Splendor

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (173 Total)

3
64
91
11
1

Itch: engine building For buying new, consider this, or Century: Spice Road, or Wingspan

9/19/2019

Very dry thinky game. Made for very little table talk.

6/26/2019

This game is a decent entry way to medium weight games. It features some of the most streamlined "engine building" I've seen in a game. Overall the theme is weak and the mechanics don't really translate anything. My opinion may be from playing games with higher levels of complexity first then backtracking to this one.

6/19/2019

This is short and sweet, accessible to beginners and hardcore gamers alike.

6/19/2019

7.6 / 2-4p Best 3 / 30m / 1.84

6/15/2019

Set collection

5/21/2019

Has the feel of a classic game. Often played in silence, and sometimes that's exactly what you want. Chips are amazing quality. Game seriously needed to come in a smaller box.

5/13/2019

http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/splendor-2014/ http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/splendor-2014-accessibility-teardown/

3/28/2019

Very nice Euro, good player interaction but light on hurting other players progress (which many will appreciate). Tame theme and simple rules makes this one accessible to anyone. Theme is pasted on, but it works. The components are very good. Nice heavy poker chips feel great in the hand and fun to play with while waiting.

3/6/2019

Simple engine building. A race to 15 played a massive amount but doesn't see the table as much anymore. storage is nice with insert but the game could be packed away in a quart size ziplock.

3/6/2019

Fun game, but I did not really think strategically and still almost won. On second play, was in a 3 way tie for second with very bad pay. I am not sure if it speaks to my luck, the poor quality of my opponents, the chaos of a 4 player game, or just the game being too light. Overall, I did not really get all that into it.

3/5/2019

Feels like unthematic math homework.

2/21/2019

2-4 player (best 3) 30-45 minutes

2/18/2019

The perfect filler/intro game.

2/16/2019

Fun light game to play with newer players. I'm a bit annoyed with the buy the 5 point cards strategy that I've seen win. Hoping to play more to see if we don't let one person buy high point cards if they still win or not.

2/14/2019

Quintessential engine conversion game. Simple, fun, but gets old pretty quickly.

2/11/2019

2-4, 30m

1/25/2019

Quick, simple, and satisfying engine-building race.

1/23/2019

The more I play this game the more I like it, great filler game and feels really good to get a good gem engine going!

1/23/2019

Buying gems, mines, trade routes and storefronts to attract noble investors. The theme is dull, but the gameplay is economic engine building boiled down to its quintessence.

1/22/2019

May not be the most exciting theme, but it is a fun quick game and my wife likes to play it, which is a HUGE plus in my book.

1/22/2019

Xmas 2014

1/21/2019

For whatever reason, I like this game. In fact, I wanted to play it again right after the first play. After the cards were placed, a hush came over us and we played quietly and thought about which tokens to take and which cards to take all the while hoping the other players don't take what you need! Thinking of picking it up for my collection... Not sure at the moment though.

1/21/2019

[Pending to sleeve]

1/18/2019

Poppy didnt want me to buy it... Robin/Kjartan has this.

1/17/2019

Easy to teach, but kind of quiet. It's a great game, but it can be frustrating for its lack of player interaction. I find it very challenging to go against particular strategies, and I just don't really enjoy it anymore. Would almost always rather play a Century game.

1/15/2019

Great game, it always feels like it ends too soon which is a sign of a great game for me.

1/15/2019

Its got a pretty face, and that's about it. Perhaps I'm missing something, but this game feels incredibly scripted. Target the high prestige cards and pick up a noble on the way. Not only that, but despite the random nobles and nature of drawing cards, each game plays very similarly. With only a path or two of worthy strategies to explore, this game burns out quickly.

1/11/2019

Holy crap did this surprise me. Quick, simple engine building. Not much to it, but still surprisingly fun. Not uncommon to play 3 or 4 games in a row.

1/10/2019

Mayday Sleeved.

1/9/2019

Great and fast game that is easy to teach and fun to play. Not very deep and gets repetitive in quite fast. Another downside is that the box is way to big for the contents of the game.

1/9/2019

A lighter engine building game. A lot of players get caught up in the cheap engine building when they should be focusing on buying better cards that aren't necessarily free. This game grew on me as time went on as I initially didn't enjoy it at all, but then it became a more enjoyable experience as I explored it more.

12/24/2018

(11/15) 7. (9/17) Drop to 6. Actually JUST played this and liked it more than I thought I might but it's a little bit lighter than I would generally prefer.

12/22/2018

UK

12/22/2018

Simple but almost perfect. really like this at 2-3 players :)

12/22/2018

Digital

12/18/2018