players represent Renaissance nobles who are trying to create a principality that will attract and inspire the great minds of the age. PoF is played over seven rounds, each round consisting of two parts: an auction phase and an action phase. In the auction phase, players bid on one of the following items: recruiting cards, prestige cards (endgame bonuses), landscape tiles, builders (help defray building costs or lessen building restrictions), and jesters (wild tokens). After a player has won an auction, they can no longer bid on anything. In the action phase, players have two actions that they can spend on buying the following items: buildings, freedoms, bonus cards, and profession cards. Alternatively, players can complete a work or, as I prefer, fund a profession, by meeting the professions requirements. In order to fund a profession there is a minimum work value that must be met or surpassed for each round. Players can then take the money they made for funding that profession (this is where my change in the language breaks down) and/or take VP. THOUGHTS PoF, as a friend once said, certainly feels every bit its age. And, it’s been re-implemented by Colosseum, which to be fair, with its negotiations for silly tiles brings a lot of raucous fun that PoF lacks. However, PoF it still shines as a tense game where every decision can make or break your plans, and that alone makes it feel much more gamerly than Colosseum. I’m also surprised at how well a player can do by eking out VP from in-game scoring opportunities while only occasionally funding a profession. My main gripe is that it desperately needs a face-lift with a board that also has spots for the auction items and spots for the action items. PROS -Some player interaction due to the auction. -Moments that make you feel like you’re balancing on a razor thin wire. -Shines at higher player counts. -Lots of paths to victory. -Player board is thick and good quality and contains nearly all the useful information a player needs. CONS -Ugly. -Fiddly. -While I understand why the auction is the way it is, only being able to increase bids by increments of 100 florins feels too restricting. In a game with more players, your bid may be far lower than you’re willing to pay but you have no recourse.

10/18/2019

great game....

5/15/2019

2-5 players (best 5) 75-100 minutes

2/17/2019

Rated after a single play.

2/16/2019

Delightful auction game with a straightforward rules set that quickly spirals into interactive complexity and opaque relative valuation. The forced incremental auction system makes this particularly interesting, as the active player needs to contrive how to get what they want through strategic selections of items that they don't necessarily want. I really like auction games, but they need experienced groups to balance them out. Valuations are tough, and new players can't figure out what is worth what.

1/23/2019

This game was among the first few games that I played when I got into boardgaming. I really liked its multiplayer solitaire feel and the auctions added to the tension. I think this is a good game because with the auction, you can get shut out of valuable items which means you have to be very flexible in your gameplay. 2008-04-01 - Bought

1/21/2019

(11/17) 7. A game I enjoyed much more than I expected. I generally shy away from tile laying games, especially ones that use it in a manner that appear to be tacked on as I thought it might be in this case, but I really, really enjoyed it. One of those many old school Euros that is just put together so well.

12/22/2018