Catan

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (143 Total)

2
22
84
27
5

Played a f...

by Robertcompton

Played a few times before discovering BGG. Its a fun, easy to each game.

4/12/2019

http://mee...

by MeepleLikeUs

http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/catan-1995/ http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/catan-1995-accessibility-teardown/

3/28/2019

Box has a ...

by Akumavern

Box has a dent, but includes the 5-6 player expansion

3/27/2019

My gateway...

by 1nf1n1ty

My gateway game. It will always hold a special spot for me for that!

3/8/2019

Own 2 copi...

by davidme

Own 2 copies: one for 3-4 players, one with the 5-6 expansion mixed in.

3/8/2019

Fun game, ...

by NeutralPlatypus

Fun game, first one that really got me into board-gaming. Multiple bad experiences with salty players and little agency over the game prevents me from wanting to ever really play it

3/6/2019

So Glad This Game Exists...

by FreedomDancer

...but I can't stand it.

3/6/2019

Maybe I ju...

by ThiningAboutGames

Maybe I just have the wrong group for it, but everyone is competing for the same resources, so no one wants to trade and we always hit run away leader issues.

3/5/2019

Always new

by walterbd

I can think of few other games this accessible that can get this level of alliances, bargaining, and power plays.

2/28/2019

Brand new,...

by winnebagomafia

Brand new, opened but never used

2/21/2019

Classic

by Nocture

Classic

2/21/2019

The mechan...

by mgacy

The mechanics are good, but it still seems to take a long time for things to happen.

2/12/2019

This is a ...

by superburrito

This is a classic. I don't play it much anymore but it's still a good game. It's the first game I purchase when I started getting into board games.

1/28/2019

3-4, 90m

by snurp

3-4, 90m

1/25/2019

It can be ...

by Gordo81

It can be fun but I prefer ticket to ride or co-op games to this!

1/23/2019

I don't li...

by klz

I don't like it as much as I used to, but after a year away, it's grown on me again. Can't play it with more than 4 people, though.

1/22/2019

This game ...

by Chitownsox

This game is what got me introduced to modern boardgames and opened up pandoras box. Now I am hooked and I have Catan to thank. The base game has just lost its appeal. Playing this without Cities & Knights makes me want to gouge my eyes out. I will still play this with new people to try to get them into board games, but I refuse to play just the base game anymore with my main gaming group.

1/22/2019

Not much t...

by andrewishi

Not much to be said that anyone on this site doesn't already know. Bonus points for being one of the games that showed non-gamers that board games aren't all Monopoly.

1/21/2019

Great gateway game, but a little too dicey

by adomescik

(+) Great gateway for new players, nice artwork, variable setup, allows trading between players, good mix of strategy and tactics (-) Really dependent on dice rolls, a lot of "gotcha", robber slows down the game, needs 4 players to get the full experience, can be lots of downtime while waiting for your turn, end of the game drags a bit

1/21/2019

This ratin...

by usagi-san

This rating dropped from my initial 7. I don't like it as there are many, many more games out there. And it is quite long for what it is about.

1/21/2019

A classic ...

by GorditaCrunch93

A classic and staple of my play group. Sure, the dice mechanic gets people upset at times, but it's just a solid game that can get people into the hobby.

1/19/2019

Let me pre...

by ekloff

Let me preface; I completely respect and admire Settlers for what it has done, and continues to do, to the gaming hobby. However, the gameplay itself never drew me in like other titles have. I find games with heavy negotiation very hit or miss, and with the luck in Catan always seeming to alienate at least one player, depriving them of any fun, its a miss. This sin is even more egregious considering the game has a tendency to drag on and extend their suffering.

1/11/2019

The second...

by KimchiTurtle

The second "new classic" we purchased. Got it really early in our collection and saw a TON of play. This is our groups nostalgia game. We love it. UPDATE: My SO's brother moved about 4 hours away for a job and didn't have any games of his own, so we gave him our copy of Settlers where it'll see more play with him and extended family that live there.

1/10/2019

intimidating at first

by justin_kim3

This game had sat in the dark corner of my apartment; neglected, dusty. I was hesitant to play due to what I thought a complicated game. But instead what I discovered was a super fun game!

1/8/2019

Negotiatio...

by Psylocke

Negotiation and luck lead to a lot of king making and players having a miserable time because they can't do jack due to dice rolls.

12/24/2018

(10/7) 6. ...

by markbesada

(10/7) 6. A classic for good reason, it's an undeniably fun game. I don't think it necessarily is the best thing out there anymore, but there's an unwarranted backlash.

12/22/2018

Relaxing g...

by nvthblake

Relaxing game. The whole game is dependent on the placement of the first two settlements. Great deal of luck involved.

12/17/2018

A classic....

by joshua

A classic. Initial setup is VERY important

12/17/2018