Kingsburg

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (54 Total)

0
14
32
6
0

Clever new mechanics. However, dice are not my friends. There don't seem to be enough dice rolls throughout a game to even up the luck. A little prone to analysis paralysis. Fun take-that factor, but not enough. Beautiful components.

10/25/2019

With expansion buildings and winter reinforcements printed on card stock.

10/20/2019

Great game ....

5/15/2019

Needs its expansion, which won't be available again until the reprint. The reprint has uglier art.

5/13/2019

Too much dice rolling for my taste.

4/12/2019

I like this game, but the luck of the dice can be infuriating. Our last game, a player at the table was first in turn order the entire game, never rolled higher than an 8, and several times rolled 6 or under. On top of that, early bad rolls are far worse than mid-game ones. This is a hard one to rate since I think the expansion raises it to an 8 or 9.

2/16/2019

2-5, 90m

1/25/2019

Don't like the fantasy theme but otherwise a pretty good game.

1/23/2019

This is a thematically fun and mechanically solid game, with just the right amount of luck for my tastes, at it's core is a sort of worker-placement-with-dice mechanic. However, there does seem to be a best strategy, both when placing influence (Can I somehow make my dice add to 14 this turn?) and when constructing buildings, which detracts from the replay value a bit. The combat mechanic leaves much to be desired. In my mind, it either needs to go away completely, or raise the stakes and complexity a bit to make it a big climactic experience. The To Forge a Realm expansion helps with the replayability concerns.

1/21/2019

After 12 plays of this my record is 11-1. The loss was by 3 points to someone who played my strategy and rolled one more 17 than me. So yeah, I think it's broken. Fix the game, and it'll fix my rating.

1/19/2019

Amazing game. Simple to pick up, plenty of different paths to try. Plays well at 2 and 3 player.

1/10/2019

(3/17) 7. A really cool dice-rolling worker player placement. I enjoy worker placements games as it is and the extra touches in this game (the fact that your placement choices are somewhat limited by your rolls, the way that building buildings unlock new abilities, the "end of round" battles) definitely elevate it. Looking forward to playing it with the expansion. (10/17) Drop to 6. Just haven't had the urge to break it back out again in a while.

12/22/2018