Lorenzo il Magnifico

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (17 Total)

0
12
4
1
0

Having played this , i know want to own a copy Do I need it and coimbra - well yes.

4/12/2019

2-4 players (best 4) 60-120 minutes

2/17/2019

Yet another themeless resource conversion engine builder. Your typical churn-and-burn worker placement game good for maybe half a dozen plays before it becomes boring.

1/23/2019

[Sleeved]

1/18/2019

As a 2-player, we play with the houserule that we don't completely block off the harvest and production extra spots - it's just too cutthroat and the -3 penalty is harsh enough. Other than that, I love the system of building up my engine on a selection of many dozens of cards. The megadice are icing on the cake.

1/16/2019

Lorenzo il Magnifico pushes the boundary of how tight board games can be. Each player has a mere 24 actions at their disposal, and they each must be dispatched with expert timing and cunning in order to fulfill the various goals of the game. Players must attend to the Pope to avoid severe game-long penalties, acquire territories to exploit for future resources, establish production chains to generate prestige, schmooze the elite to gain favor and privilege, and exercise military prowess for something that is thematically unclear. There are never enough resources, action spaces, or time, to do all of those thing effectively, but that is the beauty of this game. Every action and resource is crucial, and though mistakes are unforgiving, the game is wonderfully balanced and consistently delivers tense finishes.

1/11/2019

im worried that there aren't enough cards to give this enough replayability and will probably want to trade it after half a dozen plays or so

1/11/2019

I would want this on my wishlist more if Coimbra didn't replace it for me. Great game where small decisions make a large impact.

12/18/2018