King of Tokyo

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (93 Total)

1
20
54
14
2

Base game,...

by saruichiban

Base game, Power up, Halloween, Cthulhu and King Kong all sleeved in regular Mayday

2/15/2019

As a Godzi...

by thomasjbradley

As a Godzilla fan I absolutely love the theme. My partner is take-it-or-leave-it on the game itself and I’m not too much higher. It’s way better with more people.

2/14/2019

As a Godzi...

by thomasjbradley

As a Godzilla fan I absolutely love the theme. My partner is take-it-or-leave-it on the game itself and I’m not too much higher. It’s way better with more people.

2/14/2019

I really e...

by mgacy

I really enjoy this, but I feel it needs the expansion with character cards to be complete.

2/12/2019

Yahtzee bu...

by lasttruegypsy

Yahtzee but with monsters. Great for kids or teenagers.

2/12/2019

Very fun p...

by hengst2404

Very fun party game that is always a good fit for a short game when I have 4 or more players.

2/12/2019

Love this ...

by superburrito

Love this game. Easy to learn and quick to play.

1/28/2019

2-6, 30m

by snurp

2-6, 30m

1/25/2019

This game ...

by donkbrown

This game is awesome! It's easy to learn and a lot of fun. King of Tokyo is a fast game, a bit too fast. Ten health does not last long. I'd give a score of Ten if it was a bit longer. Anyway, get this game. It's an exciting and very fun game, and the more the merrier.

1/24/2019

4 and 6 ye...

by Gordo81

4 and 6 year old really do love this game. 4 year old likes to collect power cards, 6 year old likes to pout when he loses. We are working on the second one.

1/23/2019

monster ya...

by jasondeutsch

monster yatzee. Longer than a filler game, but basically a filler game.

1/23/2019

Yahtzee-li...

by Zeugmatic Player

Yahtzee-like game about giant monsters trying to destroy Tokyo (or each other). Quick, thematic, and strategic to a point, although just about worthless as a two-player game. Which is weird, because it will almost always come down to being one-on-one...

1/22/2019

Light, mon...

by andrewishi

Light, monster movie fun from Richard Garfield, with a combative Yahtzee mechanic combined with a leveling-up system. Not a lot of strategic depth here, though there is a large tactical component to the rerolls and power cards. Player elimination would usually be a strike against it, but it plays so fast you won't be sitting out for long after your monster dies.

1/21/2019

Monster ma...

by usagi-san

Monster mashing game. "Meh" for me :)

1/21/2019

Get Power ...

by Zenly

Get Power Up Exmansion?

1/17/2019

Despite be...

by frankqb

Despite being a dice-rolling game, KoT is a ton of quick, silly, monsterish fun. Always delightful smashy goodness.

1/15/2019

Fun game t...

by eyeballertbb

Fun game to play with non gamer family and friends. Enjoy the fun of beating up on other players.

1/15/2019

King of To...

by ekloff

King of Tokyo is a yahtzee-esq slugfest, reminicient of the classic Rampage arcade game. The king-of-the-hill attack mechanisms give the game a good feel, and the ability cards help solidify the clashing-monsters theme. The game overly encourages damage dealing, making the victory point condition mostly irrelevant which is a shame as in narrows the game to a singular strategy. But, considering its simplicity and accessible theme, it is one of the better kid-focused games.

1/11/2019

$29.90 15-...

by michaellasalle

$29.90 15-Dec-14

1/10/2019

Giant figh...

by KimchiTurtle

Giant fighting monsters and monster sized dice. What's not to love?

1/10/2019

10X10...

by MooseMcD

10X10

1/9/2019

Uses the y...

by Psylocke

Uses the yahtzee mechanic for dice rolling which is fine, I think what irks me about this game is the fact that it's so hard to purchase the cards sometimes. Yet the cards are the coolest thing in the game to me, so when they're just sitting there staring at everyone and no one can afford any it just becomes really annoying.

12/24/2018

(10/16) 6....

by markbesada

(10/16) 6. (10/17) Drop to 5. Just haven't had the urge to play this again, but also haven't had a chance to play with the Power Up. Keeping it as another gateway.

12/22/2018

I really w...

by Tangram11

I really wanted to like this game but I honestly can't see why people love it so much. It can knock some people out early and then drag on with only a couple of players left. Theme feels really pasted on. It has fiddly mechanics and it's easy to forget a variety of upkeep activities. I thought perhaps the kids would like it but even the 9yo and 13yo dislike it and would prefer to play anything else but this.

12/19/2018