Love Letter

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (409 Total)

12
106
150
27
5

Made my own variants, Big Bang Theory and Universal Monsters.

6/12/2020

by Wyrd

Elegant little deduction game that you can play with just about anyone. So cheap and classic and fun that there’s no reason NOT to have a copy!

4/14/2020

Easy game, fast paste, easy to learn.Played this game with my mom and sister who arent into gaming at all and they loved it!

4/2/2020

No Review Description

4/1/2020

Pretty fun filler deduction-based card game.

4/1/2020

Alright, this game is great fun, and for only 16 cards, and can be taught in about 2 minutes, and can be played in about 10 minutes. Uh, this one is a winner.After a bit of time, it kind of loses its luster a bit. Because it's so small, nearly every interaction is seen after only a few games, then you're just kind of going through the motions at that point. It's still fine mainly because it's so short, but it just doesn't have enough oomph to keep it around or make it a staple.

4/1/2020

+ Letters to Santa

4/1/2020

(Rating based on the first play, subject to change.)

3/24/2020

For some reason I'm the only one that likes it.

3/24/2020

Weight: 1.21 / 5

3/18/2020

2-4 players, 15 minutes, deductionI've played a dozen games with two-four players, which were a lot of fun. The game plays really fast and there is little down time.

3/18/2020

by Rudi

it plays quick, yet maintains interest even with a reasonable amount of luck

3/9/2020

2-4

3/7/2020

I can take or leave Love Letter on its own merits, but my two daughters love to play it, so it gets a 7 from me. Any game I can play with my family that gets everybody laughing is worthy of decent ranking.

2/28/2020

Micro card game with hidden roles. Easy to teach. Best with more players.

2/14/2020

I'm not a fan, but other people in our group are, so I keep it around.

2/13/2020

Amazing amount of game in a little red pouch with only 16 cards to play. Fun, fast, family friendly, and fits in your pocket. Don't miss it. Edit to add: the more I play this game the more I love it

2/3/2020

Cards are sleeved. Game has been played often, but still in great condition.

2/3/2020

No Review Description

2/3/2020

Amazing fun for a tiny game.

1/28/2020

Great little filler playable by just about anyone, young or old, hard-core gamer or not.

1/26/2020

Pretty random, guys. Impressively minimalistic, though.

1/26/2020

For 2 to 4 Players 20 Minutes Playing Time

1/25/2020

There's a little bit of a game here, a small amount of strategy and some pushing your luck, but not very interesting overall, especially playing until someone has five cubes

1/25/2020

0.3 xx

1/25/2020

Great light game. Not too hard to teach, but interesting enough that I don't get bored playing it with new gamers.

1/25/2020

2-4p

1/24/2020

Easy to teach. Easy to learn. Its not the deepest game in the world, but it will keep a handful of people engaged for a time.

1/24/2020

Silly, good fun. I find this Munchkin theme actually fits the game better than the original Love Letter theme.

1/24/2020

Love Letter base

1/22/2020

Initial rating: 7.5, Dec 2013

1/13/2020

A game that plays quickly, yet has some fascinating "poker-like" decisions involved regarding bluffing and probabilities. Fantastic little gem for only 16 cards. I also think tiles should be used... bakelite, with a uniform appearance. That would make this a game with considerable longevity.

1/10/2020

Filler game, easily adjusted for different time frames. Logical reasoning is possible but there's no guarantee that playing randomly won't win. For a game with so few components it's quite good.

1/3/2020

I don't understand the appeal. Coup is similar, but better.

12/20/2019

Amazing how much game is in this little package. Works in a variety of settings. If the theme doesn't appeal just pick it up in any one of the several re-themed versions.

12/20/2019

Sleeved.

12/20/2019

Played this with 9 people, it was not a great game stretched that far. It was sorta slow and when you get knocked out it seems to take too long to get back into the game. But I do like the game with say 4-6 people. Nice mechanic, very light fun game. April 2018 Free - Gift - Betsy

12/14/2019

We've only played this with two players and my fiancé hated it so much she won't even consider trying it again. Hopefully I'll be able to find a more optimistic group of 3-4 to play with sometime.

12/12/2019

Lovecraft letter makes this obsolete

12/11/2019

A lot of game packed into just 16 cards. 2 player game doesn't work quite as well as 3 or 4 - there is always an objectively better option so the game more or less plays itself. This is less of an issue in the 3 or 4 player game. That being said: short, fun game and a welcome addition to my collection.

12/5/2019

Location: Shelf Box

12/3/2019

Well. I can see why it is so beloved.

11/14/2019

Great filler game.

11/11/2019

A classic!! so simple and fast, yet so fun to play.

10/30/2019

Simple and small game of hidden roles. It is amazing what the designer has achieved with 16 cards. Games are fast and, surprisingly, there are some tense decisions.

10/25/2019

Fine Christmas filler. Not much of a game, really, but a good passtime.

10/25/2019

Two new character cards, striking new artwork, and support for up to 6 players… what's not to love about this fantastic classic?!

10/22/2019

Enjoy this for a micro game. My wife does not like this. Just seems random and pointless to her. Am going to try this with others.

10/18/2019

1.9.18 Even as a filler, I dont see the appeal in this game. I'd rather play something 10 minutes longer and actually have fun.

10/18/2019

A fun game for a hot second but then I'd rather play something else. Very little opportunity for strategy or deduction and that's all this game even pretends to offer. Great filler game, though.

8/5/2019

Super light, and quick. Makes a good filler if we do not have firm plans.

6/26/2019

sleeved

6/15/2019

Extremely light and fast card game. Not much skill involved but that's OK. I prefer the Batman version.

5/15/2019

Seiji Kanai is great at doing a lot with a little, and Love Letter is the poster child. Light, silly, hard to not have fun playing. Recently had my love for this rekindled.

5/13/2019

7 Initial rating after 1 play. Enjoyable light and quick game.

4/12/2019

http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/love-letter-2012/ http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/love-letter-2012-accessibility-teardown/

3/28/2019

For the life of me, I can't understand why this game demands such a high rating. There is barely a game here. I ranked it a four, my wife said I was being generous. I think she is right. Downgraded to a three. How this is ranked so high on the BGG is totally eluding me. Few choices, early elimination, nonexistent strategy. Tic-tac-toe with good art.

3/8/2019