Defenders of the Realm Board Game

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (28 Total)

0
8
15
4
1

Yeah, this is the exact same game as Pandemic. Only it takes longer, and is much harder, also more complicated to explain.I honestly would rather just play Pandemic, but this does have theme going for it, though I think Pandemic's theme is very good too.

4/1/2020

My first play with 4 left me pretty "meh" about it. That said, I would like to play it some more before, perhaps with some more experience players. I want to like it, because big plastic dragons.SOLD, October 2014

2/28/2020

People's Choice Top 100 2012 # Tom Vasel's Top 100 2012 #30

1/20/2020

I found the "Where is this location on the board" aspect of the game frustrating. It clearly got in the way of the game.

1/10/2020

A co-operative game with a fantasy setting and dice rolling for results. The randomness and the story background is very appealing to the kids. Similarities to Pandemic are strong, but the games do feel different due to the dice and the lack of knowledge of the game "world". The narrative gets stronger with each expansion. INCLUDED: Defenders of the Realm: The Dragon Expansion Defenders of the Realm: Hero Expansion #1, #2, #3 Defenders of the Realm: Global Effects Cards Defenders of the Realm: Generals Expansion Defenders of the Realm: Quest Deck Defenders of the Realm: The Barbarian Defenders of the Realm: The Errant Paladin Defenders of the Realm: The Noble Dwarf Defenders of the Realm: Legends Deck Defenders of the Realm: Additional Darkness Spreads Cards Defenders of the Realm: Quest Deck Defenders of the Realm: High Council Cards Defenders of the Realm: Relics

10/25/2019

I like Pandemic better, and don't see any reason to play this over it. The fantasy theme doesn't outweigh the much worse gameplay.

2/16/2019

A fun cooperative game. It's basically Pandemic in a fantasy world, albeit with greater complexity and some randomness introduced by dice roles.

1/9/2019