Glen More

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (56 Total)

0
27
24
4
0

I thought this was interesting, different type of game, and I had a good time with it. I wonder if all the various ways of getting points are balanced against each other, or whether a dominant strategy wins out more often than others in the end, but with one play, all our scores of people taking different strategies was pretty close.

4/1/2020

Weight: 2.67 / 5

3/18/2020

I really enjoy this elegant little game. Our group has yet to figure out any truly killer strategies, something I think is due in part to the random tile draw which forces improvisation. The tile placement/activation mechanics are not very intuitive, but this is not a hindrance. Glen More hits the sweet spot on the spectrum of playtime vs. depth.

2/28/2020

I like the placement restrictions and the fundamental economy, but this is a game where you spend far too much time doing fr too little. The downtime seemed interminable, especially given that you are penalized for taking turns--and thus are incentivized to take few of them. Perhaps better with fewer players.

1/26/2020

Some knowledge of the tiles is very useful, as is realising just how the scoring works. It seems there will be at least a couple of different strategies for good scores. More might be found with more play. On the whole though the game is just okay. While I'll play there are others I'd much prefer.

1/3/2020

This has hints of a good game, but it's just a bit too long and I don't like the activation mechanic.

12/20/2019

Very nice game that has the most effective and non-disruptive ghost 3rd player of any two player game that we have played. Very good mechanics that are easy to get the hang of once you play your first game. Nice wooden bit sand good quality components.

12/20/2019

It seems unlikely I'll get another play of this game, and that's unfortunate.

12/11/2019

SOLD Very clever turn mechanic that leads to agonizing decisions. The game plays quickly but the ending is a little too abrupt.

10/25/2019

GAMEPLAY Players build up their wee Scottish town by selecting tiles from an ever-changing “tile rondel”. Every time they add anew tile to their village, they can activate the tiles that are adjacent to the tile just placed, which potentially allows them to move Clansmen or promote Clansmen to Chieftains, generate resources, and/or make use of resource-to-VP conversion tiles. Games are played over 3 rounds represented by three stacks of tiles, and at the end of each round a scoring takes place for chieftains plus tams (funny Scottish hats), special location tiles (i.e., castles, lochs, and even an abbey), and sweet, sweet whiskey. THOUGHTS Tiny box, giant game. I am constantly struck by just how many decisions and possibilities are available. Tile selection, tile placement and tableau arrangement, and point generating strategies all conspire to make a deceptively simple game. A dinna ken why this game hasn't had a reprint yet! PROS -Nice artwork. -The market can bedevil you but also allow for strategic flexibility. It’s a simple system that is incredibly smooth. -The “tile rondel” makes for very tough decisions and tense moments. Do you jump ahead to get that really sweet tile? You may have to wait while your opponent collects all the tiles you left behind. Or you could hang back but then watch as your opponent grabs the tile you were hoping to get on a following turn. Agonizing! -The end of round scoring is extremely clever. It’s not a straight up count of VP but, instead, only one player scores off the difference in amounts. -The end of game scoring is equally smart: it makes players think twice about just building up a bloated town as the player with the most tiles loses 3 VP for every tile that he has more than his opponent. -One of the best quick-playing, resource-management games out there! NEUTRAL -Little player interaction beyond blocking. -Variability is slight because the tiles are separated into three stacks. The only variability is the order the tiles for each stack come out, and, if you have a lower player count, the tiles the dummy player removes from the game. -Some of the tile activation rules are a bit hard to grok. CONS -The components are flimsy, cheap, and small. For such a fantastic game, it is a shame the way Alea produced it. -Similarly, I would have liked a score track. I hate sorting through a pile of VP tokens. -While the two player game is really chess-like, it feels like a bigger city strategy always trumps any negative points you might take for having more tiles than your opponents. -This game is crying out for an expansion but I doubt one will ever come.

10/18/2019

Two plays in. I think it grabbed me. I now can see more of what I need to do (although I still tied for second, which is also tying for last). A lot of great choices to make, and a variety of paths to take to victory. I enjoyed it a lot more this time! Only one play in. It didn't "grab" me, but I think with more plays and a better understanding of what the different tiles/cards do, the rating will go up.

10/18/2019

Very fun light Euro.

2/16/2019

2-5, 45-70m

1/25/2019

So I played this at Fallcon 25. I thought it was a fun little game. Price was good so I bought it. 2012-10-11 - Bought (StarlitCitadel) 2017-07-31 - Sold; BGG

1/21/2019