Alchemists

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (96 Total)

6
46
35
7
2

Haven't Played Yet.

4/15/2020

Awesome challenging game!Cant wait to try it again!

4/2/2020

2-4 players, 120 minutes, medium heavy, deduction/worker placement.Really like the theme, the look and the mechanics.Rating based on 1st plays with 2, 3 and 4 players, which were a lot of fun, although I must admit I'm not that good at it unfortunately. Doesn't hit the table much, so consider trading this one away.

3/18/2020

2-4

3/7/2020

Congress of Gamers 2018 Winter Math Trade

1/25/2020

2-4p

1/24/2020

Brain burner. Excellent mix of deductive reasoning and worker placement. Innovative integration of the app works flawlessly and really adds to the game.

1/7/2020

I believe this is the heaviest weighted game we have in our collection at the moment. I see many people trading their copies of Alchemists, many unopened or unpunched. I think this is a huge mistake! This game is incredible. It is equal parts deduction and worker placement. The rules are quite intimidating but the game offers 2 variants for players just starting out and players who are more confident with the gameplay. This game's use of smart phones/tablets/computers is awesome. All players can share on device or use their own personal devices by inputting a shared code that is randomly generated. This code is linked to the game's deduction element and ensures that all player's combination of ingredients generate the same potion results. This game is definitely for experienced gamers but it is one of the most beautifully striking games we own. This one definitely needs considerable table space though!

1/4/2020

Played much more online that with physical sets, I'm hesitant to try with just whoever due to the logic issues and not wanting to deal with mistakes that are easily made.

1/3/2020

My maiden voyage with this game was greatly enjoyable. I didn't really suss out all the mechanics until a couple of rounds in, but really appreciated the complexity and subtlety of the play. Looking forward to more of this.

1/2/2020

Fun game that makes my brain hurt! This is one of the only games that seriously induces AP for us.

12/12/2019

fun game, but requiring an app is a hard sell to get others to play, and setup time can be lengthly.

12/11/2019

FULLY SLEEVED 96 x Swan PanAsia Mini Euro: Standard (SWN-006, 160/pack) - (45 x 70mm)

5/15/2019

7.1 after first play. Felt different from anything else we have. 7.4. After 3 plays. There are two games here, one is the deduction race to determine what components make up each ingredient (or sudoku on steroids as one friend commented). The other is the worker placement aspect, which has a touch of fresco about it. The random draw of the 8 ingredients can reduce the options you wanted to take. Artifacts can provide an element of interaction. why this is in my collection A competitive deduction game.

4/12/2019

Love alchemists. Very fun, thinky game. Your head will hurt after. Takes awhile to explain, but I'm getting better at it. The wife really likes the discovery aspect of the game, but ignores the actual VP portion, but still enjoys playing. Takes awhile to play as the player count goes up. App is great!

2/14/2019

2-4, 120m

1/25/2019

Hard to get to the table due to requiring a phone app

1/18/2019

One of the most puzzle-y games I've ever played. I love the deduction, guessing, and sometimes bluffing, that occurs with publishing aspect of the game, but the game as a whole feels rather rigid. Actions are incredibly limited, and money is tight, forcing you to make decisions with limited information. Granted, that is the point of the game, but I wish ingredients and money were distributed more liberally. For a fun solo experience, open the app and play through the chemical/ingredient puzzle; it is very fun even on its own.

1/11/2019

This game is so much fun. However it can burn your brain out at certain points with how much there is to pay attention to. Also if you mess up recording a potion result at some point you will go insane trying to fix everything. The app I think works really well. It's extremely simple and easy to use and eliminates having to have a player sit out and be a game master.

12/24/2018

Germany

12/22/2018

BGG Secret Santa gift from the wonderful and overly generous Ann (who I'm still awaiting an Geekmail from!!) (12/16) 9. Really, really enjoyed my first play of this. I generally enjoy deduction games and actually won in a four player game where two players had already played before and were almost certainly playing better than me but were unlucky while I fell into a nice engine that pushed me far ahead. However, even with the victory, I definitely still don't grasp the intricacies of this game yet, and I'm very excited about that. Looking forward to diving back in soon, though I'm slightly worried by how intimidating this might be for players not already familiar with the game. Oh, and I LOVE the app aspect of the game. Very useful and clever. (10/17) Drop to 8. A game that I love that feels especially difficult to get to the table given how up-to-your-neck deduction is involved.

12/22/2018