Deception: Murder in Hong Kong

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (73 Total)

0
36
30
7
0

Very fun deduction game.

7/1/2019

A solid party game that requires just a bit to much setup for my tastes. The game flows well if you have someone who is familiar to lead the session, otherwise play mistakes are surprisingly easy to make. When a session goes well though it is quite fun. If you and your group like social deduction games this is worth looking at for sure.

6/19/2019

A wild hit every time I break it out. Always played at least a few times in a row. I wish some of the clue tiles weren't so useless/unhelpful.

5/14/2019

Really strong alternative to Resistance that leads to very unique table talk. Just the right amount of actual deduction VS social deduction/interpretation. Also the theme and presentation are great.

5/13/2019

http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/deception-murder-in-hong-kong-2014/ https://meeplelikeus.co.uk/deception-murder-in-new-york-2014-accessibility-teardown/

3/28/2019

Good social deduction. If you like mafia/werewolf but you want more than conjecture to go off of, this is for you. Better than The Resistance.

3/6/2019

4-12 players (best 7-8) 20 minutes

2/18/2019

this is a party game based on more on logical deduction, not as much social deduction. Much better game.

2/15/2019

This went from not getting a lot of play to seeing the table a lot with larger groups. It's replaced Secret Hitler in terms of social deduction games and it doesn't force anyone to really lie overtly. Seems easy at lower player counts.

1/23/2019

It takes social deduction and actually gives useful information to the players. A mix between mysterium and resistance.

1/22/2019

Non-boardgamer friends love this. I wish it came out more often. Don't see the need to get the expansion until it's hitting regular rotation.

1/16/2019

Mysterium meets Resistance, as player assume hidden-roles and try to oust the murderer/accomplice based on somewhat abstract clues from the mute forensic scientist. There isn't much structure to the game, which helps facilitate the discussion and debate amongst the players. I prefer Mysterium, but given it's surprisingly quick play time, it lends itself more to the filler space anyway.

1/11/2019

Neat social deduction game that blends The Resistance and Mysterium. Played a 4 player game just to get the feel and mechanics of the game down and I don't see this playing well with less than 6. Definitely a large party game for gamers, but easy enough for newcomers to grasp. Between this and Secret Hitler, I see The Resistance getting booted from my collection...

1/10/2019

Sleeved.

1/9/2019

(9/16) 8. Fantastic party game that is a little more involved than the usual fare. (9/17) Raise to 9. Consistently a hit whenever I bring it out. Playing with the accomplice more has really added to the fun.

12/22/2018

In Germany

12/22/2018