Hive Pocket

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (105 Total)

4
46
50
4
0

Spouse: Like

5/1/2020

by Wyrd

Bug Chess is amazing, and bug-like in the best way that crawls into your ear and latches onto your brain and...FOR THE HIVE. The way the pieces build off of each other to form the board is both cool and central to the mechanics. Takes a moment to learn how the pieces move, but the combo of color and bug-personality somehow makes them easy to remember! Plays fast but intensely strategic.

4/15/2020

Really simple concept that can be played on a relatively small surface in a short amount of time, but is tactically pretty deep. If you fail to pay attention you'll be losing quickly against someone who is.

4/1/2020

travel edition of Hive, also includes mosquito and pillbug expansions. Nice little abstract game.

3/18/2020

Good game, but I so rarely sit with just 2 players.

1/28/2020

[Mid-Heavy, Abstract]

1/25/2020

I like the smaller size quite a bit. It does nothing to detract from the game-play, but it makes it notably more portable. I suppose that a number of the expansions don't support the Pocket size, but that doesn't bug me.

1/24/2020

I've only just acquired the physical game but have been playing it on iOS for a few months and think it's a great entry-level strategy game. Plus, I'm a hobby beekeeper so I can't resist the bug theme.

1/2/2020

Hive is a small abstract game in which two players try to surround the rival's queen using a roster of invertebrates, each with a different special power. Components are absolutely fabulous. Thick and big bakelite hexagons. That said, I did not like the game very much. It may be me. It looks like I do not enjoy abstract games.

10/25/2019

2-player only

10/18/2019

Travel well, pretty bugs, need to play more but has a good impression!

10/18/2019

Best: 2 Time: 20 Min Weight: 2.34

10/17/2019

Everything good about hive, but with the expansions and with reasonably sized tiles

5/15/2019

So fast, portable, simple yet complex.

5/14/2019

Hive Carbon edition

2/12/2019

This is a fast and intense pure strategy game; all of the information is out there, all of the possibilities are known. If you can get the initiative, everything could fall into place... but if you aren't careful, you'll end up one move behind and unable to keep your queen protected. Like chess, but more portable, faster, and more fun.

1/22/2019

SO's favorite. I would prefer chess. Love this edition because it's super portable, we have played it everywhere!

1/18/2019

great bar game

1/11/2019

$14.96 01-Dec-16

1/10/2019

One of my favorite abstract games, plays pretty quick and is pretty easy to teach.

12/24/2018

In Germany

12/22/2018

Abstract game with a pasted on bug theme. Really portable and awesome game

12/22/2018