Age of Steam

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (40 Total)

3
22
10
5
0

Very fun game, but can get too competetive. Early tension between two or more players can lead to an easy win for those not involved in the competition early on. Beginning track placement is crucial to doing well. Still, it's a great, harsh, economic pick-up-and-deliver train game, but I'd always rather play Steam: Rails to Riches.

4/1/2020

This game is wonderful. It has almost everything great games have. The randomness is there and keeps the game fresh, but the way it is done affects everyone completely equally. Starting player auctions are intense, mechanics are smooth and work wonderfully. Game feels thematic as well.Rust Belt Map - 4 or 5 players.

4/1/2020

I want to like this game so bad and the first half of each game is amazing but the last half it becomes very clear who is going to win and there is not much you can do to alter that. I will play more in the future.

4/1/2020

Be warned, this is the cruelest train game I have played so far! It's quite difficult to just manage your game, you constantly have to take loans and have to be able to bare the costs. One wrong decision and you might quite soon lose the game with bankruptcy. I would still like to play it again but "Railways of the World" is undoubtedly better choice for easier gameplay.

3/24/2020

Glad I played it. It is indeed unforgiving compared to Railways of the World. I will never turn down a game of Age of Steam if it is offered, but I doubt that this will happen often.

2/28/2020

Needlessly brutal. I mean, does Martin Wallace hate us? I have played lots of games where the system fights you and dares you, mockingly, to score any points--but AoS brings it to a whole new level. It feels as though someone is punching you in the gonads over and over for the first few turns. That having been said, it's a very tight game; a bit too much like a puzzle for my tastes, but a very tight game.

1/26/2020

It has been far too long since I played this for me to remember it clearly. I remember liking the tough decisions and tight economics.

1/14/2020

A brilliantly conceived and somewhat abstract game wrapped with a train theme and set of mechanics that works incredibly well. The game possesses a brutal economic system and bidding mechanic. All of the elements of Age of Steam combine to make this one of Martin Wallace's finest games.

1/10/2020

tougher than Railroad tycoon

1/4/2020

My history with Age of Steam is highly varied. I have landed on the stance that I don't really care for this game. But I have had fun with it at times. Unfortunately, it is a game I have to play frequently to get decent at it. I don't care to play it enough to stay decent at it. Since I suck at it with casual play, I'd rather avoid it.

12/24/2019

Maybe the most tense, cutthroat, unforgiving game I've played to date. It's a great game and has lots of replayability with the different maps, but it's a little long, a little fiddly, and the art and components are terrible.

12/20/2019

The better rule set in comparison to Steam. Warfrog, second printing. Trade Interest: Low

10/21/2019

Obtained 2nd edition after rave reviews here. Need to play a few more games before coming up with an opinion. Added later: Have played several games with 3 and 4 players and... I don't know. There is something missing here. Don't know what it is exactly but we haven't been able to have much fun with it.

8/31/2019

No need to sleeve

3/1/2019

Really enjoyed this one

1/22/2019

I fell in love with the blandness of the visual aspect. Very sparse, terse and inviting. Unfortunately, it doesn't seem to get the amount of play time it deserves as players are lacking. I've even made several maps for it. Must play this delightful game more! 2009-02-21 - Japan w/4 players - Brutal! 2006-11-15 - Bought 2010-09-15 - Sold

1/21/2019

Waiting to buy new Edition

1/11/2019

(10/17) 9. My second 18xx game, but another one I loved, though I didn't quite fully grok it like I did 1846. That said, would ABSOLUTELY love to play it again, especially with all the maps that are available. My #15 favorite game of all time.

12/22/2018