Steam

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (58 Total)

0
24
28
5
0

Streamlined Age of Steam with more tough decisions because of the split Income/VP track. Being able to use an entire delivery to increase the income makes it less brutal, but it works well. Map looks nice, great bits, and I like the new City Growth rules that replace the randomness of the former Production action in AoS. I still like AoS, but I definitely I prefer Steam. The Standard version is best, but I like that the Base game is an option if I want to teach newbies or want to get in a quicker game. To me, it's more strategic than AoS, because I don't have to worry so much about bankruptcy in the beginning, and I can focus on long-term shipping possibilities, rather than "where am I going to find something to ship *this turn* in order to keep from losing VPs?" I can employ a much more aggressive strategy in Steam than was possible in AoS. Steam eliminates the randomness and some of the brutality (not all!) to make for an overall more enjoyable gaming experience.

4/1/2020

3-5 players, 90 minutes, medium heavy, designed by Martin WallaceFun game, would like to play again.

3/18/2020

after one play i have to say i think this game works really well. i have trouble with the bland art work that would have been great in 1985.. but it's way to insipid for the naughties.. too many hard to read images.. too PC processed... get an artist to work on this.. the dude who did Powergrid would be awesome for this.But the game is great!!

3/4/2020

by paka

Very nice system. * Didn't really got on the table much, so it got sold.

2/25/2020

"9" rating is only for 3 (maybe 4) players. Any higher and the rating goes down due to down time.

1/30/2020

Of AoS, Railroad Tycoon, and Steam, Steam is my preferred version. It has tight money management, but doesn't feel so merciless and cruel. The ridiculous production chart is also gone, and good riddance.

1/26/2020

This is an interesting take on the Age of Steam idea. Personally, I don't mind it, though I can easily see how very hard-core AoS players will despise the "resources from heaven" abundance which is lacking in its economically brutal counterpart.

1/10/2020

Simple mechanics but deeply strategic.

1/7/2020

I'm sorry Mr. Wallace, but I probably wont buy it: I already have the lighter (RRT) and meatier version of the game (AoS). edit after Essen 09: but if you get your hands on the special edition and you get the author to sign it, then that's a different story... :p

1/4/2020

Two games, three years apart. I don't think I got a good handle on what is involved in the game, and which of the abilities would be most useful when definitely escaped me. But I'll play again and probably feel confused for at least half the game.

1/3/2020

Heavy, thought provoking and downright nasty as the game closes.

2/16/2019

I may need to play this a bit more to figure out what makes this game fun. It was certainly enjoyable, but it was pretty complex and the strategies were a bit opaque.

1/22/2019

2009-10-31 - Bought 2009-11-05: 3 player map; basic game. Not bad. A bit of a change compared to AoS 2nd edition. I like the separation of the income track and VP track.

1/21/2019

Steam, while mechanically sound, fails to maintain thematic continuity and becomes disjointed. What begins as a gratifying race for key routes and city access devolves into a competition for creating the most convoluted delivery routes. The game rewards players for delivering through as many towns as possible, which is antithetical to how a delivery corps should function. In reality short and quick deliveries are preferred, but in Steam players must create an increasingly serpentine web of rail lines. This inconsistency makes the game frustratingly counterintuitive and produces a strong enough disconnect between the theme and mechanics, that makes even the most mechanics-first gamers cringe.

1/11/2019