7 Wonders

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (135 Total)

7
51
62
12
2

A civilisa...

by Robertcompton

A civilisation card building game spanning 3 ages. Each game lasting around 30 minutes, regardless of the number of players (3-7) which is a big plus. It's fairly easy to learn/teach with most people taking just one game to fully appreciate the mechanics. Direct game play interaction is limited to the players either side of you. The card drafting mechanic whereby cards are passed in one direction until all but one are allotted, provides some potential to limit options to other players. The mechanic can also be seen in Among The Stars. There are various expansions available, none of which are essential to get a feel for the game. :star::star::star::star::nostar: Easy to learn :star::star::halfstar::nostar::nostar: Fun factor :star::star::star::star::nostar: Replay-ability :star::star::star::nostar::nostar: Overall Why the game stays in my collection? The take one card and pass the rest to the player next to you mechanic creates situations where you are torn between picking the best card for yourself or the one that lets other players score the least. The multiple scoring paths and light feel of the game.

4/12/2019

https://me...

by MeepleLikeUs

https://meeplelikeus.co.uk/7-wonders-2010/ https://meeplelikeus.co.uk/7-wonders-2010-accessibility-teardown/

3/28/2019

Includes B...

by GeraldCooperberg

Includes Broken Token organizer.

3/27/2019

This is a ...

by debeerzerker

This is a very fun game for at least 4 players. I love drafting games, and this one is no different. I love having at least 4 players so that there is one player that you can't influence. The expansions can also give you a good change of pace.

3/9/2019

Solid game...

by NeutralPlatypus

Solid game, science seems super broken though I'm not sure if it's just my play-groups

3/6/2019

I don't pl...

by ThiningAboutGames

I don't play 7 Wonders enough to learn all of the icons, so they are always a pain to decifer, especially in the third age, and because I play it so rarely and don't really have too much fun play it, I don't really have too much fun with it and don't play it all that often. The game rules are easy to learn, except for the icons. The game play is fine, but not good. I am not bored or overwhelmed play it, but it doesn't really pull me in. The theme is a bit pasted on (why are our civilizations passing a resource around? At least with Sushi Go, you could say it is a conveyor belt).

3/5/2019

A satisfyi...

by PhasingPlayer

A satisfying tableau builder. The iconography is a bit much for newcomers, but it doesn't take so long to catch on that the game suffers too much for it. Given the wide range of cards the game feels like it has more strategic depth than it might actually have. It quickly comes to pass that there are optimal moves in each age and these become obvious. Science needs to be balanced by the people playing, as if one person is able to monopolize it then they will certainly win. This creates a social dynamic at the table and forces you to decide between killing a science card so an opponent can't get it and pick something that might more directly improve your position. I like it.

3/1/2019

This is a ...

by MichaelDyrud

This is a fine game, but I don't think I've played to the point where I'm really that competitive/strategic with what I'm drafting. And I think that's an issue, since I don't really love the game and have any interest in getting to that point.

2/26/2019

Brand New,...

by winnebagomafia

Brand New, opened, only played a couple times

2/21/2019

Great game...

by elltrain

Great game that is completely played out by the 3rd play. And I have had to play it dozens of times.

2/16/2019

We absolut...

by thomasjbradley

We absolutely love the game with 3 people—great art, great mechanics. Two players works well, but not if you follow the rules in the book, it’s better to use a variation we found online with a 4 player setup. It’s much smoother.

2/14/2019

I love 7 W...

by brenthenson

I love 7 Wonders. Very fun, easy to teach. Plays quickly with very little downtime for each person between draft picks. Would love to play more often.

2/14/2019

Wonderful ...

by stroutqb22

Wonderful game love it! scales 3-7 perfectly

2/13/2019

The variab...

by mgacy

The variability in win conditions is the big draw (along with the theme) for me.

2/12/2019

Great game...

by lasttruegypsy

Great game, but terrible with two. Turned on to it by Joe and Lisa. Will not play without Babel expansion again unless teaching new players.

2/11/2019

2-7, 30m

by snurp

2-7, 30m

1/25/2019

Don't like...

by Brent

Don't like card drafting. That about sums it up.

1/23/2019

I have pla...

by Chitownsox

I have played this game 50+ times and it hasn't gotten old yet. It is a great game and is usually the first one out on our board game nights. 1/3/18: since I wrote this the game has gotten quite old so I bumped it down from an 8 to a 7. I think I'll keep it in my collection though since there are not many games that play so quickly regardless of player count. I still like the game but the strategy is not that deep and there arent many interesting decisions to be made.

1/23/2019

Nice produ...

by usagi-san

Nice production. It's a fun game; card drafting like Fairy Tale but more "fun" :) 2018-10-18 - Bought CG

1/23/2019

Ancient ci...

by Zeugmatic Player

Ancient civilization-building card game based around a card-drafting mechanic. Sort of like Fairy Tale with scoring that makes more intuitive sense and cards with a stronger theme. Each of the different kinds of cards make sense and give you lots of paths to victory... plus, 3 to 7 players all go at the same speed. The variety of cards and complexity of things like science scoring really hurt this game's score. It's just not the intro game it needs to be.

1/22/2019

Draft has ...

by andrewishi

Draft has always been my favorite competitive Magic: The Gathering format, so I guess I'm not too surprised that I'm a fan of a game that is purely drafting. Plays fast and accommodates a range of numbers of players. Great card quality, with cards being nearly full-art, but a weird size makes them harder to sleeve. Has the unfortunate feature of being one of those games that really cares about how the group is seated when there are different skill levels.

1/21/2019

A fast and fun 7 player game with low interaction

by adomescik

(+) Plays quick regardless of player count (simultaneous actions), easy to teach, cool theme, beautiful artwork, has interesting decisions to make, asymmetry via the player board you start with (-) Theme is not brought out very well in the game play, low player interaction (can feel like everyone is playing their own game), more tactical than strategic at higher player counts

1/21/2019

This has b...

by GorditaCrunch93

This has been said countless times, but the real triumph of 7 Wonders is how well it scales with player counts. Truly plays just as well with 3 as it does with 7.

1/19/2019

Kjartan do...

by Zenly

Kjartan don't like this.

1/17/2019

A great qu...

by frankqb

A great quick game that puts some meaningful decisions to you without ever being highly taxing. Fun, but in need of just one more element.

1/15/2019

Fun but ve...

by ubRtstcl

Fun but very basic drafting game with complicated set collection science rules that take away from what would be a very streamlined experience. A half step up from sushi go taking it from a party game to a family game.

1/15/2019

Have Folde...

by jadthegerbil

Have Folded Space

1/11/2019

Card draft...

by ekloff

Card drafting at its most pure. 7 Wonders does what it does well, but what it does is not particularly interesting. The interaction between neighboring civilization is great in theory, but is rarely strong enough to influence the decisions of players in a meaningful way. The game also feels abridged to a fault, preventing the game from fully embracing its epic scope. There are several different strategies to pursue, which gives the game longer legs than you might otherwise expect, and certainly lends to its popularity. Its certainly a fun game, especially at the medium player counts, but one that has been outdone over time.

1/11/2019

Not a bad ...

by Hawke

Not a bad game, but not enough interaction for my taste.

1/11/2019

I really e...

by eyeballertbb

I really enjoy playing this game but you must have at least three players and it is difficult to teach new players since you almost need to play one full game before you understand how everything fits together.

1/10/2019

It's weari...

by parliboy

It's wearing out its replayability, I think. But it's nice to have a game that scales best at seven.

1/10/2019

10 outstan...

by berboard

10 outstanding - will always enjoy playing 9 Excellent - very much enjoy playing 8 Very good - enjoy playing and i would suggest it 7 Good - usually willing to play 6 Ok - will play if in the mood 5 Mediocre - take it or leave it 4 Not so good - but could play again 3 Bad - likely won't play this again 2 Very bad - won't play ever again 1 Awful - defies game desciption

1/10/2019

Secret San...

by mborda

Secret Santa BGG 2013

1/10/2019

I'm not to...

by Psylocke

I'm not too big on games where card drafting is the main mechanic, but this really missed the mark with me. The only reason I'll ever play this again is because everyone else in the group might want to.

12/24/2018

(10/16) 6....

by markbesada

(10/16) 6. Enjoy it, especially with lower player counts so the cards all come back around. (10/17) Drop to 5.

12/22/2018

Pretty nic...

by Cooking_Meeple

Pretty nice drafting game. Have to play it with more player counts tho

12/22/2018