Castles of Mad King Ludwig

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (71 Total)

4
30
32
4
1

Favorite tile laying game. Every castle is so different and interesting.

6/26/2019

Setup is a bit long but i made a foam insert and that cuts the setup in half.

5/28/2019

Very enjoying game that is fun all around. Its fun just building your castle up sometimes that you don't even realize that you're not going for your personal/actual objectives. Trying to figure out what your opponents need and will be willing to buy from you while also pricing what you need that won't be bought from other players while still willing to pay for it is a puzzle in itself!

3/9/2019

Doesn't get played enough. Played solo variants a few time and enjoyed it. Family has fun with it but games last a little too long for them at times.

3/6/2019

It would be a fine enough game, if it was not the sibling of Suburbia. For me, Castles is much worse. I don't really like all of the hidden scoring objectives because it creates too many values that I need to trade off and optimize. The engine building is not as powerful. Have a master builder price the market adds more complexity to the game, breaks the flow, and makes planning ahead harder.

3/5/2019

I need to play this more, but I *think* I like it

2/12/2019

As with Keyflower, I love building up my own little thing and then tell stories about it after the game is over. The bidding works well, even for two. I got the wood organizer and it's made the game a breeze to set up.

1/16/2019

by afjb

Fun tile-laying game -- first one I have tried. Only playing solitaire for now and am using a variant posted on the geek. Fair amount of strategy. It's cool to see the castle you create develop and expand.

1/16/2019

Something we play a lot due to the economic aspects of being master builder and building combos of points. Fairly easy to teach/play. Would recommend this as a game to friends.

1/15/2019

Interesting currency flows have always captured my attention, and the Master Builder aspect of Castles does not disappoint, though it does make the game drag on a bit. The way each room type provides a unique completion bonus makes each decision multi-layered and allows for a bit of future planning. The iconography is quite small, and upkeep is fiddly, but overall Castles a delicious point-salad.

1/11/2019

I didn't care for this game much until after a few plays but now I really enjoy it. The bidding for rooms makes for an interesting mini game and trying to lay the tiles strategically for the most points is also fun.

1/10/2019

y

1/9/2019

What a great puzzle type game. Each game has different scoring mechanics on top of the normal ones meaning that no game ever plays the same. The way pricing works in the game is great, however it doesn't come through well in a 2 player game. I would say to really experience this game you need 4 players, although it's still plenty enjoyable at 2.

12/24/2018

(10/16) 7. Fantastic game that I enjoy more each time I play it. Trying to figure out if it kills Suburbia. (9/17) Rise to 8. Still really love this game. I now DO think it's just about a Suburbia killer.

12/22/2018

Mildly interesting. The artwork and iconography is dull. Endgame scoring is fiddly. Some people clearly love this game but I do not.

12/19/2018