Codenames: Pictures

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (144 Total)

5
47
84
5
0

Picked up cheap in the summer. Good for family games.

4/1/2020

Another quite interesting version of codenames. The fact that there are less bystanders in this version is a little different though, makes the clues a little easier maybe, but then the pictures are so quirky that may not actually be the case.

4/1/2020

Amazing. Best of all the versions.

4/1/2020

A great party game again.

3/24/2020

Really fun game specially with 6 people involved. A game to have when lots of friends come over. The guessing and agents mechanic is pretty clever. No wonder it's a Vlaada game - this guy can make up some pretty twisted and fun rules

3/24/2020

But with pictures! fun variant. We combined it with base game

3/9/2020

For some reason pictures just didn't trigger the same parts of the brain. It was not as engaging as the original game with words. Still a great game, however. This can be played with multi-lingual groups and mixed with the regular game.

2/14/2020

I like this better than regular Codenames. I like That the pictures give you more things to try to make connections, and I like that it makes it more challenging. Great party game one that I will keep in my collection.

1/31/2020

The pictures are very well-executed, but I personally prefer word to word connections over word to image connections.

1/26/2020

I much prefer the words over the pictures. I've found it's much easier for almost everybody I've ever played with to make/figure out clues when there's words. The pictures are neat, but they are a little abstract for a lot of clues to make sense.

1/25/2020

I think I'll prefer the word version due to the reduced interpretation issues.

1/3/2020

Not as good as the original, but different enough to at least warrant its existence.

12/20/2019

Always thought Pictures was superior to classic Codenames but realized one flaw - it's more difficult for the clue givers to look at details in the pictures without being too obvious.

12/20/2019

Great alternative to the original Codenames. Some people like the original better and some like Pictures. This is probably the only version that I would recommend besides the original.

12/3/2019

One of the very best gamer party games. Work in teams, so it doesn't matter how many players you have. Infinitely repeatable, especially if you use cards from different games as the spy pictures. Fun and laughter.

10/25/2019

I like the pictures more than the words, but they don't make any marked change to the game. If anything they might make it easier to link cards together, making the game less challenging and thus less interesting to play.

6/14/2019

Pretty fun game for groups.

5/14/2019

http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/codenames-pictures-2016/ http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/codenames-pictures-2016-accessibility-teardown/

3/28/2019

Codenames is more fun for me (with words rather than pictures), however, some will find pictures more interesting or easier. Combining the two is interesting too.

3/6/2019

It's fine not an initial home run at first enjoyed original more.

3/6/2019

Present from 2016 BGG Secret Santa

1/23/2019

A bit of a step back from Codenames (: Words). Pictures has much stronger table presence than Words, but Words explores an interesting facet of human language that Picutres fails to replicate. At the end of the day though, its basically the same game. I don't see the need to own both (unless to mix and match, which would likely be very fun), but I'd recommend Pictures over Words for anyone who hadn't already landed a copy.

1/11/2019

(+) A new twist on original Codenames, pictures are unique, easy to teach, quick play time, good price (-) If you've played the original Codenames it doesn't change things enough to make it feel new, all pictures are black and white, fewer cards (4x4 instead of 5x5), original codenames does this concept better in my opinion

1/10/2019

I was excited after playing the original so much but it felt a little less fun. The images are clever but it felt difficult to connect more thab 2 or 3 each turn.

12/23/2018

(2/17) 9. (9/17) Drop to 8. After the initial excitement, I think I don't like this as much as original Codenames (though I do think I'm better at this version.) Still, a fantastic party game and I'm sure some will definitely prefer this to the original.

12/22/2018