Root

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (87 Total)

11
55
17
2
0

mm on hold

11/12/2019

Really enjoyed my first play of this as the Marquise de Cat against the Alliance and the Eyrie. I look forward to playing more!

10/22/2019

With [thing=241386][/thing].

10/20/2019

Enjoyable but takes longer to teach because of the asymmetric factions which takes it down from an 8.5 to a 7.5 for me.

10/18/2019

#6

10/17/2019

I love that everyone is doing something a bit different, and the art is fun.

6/26/2019

8.1 / 2-4p BEST 4 / 60-90m / Strategy 52 / Overall 78 / 2018 / 3.42 (Tom Vasel Amazing, looks like a light war game / area control, Tom #33 2018, Cole Wehrle)

6/15/2019

Includes Riverfolk expansion

6/14/2019

More interesting than fun. I love playing it just to see it work, but I understand people who get frustrated by its inherent imbalance and proclivity for kingmaking. Doesn't stop me from constantly trying to play it just to marvel at the clockwork... Kyle Ferrin's art might very well save this game. If it was less beautiful I might find it less enjoyable to experience. Cats are too weak, Eyrie are more complicated than the board indicates, and Vagabond is too powerful due to its disconnected nature. Also doesn't play well at 2. 3-4 must. Riverfolk expansion is essential for any consistent play

6/14/2019

Root is just phenomenal. Deceptively simple, deviously complex, deliciously interactive. What a game.

5/13/2019

Really enjoyed our first game. Managed to play as the vagabond which is just fun. Best bit so far, aiding an enemy, so that i can buy more swords to attack them with.

4/12/2019

yet so cutthroat.... Root is a polished game with a great tutorial helping you naturally learn the game ang get out there destroying your friends. but its ok! they are destroying you too!

3/10/2019

Really fun game, still working through all the factions, but definitely love the Riverfolk

3/8/2019

We have spent the last 4 weeks playing Root once weekly & mixing up factions (5 players) & I appreciate the depth & thematic excellence of this game more & more. A different faction has won each week, & 3 out of the 5 of us have taken at least one win. We’ve also won with Domination cards and points on different games, so suffice to say the variety & replayability is off the charts.

3/6/2019

[b] :STAR: COMPLETE RATING: [/b] [c] [b]SCORE CRITERIA WEIGHTING ------- STAR RATING SCALE -------[/b] (9.0) FUN (x15): BORING :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar: REALLY FUN (8.0) GAMEPLAY (x5): NO DEPTH :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar: LOT OF DEPTH (FOR THE WEIGHT) (8.0) GAME FLOW (x5): FIDDLY :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar: SILKY SMOOTH (8.0) DOWNTIMES (x2): LOT OF :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar: ZERO (8.0) RANDOMNESS (x2): PURE LUCK :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar: PURE SKILLS (8.0) MECHANICS (x2): BORING :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar: INTERESTING / INNOVATIVE (9.0) REPLAYABILITY (x5): ZERO :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar: INFINITE (7.0) SCALABILITY (x3): POOR :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar::nostar: GREAT AT ALL PLAYER COUNTS (7.0) PORTABILITY (x1): BULKY :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar::nostar: SUPER EASY TO PLAY ANYWHERE (8.0) THEME (x1): UNATTRACTIVE :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar: ATTRACTIVE (8.0) AESTHETICS (x1): UGLY :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar: GORGEOUS (8.0) COMPONENTS (x1): LOW QUALITY :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar: HIGH QUALITY (8.0) VALUE (x2): TOO EXPENSIVE :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar: REALLY CHEAP(LOW COST FOR WHAT WE GET) (8.0) SETUP TIME (x2): LONG :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar: ZERO (8.0) GAME LENGTH (x2): TOO SHORT/LONG :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar: JUST PERFECT (6.0) RULES COMPLEXITY (x1): COMPLEX :star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar::nostar::nostar: SIMPLE [/c] [b]TOTAL = 415/50 =8.3[/b] :thumbsup: [b]POSITIVE POINTS:[/b] ++ Asymmetric factions makes the gameplay very interesting, and highly replayable. ++ The theme is interesting and the art is fantastic. The meeples are amazing. ++ Fairly quick and easy to get into for a psuedo-wargame. :thumbsdown: [b]NEGATIVE POINTS:[/b] -- Aysmmetry can make learning difficult. Teaching new players requires teaching all the factions in play. -- Kingmaking can be an issue. There is definitly a lot of "attack the leader" mentality required. -- Doesn't play well at lower player counts.

3/2/2019

sleeved in mayday regular

2/15/2019

Not easy to learn, but when you do it’s fantastic with a varying degree of complexity.

2/2/2019

This is the first game I avoid playing because I don't wnat to deal with teaching it. Strange, too, because I'm willing to teach almost anything to willing participants. The rules overhead is extremely high for a game that is so (paradoxically) straightforward. Asymmetry is great during gameplay, but a pain in the neck to explain. Even one new player means you have to go through everything in detail so they can understand what the various factions are capable of. The fact that it's a 45-minute teach for a 60-90 minute game is really frustrating, and I suppose I would be more inclined to play if I knew everyone already knew the rules. If this were a 2-3 hour game, I think I might be a little more willing to invest in the game. Typical of Cole Wehrle's designs, Root really needs a regular group. Not to the degree that John Company or Pax Pamir require, but the high level of tactical interactivity means the game state is unwittingly (and violently) changed turn-to-turn by new players who don't know how to deal with managing three wildly different enemies. After 4-5 plays, things will start to take shape and the metagame (which Wehrle really excels at) can finally emerge. As the new hotness, people are clamoring to play this, but I find the juice is not worth the squeeze. Especially since the people who express interest in this don't really know what they're getting into. Eurogamers are not prepared for this type of tactical, euro-style war game, and are often turned off by it when they realize what the game actually is. So you're left with the GMT crowd who is often put-off by the cutesy theme, and would rather just play a COIN. If I'm going to go through the effort of teaching something with this level of detailed complexity, I'd much rather go with Pam Pamir or Pax Renaissance (both of which are better games), Lisboa (which is more likely to appeal to the people who say that want to play Root), or if they really want a high-wire act light war game experience, Maria or Friedrich.

1/23/2019

W/ Exp: The Riverfolk Expansion

1/23/2019

Feels like a a nice streamlined version of GMT's COIN.

1/22/2019

Germany

12/22/2018

This game is all about the asymmetry. It's created such a fun balance between shared goals and unique interactions. It's certainly got a great aesthetic as well.

10/19/2018