Macao

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (35 Total)

1
8
23
1
1

2-4 players, 90 minutes, worker placementPlayed just once, but was very entertaining. My first Feld and probably not my last one. It did feel quite unforgiving, it's a constant struggle to stay away from negative points, which does not really appeal to me. Probably will feel better after a few games, most of Feld's game have a learning curve.

3/18/2020

by t2

Gift from LD, 3/16/10.

2/18/2020

Solid and occasionally interesting. The dice mechanic is very nifty, even when you get hosed by the inability to make needed color combinations (1 each of 4 different colors? Really?), but the actual point-mongering vastly less so. I want the cool bits to be married to other, cooler bits. Also a bit too long considering the level of randomness.

1/26/2020

Eh. I don't see what the appeal is here. VERY long with four.

1/10/2020

Very nice economic game with a variety of mechanics that work well together. There are always meaningful decisions to be made. Very good.

10/25/2019

Macao is an OOP game I was excited to play but fell short of my expectations. Some of my issues with the game: -The wind rose, the card play, and the mini-games on the board all felt disjointed in a cobbled together kind of way. -The card draw is too random and swingy. -Going first is potentially too powerful due to the ways cards range in their extreme activation prices. -Money is insanely tight. -Buying points, building connected shipping houses, shipping goods, and planning out cubes for future actions ultimately made for boring game decisions. -Too much set up and faffing about for what it amounts too. These issues make the game feel much older than 2009. I think, by today's standards, this game would have gotten reworked quite a bit. A couple things that stand out in my mind that would be simple fixes: -Give players income of 1 to 2 gold per round. Or, give them one of those starting office cards that allows them to exchange 1 cube for 1 gold. Or, even better yet, allow players at any time to sell a certain amount of cubes for gold. -Separate cards into three "eras", something like what you see in Glen More, London, or a dozen other games. First era cards would help you get your engine up and running, second era cards would allow you to develop your strategy through specific abilities, and third era cards would give you really cool abilities but you'd only be able to possibly use them in the last four rounds of the game. Another Feld where I can honestly say: I'd rather play Rialto.

10/18/2019

Buen juego , donde a la derecha esta la ciudad donde se compran bienes y a la izquierda el mapa donde se entregan los vienes.

7/19/2019

One of the best Euros I have played. Very interesting mechanics and lots of tough decisions.

2/16/2019