King of Tokyo

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (387 Total)

6
83
179
23
8

Brilliantly simple game with a fun theme. Yes, it has lots of random luck because of dice chucking, some of the cards aren't super clear, and there is player elimination. BUT I'm willing to take that because its fun and plays quick. There is still enough strategy to scratch the itch and it doesn't overstay its welcome and you get to be a big monster who is whacking other monsters.

5/3/2020

Fun dice roller that takes King of the Hill and Yahtzee and some how makes a coherent game. Fun, but not if opponents decide to play passively.

4/14/2020

Fun dice roller that takes King of the Hill and Yahtzee and some how makes a coherent game. Fun, but not if opponents decide to play passively.

4/14/2020

Love the variable powers (from the power up and that you can buy in the game with energy) and the huge handful of dice. A very social game that my boys setup and play with their friends themselves. Lots of laughs and opportunity to gang up on Dad.....

4/12/2020

Love the variable powers (from the power up and that you can buy in the game with energy) and the huge handful of dice. A very social game that my boys setup and play with their friends themselves. Lots of laughs and opportunity to gang up on Dad.....

4/12/2020

Push your luck filler with yahtzee-like dice mechanics. Good fun. Simple concepts for kids to pick up. Great art and well balanced power cards.

4/1/2020

Alright, So there isn't much to this game. But it's kind of fun, and it plays fast. So yeah, I'll play it, I'm happy to, maybe not a full night of just this or anything, but it's a fun one to start or end on, and my kids love it.

4/1/2020

A dice-rolling game which can be fun if in the mood for something light. Rating raised from 5 to 6.

3/24/2020

A great game to introduce non-gamers to a somewhat more complex game.

3/24/2020

Very clever game. What I like the most is how simple yet balanced strategy versus luck this game is. Clearly there are some mechanics borrowed from Yatzy or something similar and in my opinion that was genius. The ability to stay in the city or out of it and try to balance the benefits of it through out the game makes it very interesting. Oh, and also, pretending you are GOJIRAAAA. That is awesome.

3/24/2020

Fun little game for 2-6 players. Every turn you throw 6 dice which can result in hitting your opponents, healing yourself, scoring points or gathering energy cubes, which can be used to purchase cards with special powers. As there can only be one monster occupying Tokyo, and the one actually occupying Tokyo cannot heal himself, there's a lot of jumping into and out of the city. When you're the last monster standing or have gained 20 points you win the game.I've played a couple of 2, 3 and 4-player games so far, these were a lot of fun and so far have only resulted in eliminations. Will certainly play again.

3/18/2020

A modern classic for any family.

3/12/2020

Terrific filler - an absolute blast to play!

3/9/2020

by Rudi

a really good game; quick to play; the cards are so cool

3/9/2020

2-6

3/7/2020

A load of silly dice rolling fun.

3/4/2020

Super-fun filler/warm up, also great for bar night. Seems like it wouldn't hold interest past a few plays, but it hits a sweet spot for fun/playtime.

2/28/2020

Easy to teach and quick to play. Even with 4 players, the game goes fast. The dice are nice and weighty. When you roll them, it feels like the monster you are playing.

2/26/2020

by paka

Just a fun dicethrowing game. Easy concept, gorgeous pieces and tons of fun. Has worked great for 3-6 players for me, but given the chance the more the merrier. More chance for some Tokyo smack-down.

2/25/2020

No Review Description

2/25/2020

This got played a lot when we got it and I mistakenly rated it higher. I actually really hate this game but it has a place as a family game so I'll split the difference with my rating.

2/15/2020

It's easy to explain and has cute art that appeals to most people. The player elimination aspect is a negative but the game is quick enough.

2/14/2020

No Review Description

2/4/2020

Monsters, dice chucking, FUN! Must have in any collection!

2/3/2020

Need higher player count to give a better rating

2/2/2020

Awesome dice game! So easy to learn and I think it is a game that does well at any player count. definitely the strategy changes depending on how many people are in the game but still a fun filler to pullout and play. The expansion adds so much!

1/31/2020

Plus: - Power Up - Halloween Sleeved with Fantasy Flight

1/30/2020

Loving it!

1/28/2020

Fun as a quick game, but can slow down sometimes. The knock-out mechanic can be a problem.

1/28/2020

Decent, light dice game. That's a crowded field, but this at least scales well and has a well-executed (fun!) theme.

1/26/2020

I really think my kids will enjoy this game but for me it's just ok because the best part of the game is underutilized. I'm talking about the cards. The game lasts long enough to maybe get 1 card on average which is a shame. I feel like the game would be better if at least you started with a card or maybe even if each monster had a special ability. Otherwise, the game is just ok if you want to chuck some dice.

1/25/2020

Christmas 2013 Nice and light, easy to get people into. Update Played a bunch at MAGFest and the game is a great time with a group.

1/25/2020

I like Yahtzee and I like Risk, but I'll pass on this one

1/25/2020

0.5 xx

1/25/2020

2-6p All expansions in box Monsters in KoNY box

1/24/2020

Too much dice while not enough anything else. Meh.

1/24/2020

Fun game, easy for non-gamers to play and enjoy. Good game for either kids or tipsy party friends, so that's a win. The card deck adds some variety and we aren't tired of it.

1/24/2020

Tom Vasel's Top 100 2012 #48 People's Choice Top 100 2012 #18

1/20/2020

Light, quick, simple. One downside is that if you're eliminated early, it's a fun-sponge. Other than that, it's an interesting mix of Press-Your-Luck and using your cards and abilities to greatest advantage.

1/10/2020

A very simple game to teach non-gamers. This game features awesome chunky dice and just enough decisions to make it interesting for everyone at the table. I really enjoy the ability to re-roll twice before letting the dice take their effects.

1/4/2020

With Alan

1/4/2020

Silly, pointless fun. There's going to be some small level of strategy, but mostly it's going to be luck.

1/3/2020

JV

1/2/2020

An easy game to teach and even those who generally don't like games will play it with me. Cute theme, too. Comes out at a lot of family gatherings.

12/22/2019

Hatfield

12/21/2019

I don't usually like dice-based games, but this had enough decisions you can make to allow for some amount of strategy and tactics.

12/20/2019

Sleeved.

12/20/2019

Good family style gateway game. Would make an excellent drinking game for a relaxing night.

12/12/2019

A lot goes to chance w/ this game, but it's easy and quick compared to my other games, which can be nice.

12/11/2019

Basically Yahtzee with a push your luck element and a fun theme.

12/3/2019

After playing this game with various player counts, I have to say....meh...I have rated it a 6 only because everyone else in the world seems to love it so much and I still think I am missing something. The luck so outweighs any strategy that I do not find it enjoyable. You can mitigate your risk all you want, but in one lucky role get put out of the game. Just not fun! _____________________________ 18/6/15 - Played and lost 3 games, but had a great time with a friend. Perhaps there is something to this game? --------------------- Ultimately this game did not engage me like it does others. I never really had 'fun' playing it. There is definitely and good way to play and a bad way to play, so it is not all luck based, but it just felt so samey every game. I found I really had to engineer a lot of the wow factor with smack talk and that only goes well in certain crowds.

11/14/2019

Party game that I introduce to new players.

11/6/2019

Silly, silly, fun.

10/25/2019

This is a family favorite, played and enjoyed by our kids as young as 3.5 to 4 years old.

10/22/2019

King of Tokyo: Power Up adds a lot more.

10/22/2019

I had this at an eight forever, but with nearly 20 plays this year and not a hint of growing bored, I'm upping this. It is on the short list of fillers I'll probably be playing forever. Can't wait to see the future expansions.

10/21/2019

The base game is... not really fun. It's more boring-er than Yahtzee, and Yahtzee's pretty boring. Pro-tip game designers: if you're going to have players play different characters (especially cool ones, like big, scary monsters), have them all have different powers. Now, I've heard the first expansion does exactly this, but seriously? Variable player powers should definitely have been part of the original game. Leaving it out, just so it could be an expansion is pretty weak-sauce if you ask me.

10/17/2019

Itch: summer-action-movie type of fun House rule: If energy is rolled, +1 energy

9/19/2019

A strategy light, dice chucking, Yahtzee style game. A good intro to bigger games.

6/19/2019

This game is pretty awful. Almost the entirety of the game is rolling dice, with a pretty small amount of strategy with rerolls. The only redeeming quality of the game is the powers, but these are mostly bland and insignificant.

6/15/2019

It's fine. Just fun enough for me to keep it as a light game, not fun enough for me to want to really play it. The player elimination drags it down, but thankfully it doesn't usually last long after the first player is eliminated. The whole game is overlong, though.

6/14/2019

Dice

5/21/2019

Boring, repetitive and basically useless......

5/15/2019

I still don't like the player elimination, but thanks to the KoNY Power Up expansion there are 16 characters and evolution decks now. It's a solid dice game despite its issues.

5/13/2019

26-12-2013 Had this a year now and still is great fun. 02-02-2013 this is a 9 for me. With the expansion it just adds that little bit more to do when in Tokyo. As a filler: - its easy to teach,taking less than 5 mins. - fun to play, who doesn't want to be an evil bunny. - doesn't outstay its welcome, even if there is player elimination, players can cheer on for their favourite monster.

4/12/2019

http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/king-of-tokyo-2011/ http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/king-of-tokyo-2011-accessibility-teardown/

3/28/2019

I feel like the Power Up! Expansion is very necessary. The game is fun without it however.

3/9/2019

Fun bash and smash filler.

3/8/2019

Great theme, the whole family can enjoy this one. Nice and short. REALLY great for kids as an alternative to Milton Bradley type games (monopoly etc).

3/6/2019

I found this one kind of miserable, not sure I understand the best play patters

3/6/2019

Fun dice chucker, though a bit too easy to get eliminated and some of the upgrades are unbalanced.

3/5/2019

Great Yahtzee replacement. Great gateway game. own the Halloween expansion.

2/21/2019

Base game, Power up, Halloween, Cthulhu and King Kong all sleeved in regular Mayday

2/15/2019

As a Godzilla fan I absolutely love the theme. My partner is take-it-or-leave-it on the game itself and I’m not too much higher. It’s way better with more people.

2/14/2019

As a Godzilla fan I absolutely love the theme. My partner is take-it-or-leave-it on the game itself and I’m not too much higher. It’s way better with more people.

2/14/2019