Catan

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (239 Total)

4
40
138
43
10

by 3MBG

Its ok.... but kinda meh

10/29/2019

Best-with-4. My first eurogame. It's still fun to play, but I've grown to enjoy other games more. Still one of the best games to introduce new players to eurogames. Every few times each year, we go back and play again and it's still great fun to play. INCLUDED: Settlers of Catan - Seafarers Settlers of Catan - 5-6 Player Expansion Settlers of Catan - Seafarers 5-6 Players The Settlers of Catan: The Fishermen of Catan The Settlers of Catan: The Great River

10/25/2019

Still a great game that I love to play, but it is getting harder to get it to the table with so many great medium weight games being released.

10/21/2019

SOLD: 2016

10/18/2019

I know a lot of people adore this game, but I have NEVER liked it. Even when it was big, and I used to play it a ton. I was friends with a family that was huge into this game, so they played it all the time when I was over, and it always felt like a chore. I literally don't understand the attraction this game still has for people when there's so many better options for a gateway game. Can we just stop playing this game already?

10/17/2019

I'm still far from burnt out on Catan however, my copy is too warped to be easy to set up.

9/10/2019

Random, player-favoring BS. If players don't want you to win then you won't. If players want someone else to win then they do. We might as well just decide who those people are and call it a day -- save me the time.

8/5/2019

No introduction here. Too much RNG. Thinking of implementing one of the expansion rules as a house rules where if you don't get resources from a roll you get a token and 2 tokens equals a resource.

7/1/2019

Too much take that slowing down the end game. Early game is fun though.

6/26/2019

The game that got me into hobby gaming still mostly holds up.  That said, I just don't really find the "hope for good dice rolls to get enough stuff to build what I want" core mechanic to be all that fun anymore despite the design overall being quite elegant for its age.

6/26/2019

A now classic gateway game, the strategy comes from making smart settlement placements and good trades. The game is a little meaner than it leads onto forcing players into take that situations.

6/19/2019

Played out for me. Again, too much randomness for the time invested, and honestly the horribly balanced dice that seem to come with every modern copy are unexcuseable for a game that depends so heavily on them.

6/14/2019

Garbage randomness.

6/14/2019

Resource Management

5/21/2019

FULLY SLEEVED 126 x Swan PanAsia sleeve size: Catan: Standard (SWN-017, 160/pack) - (55 x 82mm)

5/15/2019

OK game. Too much set in stone with initial settlements. Random resources. Robber and monopoly are infuriating!

5/14/2019

4th edition :-/ I seem to remember thicker and sturdier tiles in previous editions.

4/29/2019

Played a few times before discovering BGG. Its a fun, easy to each game.

4/12/2019

http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/catan-1995/ http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/catan-1995-accessibility-teardown/

3/28/2019

Box has a dent, but includes the 5-6 player expansion

3/27/2019

My gateway game. It will always hold a special spot for me for that!

3/8/2019

Own 2 copies: one for 3-4 players, one with the 5-6 expansion mixed in.

3/8/2019

Fun game, first one that really got me into board-gaming. Multiple bad experiences with salty players and little agency over the game prevents me from wanting to ever really play it

3/6/2019

...but I can't stand it.

3/6/2019

Maybe I just have the wrong group for it, but everyone is competing for the same resources, so no one wants to trade and we always hit run away leader issues.

3/5/2019

I can think of few other games this accessible that can get this level of alliances, bargaining, and power plays.

2/28/2019

Brand new, opened but never used

2/21/2019

Classic

2/21/2019

The mechanics are good, but it still seems to take a long time for things to happen.

2/12/2019

This is a classic. I don't play it much anymore but it's still a good game. It's the first game I purchase when I started getting into board games.

1/28/2019

3-4, 90m

1/25/2019

It can be fun but I prefer ticket to ride or co-op games to this!

1/23/2019

by klz

I don't like it as much as I used to, but after a year away, it's grown on me again. Can't play it with more than 4 people, though.

1/22/2019

This game is what got me introduced to modern boardgames and opened up pandoras box. Now I am hooked and I have Catan to thank. The base game has just lost its appeal. Playing this without Cities & Knights makes me want to gouge my eyes out. I will still play this with new people to try to get them into board games, but I refuse to play just the base game anymore with my main gaming group.

1/22/2019

Not much to be said that anyone on this site doesn't already know. Bonus points for being one of the games that showed non-gamers that board games aren't all Monopoly.

1/21/2019

(+) Great gateway for new players, nice artwork, variable setup, allows trading between players, good mix of strategy and tactics (-) Really dependent on dice rolls, a lot of "gotcha", robber slows down the game, needs 4 players to get the full experience, can be lots of downtime while waiting for your turn, end of the game drags a bit

1/21/2019

This rating dropped from my initial 7. I don't like it as there are many, many more games out there. And it is quite long for what it is about.

1/21/2019

A classic and staple of my play group. Sure, the dice mechanic gets people upset at times, but it's just a solid game that can get people into the hobby.

1/19/2019

Let me preface; I completely respect and admire Settlers for what it has done, and continues to do, to the gaming hobby. However, the gameplay itself never drew me in like other titles have. I find games with heavy negotiation very hit or miss, and with the luck in Catan always seeming to alienate at least one player, depriving them of any fun, its a miss. This sin is even more egregious considering the game has a tendency to drag on and extend their suffering.

1/11/2019

The second "new classic" we purchased. Got it really early in our collection and saw a TON of play. This is our groups nostalgia game. We love it. UPDATE: My SO's brother moved about 4 hours away for a job and didn't have any games of his own, so we gave him our copy of Settlers where it'll see more play with him and extended family that live there.

1/10/2019

This game had sat in the dark corner of my apartment; neglected, dusty. I was hesitant to play due to what I thought a complicated game. But instead what I discovered was a super fun game!

1/8/2019

Negotiation and luck lead to a lot of king making and players having a miserable time because they can't do jack due to dice rolls.

12/24/2018

(10/7) 6. A classic for good reason, it's an undeniably fun game. I don't think it necessarily is the best thing out there anymore, but there's an unwarranted backlash.

12/22/2018

Relaxing game. The whole game is dependent on the placement of the first two settlements. Great deal of luck involved.

12/17/2018

A classic. Initial setup is VERY important

12/17/2018