The Castles of Burgundy

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (260 Total)

26
162
60
6
2

Very engaging game! The mechanics are amazing. Lots of ways to score that get your brain working. It's not perfect, though. I dislike having to remember what each of the buildings does. The setup takes a bit long having to flip all the tokens. The length of the game is a bit too much as well and for that reason I prefer this with 2 players.

2/14/2020

This was the first game I played at a local meetup. It was a little deep for a first game but I had prepped for it. I didn't know how she would like it but this is my wifes 2nd favorite game.

2/2/2020

I'd like to like it even more, but I just find it a little stale. Perhaps it's the theme. Still, won't turn down a game.

1/28/2020

This could be a 10 for me with more plays. In my opinion, I have no issues with the quality of components mentioned by so many people - seems more than adequate to me. I do have issues with the color choices - really tough for fully color-sighted people in a couple of cases. Wife loves this game!

1/26/2020

A favorite, nothing else feels quite as relaxing while being so engaging. To me it feels like sitting on a porch reading while it rains.

1/26/2020

Point-mongering games can sometimes get away with being overlong, but not this overlong--well over two hours is egregious. The dice mechanics also serve to inject a feeling of frustration now and again, especially when you roll doubles. At least it's marginally cleaner than Feld's other designs?

1/26/2020

2-4 Players 30-90 Minutes

1/25/2020

I really like aesthetics in my games as well as the tactile feel of components and this game just doesn't have any of that. The color choices are abysmal and the component quality leaves a bit to be desired. I really don't understand why designers/publishers of euros can't put even a tiny bit more effort in the artwork/theme/components of their games. However, Castles of Burgundy with it's green/yellow/brown mesh of blah somehow finds a way to charm the hearts of many. I am not immune because I can't help but really enjoy this game every time I bring it to the table. The game is so simple and elegant and yet provides a nice puzzle to try and piece together while also working out what your opponents need and getting those tiles before they can. The turns are lightning quick and the game always ends sooner than you want.

1/25/2020

1.5 xx

1/25/2020

Kinda interesting Euro. Ugly. Not great but there is some depth there. I honestly don't want to keep playing it, but I might change my mind.

1/25/2020

I'm not generally a fan of Stefan Feld's games. They tend to just be a pile of mechanisms thrown together in a point salad, which just isn't my kind of game. But this one has a certain quality to it. It's fast, it's interesting, and I always find myself coming back to it. The rules are fairly straightforward, I've never had any trouble teaching it to anyone. My one complaint for this game would be that the playerboards aren't very well balanced. It's well known that some boards score much more highly than others. I do wish more care had been put into that aspect of the design.

1/24/2020

People's Choice Top 100 2012 #48

1/20/2020

thanks andrew and holly and the boys for the bday gift! can't wait to play it 1/31/19: This has become a great 2P game for me. Would like to introduce this to game night in the future but for now I will only play it with 2. Would like to get an insert for this to speed up the setup/tear down time.

1/15/2020

Many options, ability and freedom to change plans on a dime, and works well with two through four players. Thoroughly enjoyable gem from Mr. Feld.

1/10/2020

Dice game with simple rules but tough decisions.

1/7/2020

I was very late to the Castles party but I absolutely love this game! The variable player boards keep every game feeling different. Despite only having 2 dice to use for actions each turn, there's so much on the board for you to do! Love this and highly recommend it!

1/4/2020

Lots of fiddly bits, at least 50 actions during the game. Tends to have players go slightly different ways from the start and merge back at the end.

1/3/2020

Strategy, weight 3.00 :tankard: :tankard: :tankard: #Tile placement, #Dice action selection Played with: :d10-2:-players with :indigo: wife :star::star::star::halfstar::nostar: :d10-2:-players with :tobacco: friend :star::star::star::halfstar::nostar: Intend to play with: :indigo::tobacco: Wife, Work/B&BG/CABS friends :coffee: if they like heavy games and minimal interaction then it is great for most unknown friends Possible Player counts: :d10-2::d10-3::d10-4: Best with :d10-2: :d6-1: Level of joy :star::star::star::halfstar::nostar: :d6-2: Must like: #Tile placement, #Dice action selection :d6-3: Also have, Castles of Burgundy Card game, prefer the card version, fixes some imbalance in this game :d6-4: :heart: keeper value :arrowS: Must play again, but this one was a difficult slog both times I have played it, game seemed to be out of my control, I had no clue why I did so poorly :d6-5: Similar to in my collection: Power Grid (sorta, in the sense of economic and complicated), Castles of Mad King (sorta removing items that other people want) :d6-6: No known solo mode, seems possible, see card game version :jug: The game is kinda random, but not excessively. Mostly an abstract puzzle, and race to get things that maximize value. No turn is completely wasted but I don’t know I was always acting best. Though it is too random for my taste, the addition of the workers who can modify the dice does make the random work. Always willing to play but won’t likely suggest it. April 2019 $21.99

12/14/2019

Fantastic two player game. I love stringing combos together and trying to out-plan and out-think my wife in this game.

12/12/2019

Location: Kallax

12/3/2019

Great solo variant by SoloPlay

12/3/2019

http://www.boiteajeux.net/detailjoueur.php?id=65709

11/13/2019

Excellent game! A lot of choices for the players. The constrains of the dice rolls limit those choices somewhat, but that just means that the players can gamble or play it safe since the dice can be manipulated with some safe play. A lot to do and a lot of fun. INCLUDED: The Castles of Burgundy: 1st Expansion – New Player Boards The Castles of Burgundy: 2nd Expansion – New Hex Tiles The Castles of Burgundy: 4th Expansion – Monastery Boards The Castles of Burgundy: 5th Expansion – Pleasure Garden

10/25/2019

SOLD: 2016 RECEIVED:

10/18/2019

Classic!

10/18/2019

This game gets an 8 from me, but the extra 2 come from my wife. This is the boardgame that turned her desire to play boardgames of one to appease me, and spend time with me, to her asking to play boardgames, and actually enjoying them. CoB, by all accounts, should be the most boring game ever, but it's really the opposite. The tension it creates both with what you're attempting to build, and what the other player(s) are building is so great, and keeps building throughout the game. It's great, and everyone should play it at least once.

10/17/2019

This is a fine game, I see the bones of a good, even brilliant design. But it bores me to tears. I like efficiency puzzles, I like dice rolling +mitigation, I like the general weight of the game. I should like this game. But after over a dozen plays I still am just bored by it.

10/16/2019

Nice and thinky most of the time, a little dry on theme though. Could have the tiles differentiated a bit better.

6/26/2019

8.1 / 2-4 Best 2 / Overall 10 / Strategy 8 / 3.05 (2016 DT People's Choice #15, rated 10 by Reddit user)

6/15/2019

N/A

5/15/2019

31-12-2012 Wow, what a surprise this was. I had read some of the comments and added this to my secret santa wish list, thinking at the time it sounded interesting enough without knowing too much about the game. Well, having played one game, I like it, a lot. We picked up the rules as we went as the manual was self explanatory in terms of actions but found ourselves referring to the technology and building cards to get a better understanding of specific cards. Can't wait to play this again. 20-03-2013 Still enjoying this game and changing my rating to a 9. Printed a player aid off from the geek. Why this stays in my collection While assigning dice rolls to represent different options isn't unique (Alien Frontiers). Draw of the tiles provides the element of luck, but the fun is making the best use of your options available.

4/12/2019

Includes meeple realty insert with 4 dice towers.

3/27/2019

Wow! That's a lot of game for the relatively small box and average production quality. Absolutely brilliant!

3/6/2019

2-4 players (best 2) 60-90 minutes

2/18/2019

Great medium-weight game with an interesting dice mechanic. I really wish the tiles had icons on them instead of having to compare the building graphics all the time.

2/16/2019

Lots of fun—we enjoyed the dice mechanic and loved the different tiles and variety of scoring options. In our first play we didn’t really get into the yellow tiles but I’m sure that will come with practice. We wish the component quality was higher—we both felt that the tiles were too thin and poorly cut.

2/14/2019

2-4, 90m

1/25/2019

The only Feld I like. Good 2p game that can be slammed out in about an hour.

1/23/2019

2012-10-28 - I won my first play (4p) of this at Fallcon 24. I thought it was one round too long. It was ok and I would perhaps play it again. 2016-08-15 - Bought BoardGameBliss 2018-10-28 - 2nd play (2p)... exactly 6 years ago! Rating 6.5 -> 7 2018-11-18 - Enjoyed with the missus; 7 -> 8 (she says 9)

1/23/2019

City/countryside development powered by unpredictability. Each turn you use two dice to randomly determine what buildings you can plan, what board locations you can build upon, what goods you can sell, and what resources you can gather. Careful planning and management of the randomness is rewarded with points from a variety of categories. The first several times I played I had to constantly ask "How do you score points again?" because there are so many multi-step processes involved.

1/22/2019

Fun game, low rules overhead

1/22/2019

Very enjoyable, looking forward to more plays. Will need to re-evaluate after more plays.

1/21/2019

(+) Smooth and unique mechanics, nice balance of luck and skill, excellent way of deciding 1st player, plays well at all player counts, great price, simple to teach with a lot of depth to the gameplay, multiple player boards and random tiles for variability, subtle player interaction, clear rules (-) Bland artwork and color scheme, some tiles seem weak at certain player counts, theme is not brought out in the mechanics, poor insert, thin player mats

1/21/2019

[Draw bags for randomize some tiles]

1/18/2019

THE game that got us into collecting Eurogames. We learned this at a board game cafe and basically immediately bought it.

1/16/2019

What a delightful game. Sure, the artwork is awful but the game itself is wonderfully designed with great decisions. Perfect for 2 players, never played with more.

1/15/2019

A brilliant design, its fresh every time and always a blast.

1/15/2019

Dry, but fun. Seems to program your choices, but I love tile-laying games. Update: I'm seeing a lot more to this game now. Love it.

1/11/2019

It is not pretty looking, but it is very enjoyable, and the dice are implemented in a compelling way. Player interaction is limited, and downtime can be a bit of an issue, but the total game length is nice overall. I love the puzzle of optimizing each turn, and the point-salad nature of the game, but the perpetual bookkeeping occasionally turns me off. It is very common for players, turns later, to exclaim, "Oh, I forgot to score points for [insert one of the million scoring methods here]."

1/11/2019

can someone put out a better edition of this game? please!

1/11/2019

Love that it plays 2 players so well, seeing as this is my SO and mine's go-to "long" game. Top 5 material right here.

1/10/2019

No Review Description

1/10/2019

This game is a lot of fun. The dice makes you originally think that a lot of luck is involved but really the dice hardly affect the outcome of the game. I do think that the first player has a large advantage and that water tiles are not useful to play but maybe as our strategies evolve we will learn otherwise.

1/10/2019

Absolutely one of my favorites

1/10/2019

A very interesting game that has a puzzle like nature to keep you thinking the entire time you are playing.

12/24/2018

Gift from Meaghan and Adam! (8/16) 8. (10/17) 8. Such a wonderful game whose artistic drabness you barely notice because the rest of it functions so well. I'm actually sort of happy about how cheap and functional this game is because I imagine it helps keep the cost so low and love the idea that this low priced gem is helping many people see the magic of Euro games.

12/22/2018