The Castles of Burgundy

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (100 Total)

12
65
17
2
0

31-12-2012...

by Robertcompton

31-12-2012 Wow, what a surprise this was. I had read some of the comments and added this to my secret santa wish list, thinking at the time it sounded interesting enough without knowing too much about the game. Well, having played one game, I like it, a lot. We picked up the rules as we went as the manual was self explanatory in terms of actions but found ourselves referring to the technology and building cards to get a better understanding of specific cards. Can't wait to play this again. 20-03-2013 Still enjoying this game and changing my rating to a 9. Printed a player aid off from the geek. Why this stays in my collection While assigning dice rolls to represent different options isn't unique (Alien Frontiers). Draw of the tiles provides the element of luck, but the fun is making the best use of your options available.

4/12/2019

Includes m...

by GeraldCooperberg

Includes meeple realty insert with 4 dice towers.

3/27/2019

Wow! That'...

by Fly Casual

Wow! That's a lot of game for the relatively small box and average production quality. Absolutely brilliant!

3/6/2019

2-4 player...

by noduh

2-4 players (best 2) 60-90 minutes

2/18/2019

Great medi...

by elltrain

Great medium-weight game with an interesting dice mechanic. I really wish the tiles had icons on them instead of having to compare the building graphics all the time.

2/16/2019

Lots of fu...

by thomasjbradley

Lots of fun—we enjoyed the dice mechanic and loved the different tiles and variety of scoring options. In our first play we didn’t really get into the yellow tiles but I’m sure that will come with practice. We wish the component quality was higher—we both felt that the tiles were too thin and poorly cut.

2/14/2019

2-4, 90m

by snurp

2-4, 90m

1/25/2019

The only F...

by Brent

The only Feld I like. Good 2p game that can be slammed out in about an hour.

1/23/2019

2012-10-28...

by usagi-san

2012-10-28 - I won my first play (4p) of this at Fallcon 24. I thought it was one round too long. It was ok and I would perhaps play it again. 2016-08-15 - Bought BoardGameBliss 2018-10-28 - 2nd play (2p)... exactly 6 years ago! Rating 6.5 -> 7 2018-11-18 - Enjoyed with the missus; 7 -> 8 (she says 9)

1/23/2019

City/count...

by Zeugmatic Player

City/countryside development powered by unpredictability. Each turn you use two dice to randomly determine what buildings you can plan, what board locations you can build upon, what goods you can sell, and what resources you can gather. Careful planning and management of the randomness is rewarded with points from a variety of categories. The first several times I played I had to constantly ask "How do you score points again?" because there are so many multi-step processes involved.

1/22/2019

Fun game, ...

by Chitownsox

Fun game, low rules overhead

1/22/2019

Very enjoy...

by Baltasilian

Very enjoyable, looking forward to more plays. Will need to re-evaluate after more plays.

1/21/2019

The smoothest mechanics you'll find

by adomescik

(+) Smooth and unique mechanics, nice balance of luck and skill, excellent way of deciding 1st player, plays well at all player counts, great price, simple to teach with a lot of depth to the gameplay, multiple player boards and random tiles for variability, subtle player interaction, clear rules (-) Bland artwork and color scheme, some tiles seem weak at certain player counts, theme is not brought out in the mechanics, poor insert, thin player mats

1/21/2019

[Draw bags...

by LuisGomez

[Draw bags for randomize some tiles]

1/18/2019

THE game t...

by svenv

THE game that got us into collecting Eurogames. We learned this at a board game cafe and basically immediately bought it.

1/16/2019

What a del...

by frankqb

What a delightful game. Sure, the artwork is awful but the game itself is wonderfully designed with great decisions. Perfect for 2 players, never played with more.

1/15/2019

A brillian...

by ubRtstcl

A brilliant design, its fresh every time and always a blast.

1/15/2019

Dry, but f...

by thingamarob

Dry, but fun. Seems to program your choices, but I love tile-laying games. Update: I'm seeing a lot more to this game now. Love it.

1/11/2019

It is not ...

by ekloff

It is not pretty looking, but it is very enjoyable, and the dice are implemented in a compelling way. Player interaction is limited, and downtime can be a bit of an issue, but the total game length is nice overall. I love the puzzle of optimizing each turn, and the point-salad nature of the game, but the perpetual bookkeeping occasionally turns me off. It is very common for players, turns later, to exclaim, "Oh, I forgot to score points for [insert one of the million scoring methods here]."

1/11/2019

can someon...

by messyjesse

can someone put out a better edition of this game? please!

1/11/2019

Love that ...

by KimchiTurtle

Love that it plays 2 players so well, seeing as this is my SO and mine's go-to "long" game. Top 5 material right here.

1/10/2019

No Review Title

by Kanstandler

No Review Description

1/10/2019

This game ...

by eyeballertbb

This game is a lot of fun. The dice makes you originally think that a lot of luck is involved but really the dice hardly affect the outcome of the game. I do think that the first player has a large advantage and that water tiles are not useful to play but maybe as our strategies evolve we will learn otherwise.

1/10/2019

Absolutely...

by Rxram

Absolutely one of my favorites

1/10/2019

A very int...

by Psylocke

A very interesting game that has a puzzle like nature to keep you thinking the entire time you are playing.

12/24/2018

Gift from ...

by markbesada

Gift from Meaghan and Adam! (8/16) 8. (10/17) 8. Such a wonderful game whose artistic drabness you barely notice because the rest of it functions so well. I'm actually sort of happy about how cheap and functional this game is because I imagine it helps keep the cost so low and love the idea that this low priced gem is helping many people see the magic of Euro games.

12/22/2018