King of Tokyo

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (158 Total)

2
42
86
21
4

A strategy light, dice chucking, Yahtzee style game. A good intro to bigger games.

6/19/2019

This game is pretty awful. Almost the entirety of the game is rolling dice, with a pretty small amount of strategy with rerolls. The only redeeming quality of the game is the powers, but these are mostly bland and insignificant.

6/15/2019

It's fine. Just fun enough for me to keep it as a light game, not fun enough for me to want to really play it. The player elimination drags it down, but thankfully it doesn't usually last long after the first player is eliminated. The whole game is overlong, though.

6/14/2019

Dice

5/21/2019

Boring, repetitive and basically useless......

5/15/2019

I still don't like the player elimination, but thanks to the KoNY Power Up expansion there are 16 characters and evolution decks now. It's a solid dice game despite its issues.

5/13/2019

26-12-2013 Had this a year now and still is great fun. 02-02-2013 this is a 9 for me. With the expansion it just adds that little bit more to do when in Tokyo. As a filler: - its easy to teach,taking less than 5 mins. - fun to play, who doesn't want to be an evil bunny. - doesn't outstay its welcome, even if there is player elimination, players can cheer on for their favourite monster.

4/12/2019

http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/king-of-tokyo-2011/ http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/king-of-tokyo-2011-accessibility-teardown/

3/28/2019

I feel like the Power Up! Expansion is very necessary. The game is fun without it however.

3/9/2019

Fun bash and smash filler.

3/8/2019

Great theme, the whole family can enjoy this one. Nice and short. REALLY great for kids as an alternative to Milton Bradley type games (monopoly etc).

3/6/2019

I found this one kind of miserable, not sure I understand the best play patters

3/6/2019

Fun dice chucker, though a bit too easy to get eliminated and some of the upgrades are unbalanced.

3/5/2019

Great Yahtzee replacement. Great gateway game. own the Halloween expansion.

2/21/2019

Base game, Power up, Halloween, Cthulhu and King Kong all sleeved in regular Mayday

2/15/2019

As a Godzilla fan I absolutely love the theme. My partner is take-it-or-leave-it on the game itself and I’m not too much higher. It’s way better with more people.

2/14/2019

As a Godzilla fan I absolutely love the theme. My partner is take-it-or-leave-it on the game itself and I’m not too much higher. It’s way better with more people.

2/14/2019

I really enjoy this, but I feel it needs the expansion with character cards to be complete.

2/12/2019

Yahtzee but with monsters. Great for kids or teenagers.

2/12/2019

Very fun party game that is always a good fit for a short game when I have 4 or more players.

2/12/2019

Love this game. Easy to learn and quick to play.

1/28/2019

2-6, 30m

1/25/2019

This game is awesome! It's easy to learn and a lot of fun. King of Tokyo is a fast game, a bit too fast. Ten health does not last long. I'd give a score of Ten if it was a bit longer. Anyway, get this game. It's an exciting and very fun game, and the more the merrier.

1/24/2019

4 and 6 year old really do love this game. 4 year old likes to collect power cards, 6 year old likes to pout when he loses. We are working on the second one.

1/23/2019

monster yatzee. Longer than a filler game, but basically a filler game.

1/23/2019

Yahtzee-like game about giant monsters trying to destroy Tokyo (or each other). Quick, thematic, and strategic to a point, although just about worthless as a two-player game. Which is weird, because it will almost always come down to being one-on-one...

1/22/2019

Light, monster movie fun from Richard Garfield, with a combative Yahtzee mechanic combined with a leveling-up system. Not a lot of strategic depth here, though there is a large tactical component to the rerolls and power cards. Player elimination would usually be a strike against it, but it plays so fast you won't be sitting out for long after your monster dies.

1/21/2019

Monster mashing game. "Meh" for me :)

1/21/2019

Get Power Up Exmansion?

1/17/2019

Despite being a dice-rolling game, KoT is a ton of quick, silly, monsterish fun. Always delightful smashy goodness.

1/15/2019

Fun game to play with non gamer family and friends. Enjoy the fun of beating up on other players.

1/15/2019

King of Tokyo is a yahtzee-esq slugfest, reminicient of the classic Rampage arcade game. The king-of-the-hill attack mechanisms give the game a good feel, and the ability cards help solidify the clashing-monsters theme. The game overly encourages damage dealing, making the victory point condition mostly irrelevant which is a shame as in narrows the game to a singular strategy. But, considering its simplicity and accessible theme, it is one of the better kid-focused games.

1/11/2019

$29.90 15-Dec-14

1/10/2019

Giant fighting monsters and monster sized dice. What's not to love?

1/10/2019

10X10

1/9/2019

Uses the yahtzee mechanic for dice rolling which is fine, I think what irks me about this game is the fact that it's so hard to purchase the cards sometimes. Yet the cards are the coolest thing in the game to me, so when they're just sitting there staring at everyone and no one can afford any it just becomes really annoying.

12/24/2018

(10/16) 6. (10/17) Drop to 5. Just haven't had the urge to play this again, but also haven't had a chance to play with the Power Up. Keeping it as another gateway.

12/22/2018

I really wanted to like this game but I honestly can't see why people love it so much. It can knock some people out early and then drag on with only a couple of players left. Theme feels really pasted on. It has fiddly mechanics and it's easy to forget a variety of upkeep activities. I thought perhaps the kids would like it but even the 9yo and 13yo dislike it and would prefer to play anything else but this.

12/19/2018