Gloomhaven

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (75 Total)

31
29
10
1
1

K/S copy w...

by Robertcompton

K/S copy with minis. To start with , it can feel a bit marmite and adjusting the difficulty to the party play style can take a few missions. In a our introductory games, as a Brute, the game seemed to be straight forward and our party of 3 worked well together. I like the way it's possible to tweak the difficulty to various tastes. Starting our 4 player campaign, proved difficult, especially as players concerntrated on achieveing personal objectives over group cohesion on a more difficult setting. Which made for some fun role playing and led to our first run of failed missions. This feels like D&D in a box.

4/12/2019

_

by MeepleLikeUs

_

3/28/2019

Painted mi...

by MrIncredible

Painted minis.

3/11/2019

A dungeon ...

by Fly Casual

A dungeon crawler in a world you can alter, with atypical characters, branching progression and very interesting card play. Each turn is a puzzle and you are racing the turn clock, no action can be wasted. Mechanisms feel thematic but also puzzly. Production is great, especially for the price. Box is HUGE. Massive amount of cardboard standees and cards and counters, like 25lbs worth! Keeping track of everything feels procedural and unwieldy, but its all worth it. EPIC. Can be slow playing because of wordy cards if players are AP prone. Any game suffers when it slows down, and Gloomhaven can do so.

3/6/2019

Love It, Can't Help It

by FreedomDancer

This game starts out punishingly hard, but as you learn how to work your characters, the power combos become exciting and invigorating, and every time I wrap up a four hour session, I can't wait until I play the next one.

3/6/2019

It is as g...

by tombonator

It is as good as everyone says it is.

2/12/2019

1-4, 30m/S...

by snurp

1-4, 30m/Spieler

1/25/2019

Holy overr...

by Brent

Holy overrated, Batman. It's okay, but anyone getting into this because of its high ranking should do a lot more research before plunking down $140 for this game. Gloomhaven essentially distills Mage Knight's combat into its own europuzzly game of hand management. Somehow, even though MK is more deterministic than GH (there are no random elements or hidden information in MK), GH feels more like it's about optimization than MK. I'm into both of these titles for the solo play, and Mage Knight is far, far superior as a solo game, but playing a game is generally longer than GH. GH it gets repetitive in a hurry. Each individual session is largely like the one before it,. Sure, the monsters move and attack differently, but "solving" the puzzle doesn't feel much different from session to session. If you happen get stuck on a scenario (like, say the very first one), then it can feel like a chore. On the plus side, at least Gloomhaven not simply a game of "bad things happen, fix bad things," like Pandemic/Spirit Island/Robinson Crusoe, etc. The legacy aspects of the game are, of course, dumb. Narrative arc is not a strong suit of board game designers, but I don't expect much out of them anymore. The storyline here is simply a framework for the campaign, which is where the "game" is. Level up your characters and go kill some monsters, level up some more. Leveling up is the "fun" part.

1/23/2019

Really enj...

by lego pirate

Really enjoying how this is challenging right from the off. Even the starting scenario's are close in terms of being able to win. The story and character development touches are also good.

1/23/2019

First Impr...

by Chitownsox

First Impression (7.5): I am worried this game will be samey, but I really look forward to be able to upgrade my character.

1/22/2019

No Review Title

by Kanstandler

No Review Description

1/18/2019

This reall...

by GorditaCrunch93

This really is as good as people say. I've retired my first character and it's just getting even better. Cannot help but feeling like a little kid giddy with excitement for what's to come!

1/11/2019

Dagfinn ha...

by Zenly

Dagfinn has this.

1/10/2019

Before Glo...

by Gekey

Before Gloomhaven I've never played any dungeon crawling game so this was a big gamble when I initially bought it. Luckily it's been a big hit with our current party of 4 and we have play sessions of 10+ hours to finish the campaign. Looking forward to all the unlocks and story evolution. Lot's of contents in the base game with two expansions (Forgotten Circles & Unnamed Big Expansion) underway. The only real drawback of the game is the setup time and monster AI movement / rules that are really difficult to grasp.

1/9/2019

(9/17) 9. ...

by markbesada

(9/17) 9. I can't believe how much is crammed into that, admittedly very large, box. A wonderful synergy of board game and role playing game. My #19 favorite game of all time.

12/22/2018

In Germany...

by magicjavelin

In Germany

12/22/2018