Star Wars: Rebellion

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (60 Total)

6
35
15
2
1

Played as the Rebellion on my first play, wow wow wow. I have never been so stressed while having so much stinking fun in a board game. The pressure was unreal! Feeling constantly under the pump. I think it is ridiculous that I won, given the state of the board at the end of the game. I only lower this to an 8 and not an out and out 10 because I want to play the Empire to see if it feels as fun on that side. ----- The second game was as Empire and almost won. I just got a little too trigger happy on the blowing up planets business...

11/14/2019

Sadly, my wife and I realized that this type of game was not for us. Other then that, amazing production.

11/6/2019

Constant tension and variable strategy. In general, I find Star Wars as a preferred theme over LOTR, but no game is more closely integrated with the theme and characters than War of the Ring. That said, I would always be willing to play Rebellion

11/3/2019

5.24.18 GAMEPLAY In the two-player game Star Wars: Rebellion, players take on either the forces of the Empire or the rag-tag Rebellion. The Empire wins the game by tracking down the Rebel Base, while the Rebels are trying to complete objectives in order to outlast the imperial onslaught. In each round there are three phases. In the first phase, leaders are assigned to missions; in the second, forces are moved and combat is possibly initiated; and in the third, leaders are potentially recruited, ground and space forces are possibly built, and the Empire sends out drones to close in on the Rebels, while the Rebels get objective to hopefully speed up the end game. THOUGHTS SW:R is a sprawling game in fine FFG tradition. There are half a dozen or more decks, just as many tokens, two boards, cardboard standees, and plastic miniatures. The missions feel like the most enjoyable part of the game despite the fact that their success is based on dice-roll skill checks. Movement is extremely limited, which is good for the Rebels as their forces are so limited but bad for the Empire as it can feel like you’re just crawling at a snail’s pace. Recruiting new leaders felt just ho-hum: I guess I’ll take Chewie because he gives me more fists for my next fist skill-check. Yay… The project cards are cool because they let the Empire do some pretty powerful things, while the objective cards give the Rebels something to do other than evading the Empire. Over all, I don’t know if I need to play it again, but I did enjoy the thematic madness of SW:R and enjoyed my time with it. PROS -Components and art are, as ever with FFG, through the roof. -The rulebook is incredibly clear and easy to parse. I felt like I always knew where to look to find something. -There is a metric TON of variability in the game from the different mission decks to the varying set ups and scenarios. -Mission card system allows players to do interesting things on their turns even if deciding through dice whether they happen or not is not exciting. -Combat is simple to understand and the tactical cards add a nice little bit of luck mitigating. NEUTRAL -This folds into my point about movement below but, because the Empire moves so slowly, I don’t see why as the Rebel player you wouldn’t always put your base as far from Coruscant as possible. I suppose there is some groupthink going on here; if the Empire player knew the Rebel player did that often enough, it would be easy for the Empire to steam roll right into the other side of the board. CONS -Leaders in and of themselves are not interesting at all; they’re just variations on how well you do skill checks. I didn’t feel much difference playing Lando versus Mon Mothma. -As a counterpoint to my variability comment above, because the objective cards always come out in the same three stages, it could be samey for the Rebel player. -Movement is incredibly limiting but I understand why it is the way it is.

10/18/2019

Best: 2 Time: 180-240 Min Weight: 3.69

10/17/2019

It's basically star wars in a box. super fun!

8/14/2019

BRENNAN / 2P / 8.6 / 2p / 180-240m / Overall 5 / Thematic 3 / 3.55 (Rated one of the best games for 2016, Popular Mech Best 50 Games April 2017)

6/15/2019

For a game that has quite a long play time, it certainly doesn't feel like it. 30/5/16 - 2 games in as the Imperial's each time. I've really enjoyed this

4/12/2019

by Wis

Rating with expansion

4/12/2019

Everything I wanted in a board game.

3/16/2019

Broken Token box insert, and expansion. All cards sleeved.

3/11/2019

SHTARRR WARRSHHH GUYSHHHH!!!

3/6/2019

As soon as the game finished I wanted to play again. Really interested to try a few other strategies out. The best part is this really feels like you are in the middle of the first movie.

1/22/2019

Might move to 9 with the combat changes from the first expansion

1/22/2019

Loved it! doesnt tell the story I would like but is a nice game of hide and seek!

1/22/2019

Learning curve for new inexperienced gamers is higher than expected. - Long play time makes it hard to get to the table and learn the ropes. With experiences players, it can be played in 3 to 4 hours. - The box says 2-4 players, but it is really 2-player. I would only play with more to give new players a smooth introduction to learn the rules.

1/21/2019

Have Zen-Bin organizer

1/11/2019

In Germany

12/22/2018