Memoir 44

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (116 Total)

6
53
47
6
3

I've played the game 3 times. My wife's not interested and I can't find anyone else to play with.

5/13/2020

by Wyrd

Love the action/order selection mechanic that has you making tough choices on each turn. Components are great, plenty of scenarios, this one is a classic for a reason.

4/15/2020

One of my favorite games. Great fun and I suggest a must have. Not a heavy war game by any means. Certainly the option when your most likely partners (especially wives) aren't into fantasy. Personally, this theme my preference of all the C&C games.Neat theme, great expansions, loads of scenarios, good duration (although can be a little long to setup).The cards which determine the commands you can give and the dice for the battles being random, means every game is different. Even the same scenario plays totally differently. Not all scenarios are even, this is also an interesting feature. Makes this good for teaching new opponents. More user scenarios seem to appearing just recently (I just hope Battlelore doesn't steal all the focus).Plays well with two (my wife enjoys all aspects except the setup time).Easy to show to others who only take a few turns to grasp the workings and then they are pretty much strategising like experienced players.

4/12/2020

One of my favorite games. Great fun and I suggest a must have. Not a heavy war game by any means. Certainly the option when your most likely partners (especially wives) aren't into fantasy. Personally, this theme my preference of all the C&C games.Neat theme, great expansions, loads of scenarios, good duration (although can be a little long to setup).The cards which determine the commands you can give and the dice for the battles being random, means every game is different. Even the same scenario plays totally differently. Not all scenarios are even, this is also an interesting feature. Makes this good for teaching new opponents. More user scenarios seem to appearing just recently (I just hope Battlelore doesn't steal all the focus).Plays well with two (my wife enjoys all aspects except the setup time).Easy to show to others who only take a few turns to grasp the workings and then they are pretty much strategising like experienced players.

4/12/2020

I still haven't played the full game, just played an introductory scenario with my sister (and she didnt enjoy it).So until I find someone to play it with me, I cant see the depth of this game!

4/2/2020

Very nice thematic game in which you can replay a dozen battles of WWII. With the two-sided board, you can both play two D-Day battles or a number of other battles. Although strentgh varies per side, they usually turn out to be quite evenly matched and after playing one game you switch sides to play the other side as well. The player with the most victory medals wins the game. Tought it to my son (8) who played along with ease, although the game is in English. Will defenitily play again

3/18/2020

Great fun so far! Simple rules, lots of room for strategy, and short playing time make this a winner.

3/9/2020

surprised by what i saw in the box...yes it has luck, but not in a way i find offensive. many of the scenarios are not balanced and i find this no problem either. it allows you to take on a beginner with a good challenge.

3/4/2020

by paka

Most playings with my son. Its great father-son game. For playing with adults I'd prefer CC: Napoleonics.

2/25/2020

Hey, why haven't you played this?! It's amazing!

2/3/2020

Neat game but totally killed by Battlelore 2nd ed for me. Primarily due to the theme and cool unit powers.

1/26/2020

So much fun! The variety of scenarios and the gorgeous production values almost make me forget that victory is almost totally out of my hands. Sure, the scenarios are unbalanced, the card draw and dice rolls determine the outcome--but the theme and toy-value make it very cool. [EDIT] Have no desire to play this since BattleLore came out. The mechanics are simply clumsy and luck-driven in comparison.

1/26/2020

Good condition.

1/26/2020

I have enjoyed this game system in it's other incarnations.

1/10/2020

12/20/2019

didn't like the combat system

12/14/2019

This game gets me thinking. I am not a big fan of 2 player war games but this one feels different while being similar. The game looks fantastic and makes you want to play. The set up is a little tedious and the game can be slow with newer players but that does not hurt the game. I have played this game many times with my 10 year old son and we enjoy it. The one thing I do not care for is all the luck. There are dice which dictate the death of troops or not and then the cards the tell which troops can act. If you do not get the right cards the game can be frustrating. I understand how this reflects the true feel of how war goes...but that does not mean I have to like it. Overall I like the game and should give it an 8 but juts can't. How bout 7.8 Overall Score 7, Appearence 9, Components 9, The Box (storage) 8, Rulebook 8, Ease of Play 8, Mechanics 6, Involvment 7, Replayability 8, Uniqueness 7, Luck 6 v Strategy 4 (The higher the number the more it leans that way.)

11/3/2019

Just a great, fun, historic, accessible game for gamers. Can be super frustrating when you don't have the cards to play what you want, but it does make it much more fun overall with gamers of variable experience.

11/3/2019

The whole Battle Cry / Memoir 44 system just rubs me the wrong way. I refuse to believe that the limitations on the cards with respect to the left/center/right have anything to do with real command & control.

8/31/2019

Second of the Command and Colors games, and possibly the best as it understands that this system, at its core, should not pile on the rules.  I also appreciate the increased focus on movement and ranged attacks as opposed to Battlelore, which can feel static next to this.

6/26/2019

http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/memoir-44-2004/ http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/memoir-44-2004-accessibility-teardown/

3/28/2019

signed

3/8/2019

One of the best war games for a young player. Very fun, but lacks the depth of more difficult titles and setup takes some time and effort.

3/6/2019

Light, tactical, and immensely thematic. Setup takes a long time but isn't cumbersome.

2/16/2019

WWII implementation of Commands and Colors that maybe went a little too far in the simple direction, but is countered by the games being generally faster than other CC games.

2/12/2019

Literally one of the best games ever made, in my opinion. This is the game I always choose to play on my birthday. I have almost every expansion and addition. Always fun. Some of my best gaming experiences have come from this one.

2/12/2019

Too luck driven, boring to play and watch your opponent hose you when you lose because of bad dice rolls or bad card draws. Not fun :(

1/25/2019

Quick, easy and thematic World War II battle game with detailed minis, historical maps, and tons of variability. Mostly revolves around using terrain on the map to your greatest advantage while managing the command cards in your hand to overpower your enemy. I really like the mini history lesson included with each scenario.

1/22/2019

by klz

I love the way the game is so flexible. It's dropped a point because BattleLore improves on the system in a few ways, and I love the fantasy theme more.

1/22/2019

Wargames are not my thing. I do like confrontational games but not wargames per se. As well, WW2 is not my favourite area either. Only played once just to see how I would like the system and the whole concept of "wargames". Probably won't play again.

1/21/2019

Very entertaining game, that is right up my alley (WWII). Fair bit of tactic but the luck of the dice and drawing of command cards make it a 7 instead of something higher.

1/11/2019

Sleeved.

1/9/2019